We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn Villa Motel
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Manitou Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Nice, clean budget hotel”
Reviewed 10 July 2008

This hotel was our first nights stay in Colorado. We stayed here and got aclimated to the altitude for our drive to Pikes Peak the next day. The hotel is located off the main street in Manitou Springs and is close to the center of town. It has a small pool which we didnt get around to using. Its an older hotel but it is well kept. We stayed in one of their older cabins. The room had older furniture in it but the bathroom had a newer shower stall and the entire room was very clean. The lady at the desk was friendly. The continental breakfast was adequate and they had plenty of it. If you are looking for a clean budget hotel, this will do just fine. If you want something a little more posh, you should probably check elsewhere.

  • Liked — clean and close to town
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank acadiafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    197
    44
    8
    2
See reviews for
200
189
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Longmont, CO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2008

This motel was a good price ($108 for a king bed plus $8 for a rollaway for my son) considering it was a holiday weekend. The rooms are small and very basic, but pretty clean and quiet. The grounds and office area were very well maintained. The pool was small but fine for the kids. If you don't plan to spend a lot of time in your room (there is too much other things to do!) it is a great deal. If you want to lounge around indoors you may want to find something plusher.

  • Liked — Location and value
  • Disliked — small rooms
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anandalata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2008

We spent three night in the cottages at the Villa Inn. The rooms were clean, beds were comfortable and the staff at the motel very friendly. It is a bout a three or four block walk to downtown Manitou Springs, which we found to be close enough to walk. There is a small park across the street with a creek running through it. On the whole, it worked very well for a family with children, trying to see the sites on a budget.

  • Liked — The price
  • Disliked — It is a true continental breakfast with no seating.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wcr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2008

I think Denverites would like to hear about this road trip, it's just an hour from Denver, a very good weekend trip.

My DH and I went to Manitou Springs just this last weekend for a fifth anniversary celebration. We left mid-morning and got there by noon.

The hotel we stayed at is the America's Best Value Inn. We booked a king suite (not really a suite but big) and it included a two person jetted tub. That was awesome! Whomever designed the room, though, really needed to think more about it, the TV was not facing the tub but the bed, and there seemed to be a lot of wasted space just because of where they placed things such as the desk and fridge. Oh! There was a fridge in the room and that was cool because that's where we stored our champagne!

There's nothing to complain about re: the hotel. Staff was just fine, the room was clean, small pool but very clean too. The hotel was perfect, just one or two blocks from downtown. The person who posted that you can't really walk into town is crazy. Maybe they don't get out much. But here in Colo., we walk everywhere. Honestly, it was MAYBE 2 blocks to downtown. We didn't drive once (except to get to the Springs), walked the whole time.

After mulling about in Manitou's neat shops for awhile, we drove to Colo. Springs and had lunch at Eidelweiss Restaurant. This place rocks. Best German food ever. Better than Denver's Helga's and Cafe Berlin.

We tried to go by the Springs Fest, but it was a zoo and honestly I'm sick of these sell fests, nothing really interesting, just the same 'ol for sale.

We shopped more in Manitou and thought about driving to Cripple Creek for some gambling, but it's 45 min. away. Not a bad drive, but we were tired of driving.

We had dinner in Manitou at Mona Lisa's Fondue Restaurant. The food was to die for, and wayyyyy too much for two people to eat -- it came in 4 courses, cheese, fruit, meats, dessert. phew.

I loved the shops and such in Manitou, but the service is horrible! We waited 15 minutes until our waiter appeared at the Fondue shop. If you go there, go to their cellar and just order cheese and wine. It's more than enough, service is better, and they have a live guitarist there.

Everywhere we ate/drank, service was rotten. One bartender asked my husband why I would want tonic with my Absolut. ?

Breakfast was an hour and a half event, and the food was quite greasy. We ate at PJ's after walking out of the European Cafe. People were walking out by the droves. Both PJ's and the Cafe had couples walking out. We were starving so we stayed, but if we were smarter we would have just hit the road and ate at the many restaurants you see from I-25 on the way back.

Also, the Inverness Golf Club has a rumored brunch to die for, we saw it from I-25. Should have just left Manitou and ate there. Will try that place this weekend though. Probably 20 minutes from our house in good traffic.

One breakfast place looked really good, but they had a 1/2 hour wait and we didn't want to wait - Adam's Mountain Cafe. They were big and roomy, airy, with waiters running around, people being served. A good menu too.

Not sure what else I'm leaving out. We had a good time, but it's a small place, so not tons to do. Oh yes, nightlife. That was hilarious. We ended up at the Ancient Mariner. Pretty fun bar. They had a really really good reggae band. Watching people dance was most of our fun!

Neat town, just not much to do. I'd say a one-night trip should do it.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveltripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2008

We based our 3 days in the area at this hotel. The hotel had a great location. Unless you really like to walk, I would not count on walking into town. Although you can hear people in the pool in the early evening, the hotel is very quiet. No noise at night from people or traffic. The room was very lean but some rehab would be nice. For instance the door is key operated and at times the lock was difficult to open. No problem, just age. The hotel was not full and the parking was fine but I imagine it would get tight if it was full. The parking spaces are narrow considering the number of large vehicles.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cannotfindscreenname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2008

I can add another recommendation for this hotel! We had a standard room with 2 queen beds on the top (2nd) floor for $65 a night ($77 with tax). What a deal! The room was very large, clean, modern and well maintained. The beds were firm and comfortable. The room had a mini-fridge, coffee maker, (weak) hair dryer, iron and microwave. The only remotely negative thing I can say is that the fan on the heater/ac was loud. On one hand, it was a bit too loud, on the other hand, it provided white noise so that we never heard any noise from other guests. The 'breakfast' wasn't really a breakfast, just some packaged rolls in the front office. The hotel is a short and easy walk from downtown Manitou Springs. Staying there is a great alternative to staying in Colorado Springs and is very close to Old Colorado City, the cliff dwellings and Garden of the Gods. For the price, you can't beat this hotel.

  • Liked — Good value, clean, spacious and comfortable.
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tally4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downers Grove, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
359 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2008

The is an older type "mom/pop" establishment which made it so much nicer than entering a "sterilized" chain. The woman at the front desk (and her doggie companion) greeted us with a warm smile, she engaged us in conversation and offered some advise on sights and restaurants. We arrived much later than planned (after 10 pm) and they were more than gracious and were waiting for us. Our room, although not new, was roomy and clean. The pool was sufficient for the size of the hotel, as was the hot tub. The prices they offered reasonable, what else doyou need? We would return.

  • Liked — Downtown walkable and located in a convenient spot to visit area attractions.
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwoge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manitou Springs
0.4 mi away
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
#1 of 10 in Manitou Springs
818 reviews
0.6 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
#5 of 10 in Manitou Springs
205 reviews
0.9 mi away
Days Inn Manitou Springs
Days Inn Manitou Springs
#2 of 10 in Manitou Springs
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Eagle Motel
Eagle Motel
#7 of 10 in Manitou Springs
86 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Gr...
#4 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,888 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
#20 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Villa Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Villa Motel

Property: Americas Best Value Inn Villa Motel
Address: 481 Manitou Ave, Manitou Springs, CO 80829-2318
Region: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Manitou Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Manitou Springs
#2 Family Hotel in Manitou Springs
#2 Romantic Hotel in Manitou Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Villa Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Villa Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Value Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing