We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Moroccan Food!”
Review of Tajine Alami - CLOSED

Tajine Alami
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Moroccan Food!”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Love to eat with your hands while reclining on a pillow? Tajine Alami is your place. If you have not experienced, or long for, the charm and excitement of genuine Moroccan dining, you must try Tajine Alami. We were able to save fifty percent on our first visit with a voucher downloaded on FoodieClicks.com.

We all tried the six course “Feast”. Both the Lamb and lentil and vegetarian soups were savory and spicy a great start. The Moroccan cous-cous and hummus came out with some really delicious honey wheat bread. We all loved scooping in up with the bread and our fingers! The next course is their “Bastella”, a phyllo dough pastry filled with chicken, almonds, spiced egg and topped with cinnamon and sugar. We had to fight over this one. It is so unique and a great combination of meat, egg and sweetness. An unexpected delight.
We washed this down with the homemade sangria, a pomegranate martini, and some ordered the Moroccan beer. The pomegranate martini was the most uniquely flavorful of all. It has a great bite and sweetness to it. For main courses we all tried something different. All of the main courses are served in a “tajine” and are easy to eat with your hands. The Lamb dishes were savory and delicious. The beef special was spicy, but not too hot.
What we really loved was that all of the dishes combined spices in a fantastic way-everything from garlic, ginger, tumeric, cumin, cinnamon and paprika and more. They really have a deft hand for combining spicy to add a unique and delectable flavor to their dishes. We finished off with some homemade baklava and hot tea that the server poured into glasses on her wrist, arm, foot, elbow etc. What a show!
Speaking of shows, during our meal they had a very talented and classy dancer entertaining with everything from swords, to scarves to candles. We really had a wonderful and leisurely meal at Tajine Alami. Its a great place to go if you want something very unique and/or romantic.

For a unique romantic getaway or a fun and fabulous meal try the Tajine Alami. We give it an enthusiastic recommendation at FoodieClicks.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FoodieClicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    9
    7
    3
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Super yummy”
Reviewed 22 January 2013

My husband and I went there last Saturday, we had purchased a Groupon, and thought that we would give it a try. The atmosphere was fun, a little uncomfortable sitting on the floor,( we are not skinny people) however I think that adds to the personality of the place. We ordered a 6 course meal, everything we had was delish, I ordered the vegetarian soup called Sharba, the shalada (tabouli, and hummus) was delish, we also ordered the Vegetarian Bastella, it had a mix of fruit and nuts, rather than chicken and eggs. Which sounded much better stuffed in a pastry crust covered in powdered sugar. For the main I had lamb with apricots and raisins, it was sweet and savory, my two favorite flavor combinations. The lamb was super tender and flavorful. My husband had the lamb with olive and lemons. His was better than mine, and mine was awesome. I will definitely return, and maybe stay for the belly dancing next time.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Morgan78_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
156 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“not gourmet but still a nice experience”
Reviewed 28 December 2012

This is not an upscale restaurant, but it looks to be authentic and is comfortable. Food is somewhat sparse in that, while you do get several courses, they are all small, so don't be starving when you go there. That being said, the food is tasty and the atmosphere is fun. All the staff was very nice and attentive. May not go back for a while, but happy that I went. Was not disappointed in the overall experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank getwhatyoupayfor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
“A Sad Time”
Reviewed 28 December 2012

This is a hard review to write. We have enjoyed visiting Tajine for years. However, out last trip was very disappointing. The entire atmosphere seems to be gasping for air as the owner struggles to stay afloat. The food was the worst part. What I would have gladly paid full price for in years past has been replaced with cheap alternatives and has declined immensely. I am sorry to say we will not return. Farewell Tajine Alami.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JL1243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quality has declined”
Reviewed 11 December 2012

I was very disappointed to see how much the quality of this place has declined. The baklava was soggy, the bread was stale, and the manager didn't seem to want customers even though we were well-behaved. The 6-course meal is greatly overpriced.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tajine Alami also viewed

Manitou Springs, El Paso County
Manitou Springs, El Paso County
 
Manitou Springs, El Paso County
Manitou Springs, El Paso County
 
Manitou Springs, El Paso County
Manitou Springs, El Paso County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing