We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive for the quality”

Cliff House Hotel Dining Room
Reserve with OpenTable
Cliff House Hotel Dining Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Cliff House Dining Room has gained national renown as one of Colorado’s premier dining destinations. We are proud recipients of the distinguished DiRoNa Award and the 4 Diamond Award in Fine Dining from AAA.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
102 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Expensive for the quality”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

This is a beautiful restaurant located in a beautiful location. Very warm and inviting, the service is very good, but the food does not quite live up to the hype, service, or price. If they serve brunch or lunch the prices might be more in line, but I do not know if they do. I'm not saying don't go, just beware of the costs. The information state $30 average, but that is only for the entree. We ended up paying over $140 with tip.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    57
    27
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
120 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Outstanding experience”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Always a good experience when the service is so understated you hardly notice it. We had 4 of us and they had 2 waiters attending to us. Impeccable service. Food delicious; I had the pork and it was large, thick, and sooo tender. Amuse-bouche a classy touch. Trio of creme brulees recommended. Grilled caesar salad way above average. Atmosphere lovely in old hotel of course. All staff solicitous and friendly. You don't mind spending for fancy meal when the details are all there. Attached (I hope) is a pic of the mushroom en croute, lovely presentation.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CatLoverColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fine Dining Glamour”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We had a fantastic dinner from The Cliff House's New Year's Even pre-fixe menu. We were greeted and seated promptly upon our arrival (we had a reservation) and addressed by name the entire evening. The staff (maitre d, and 2 dedicated waiters) were attentive and responsive but never overbearing. The wine list was extensive with options at all price points. We were served an amouse bouche which was an unexpected treat as it was not listed on the menu. Our salads were very large and very fresh. Two types of bread were served with an herb butter. The entrees (duck and prime rib) were both excellent and the vegetables were cooked and flavored to perfection. We were served a vanilla bean panna cotta that is one of the absolute best desserts I have ever eaten! The dining room was really beautiful and I'll bet it would be lovely at breakfast time with the sun streaming in. We had been waiting a long time to experience The Cliff House, but it's going into our permanent rotation. Thank you for a fantastic start to a wonderful New Year!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Allie_Zoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

My extended family and I went to the Cliff House for a celebration, and I was very disappointed. The service was good and the atmosphere was beautiful, but the food was a let down. Our party ordered different items off the menu, and there were mixed reviews. Nearly everything seemed under-seasoned, and the selections were uninspired. My wedge salad was very average, the elk was under-seasoned, and dessert was meh. the I expected more from such a highly rated restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank christiekersch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mother's Day 2013”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The family (11 of us - kids and adults) went for a special Mother's Day dinner this year. We had impeccable service, delicious food, and because we were in a separate room...amazing atmosphere (although the entire hotel/restaurant is beautiful).

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chellebellere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cliff House Hotel Dining Room also viewed

Manitou Springs, El Paso County
Manitou Springs, El Paso County
 
Manitou Springs, El Paso County
Manitou Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Cliff House Hotel Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing