We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great motel and great host”
Review of Red Wing Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Red Wing Motel
Reviewed 10 August 2009

We rented 3 rooms. One just my husband and I one with 2 adults and 2 teen agers one with 2 adults and a child. Rates were great rooms were real nice host were great also. They did note even get mad when my grandchild pick thier big tomatoes. I would stay at this motel again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank okielady1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
There are newer reviews for Red Wing Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2009

It is an older building that is obviously maintained with care. The rooms should not be compared to 5 star hotels but were very clean and adequately furnished. I rather expected the bed to be old and non-supportive but it was fine! I would definitely stay here again, it was a great value, clean, quiet and in a very convenient location. The owners were friendly and helpful with directions and suggestions.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BadgerdenTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2009

We wanted to love the Red Wing, the website and reviews convinced us to take a chance. We reserved two nights, but checked after the first night. The place seemed clean, and the people were nice. we just couldn't get comfortable with the place, The carpet looked old and smelled, the sheets were thin and scratchy. Another issue was smoke wafting in from the many smokers hanging around the place.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HappySurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2009

We stayed here the week of July 23-26 2009. We chose this location because of the good reviews and the location. The staff was extremely friendly, as others have indicated. The price was the best we could find also. It was located about a mile from all the shops and restaurants and very close to Garden of the Gods. There is a nice view of Pikes Peak from the rooms also. The room itself was definitely nothing to write home about. There was no alarm clock or shampoo. I did request an alarm clock and got one, but they do not provide shampoo. They also do not provide a hair dryer. I guess that is how they keep the price so low, which is ok with me. In our 3 night stay, the room was only cleaned once. They basically give you new towels and empty the garbage. They didn't really bother to make the beds. The room had a little window AC that kept shutting down on us. The tv and lights flickered every time we turned it on. The bathroom was also very run down, with broken tiles and low water pressure. The walls are quite thin, so it was pretty noisy. It's no relaxing mountain getaway, but the price is good and the location is convenient. I probably will not stay here again, especially in the middle of summer. Manitou Springs is overrun with tourists at this time. The locals indicated that fall was much better for visiting. Garden of the Gods was so busy, that people were actually lined up to take pictures in front of the more interesting rocks. It was the some of the most beautiful scenery on our trip though. I may opt to stay somewhere a bit more secluded, to enjoy the natural beauty Colorado has to offer. This hotel was ok for our first trip to Colorado. It wasn't what I expected, based on the reviews. I think it is a good place for families with children and dogs, who are looking to save money. Just keep in mind, you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarapac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2008

We have been traveling to Manitou-Old Colorado City area for the past 10 years to visit our son.
We have stayed at several of the older "Mom & Pop" motels in Manitou Springs as well as newer facilities, but hadn't paid attention to the Red Wing until this trip. After discovering it on the internet, we decided to give it a shot and what a great decision that was!
The cordial owners treat you like friends. The other guests were
friendly and respectful. The room was clean and comfortable.
Off the beaten path, the Red Wing is quiet and safe.
We stayed a week and I know where we will be staying from now on.
A nice vintage motel at a great price!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Iowegian9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2008

Came here because of the previous reviews. Staff was very helpful and friendly. We discovered cute means small. There wasn't a lot of extra space in the room. The bathroom door had been cut away a little, so it wouldn't hit the sink when opened. Most things were clean other than the carpet, although dark sheets don't show dirt well. We had a great view of Pike's Peak from our door, but we also had two trash cans right outside our door. It was also a little odd to have the a/c located three feet above the head of one of the beds. Location is very convenient to Manitou Springs and Garden of God.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank e5ers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2008

Perfect motel for the price!
Clean, quiet and great service.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dgrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manitou Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Manitou Springs
Days Inn Manitou Springs
#2 of 10 in Manitou Springs
579 reviews
0.5 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
#5 of 10 in Manitou Springs
223 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
#1 of 10 in Manitou Springs
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Eagle Motel
Eagle Motel
#8 of 10 in Manitou Springs
87 reviews
1.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Villa Motel
Americas Best Value Inn Villa Mo...
#3 of 10 in Manitou Springs
549 reviews
0.2 mi away
Magnuson Grand Pikes Peak
Magnuson Grand Pikes Peak
#4 of 10 in Manitou Springs
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Wing Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Wing Motel

Address: 56 El Paso Blvd, Manitou Springs, CO 80829-2455
Region: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Manitou Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Manitou Springs
Price Range: £79 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Wing Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Wing Motel, nestled at the base of Mt. Manitou and Pikes Peak, gateway to the Garden of the Gods. Offering boutique lodging, newly renovated, clean, quiet, comfortable non-smoking facility. Your choice of one queen bed, two full beds or full size kitchen units. We are located off the main road with unobstructed views of Pikes Peak, friendly service, flat screen TVs and free Wi-Fi. The Pikes Peak Region offers 25 of the region’s best attractions, 14 unique to North America. We also have biking, hiking, rock climbing, rollerblading skate boarding, deer watching, shopping, dining or a stroll along Fountain Creek all in the village of Manitou Springs. Full service accommodation offering extended stay and nightly choices. All new everything! Free Wi-Fi, flat screen smart TV, new beds with friendly customer service. The best assets of Manitou Springs are at the doorstep of the Red Wing Motel, gateway to the Garden of the Gods. The property is clean/quiet, non-smoking boutique motel, reasonably priced, views of Pikes Peak, comfortable and convenient. Nightly rooms offer a choice of one queen or two full size beds with private bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Wing Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Wing Hotel Manitou Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing