We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Faultless”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2013

My wife and I stayed there last Spring.The atmosphere is nice and the location is pretty good but we were traveling with our little one and were not made to feel very welcome, i.e. babies are frowned upon. We were told not to bring the child into the main house and were not allowed to take our breakfast in the main house so as not to infringe upon the other guests' peace. Also, there were dogs in the kitchen where food was being prepared and this is a massive turnoff.

Finally, there is no real parking, just on the back street.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gwenn1, Owner at Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2013

Yes, we are not faultless, as we work hard in hopes that every guest has a wonderful experience at the Avenue Hotel B&B, sometimes it just is not the right fit. As stated on our website, we are an adult retreat style lodging and with accommodations for families with children under 12 in the lower Carriage House. Our past experience is that families with small children love to be catered to and have breakfast brought to them in the Carriage House so the kids can be carefree; in the main house it is much more difficult with the antique furniture, Depression glass and china.
Our historic 126 years old home did not come with a parking lot as we explain on the website we have street parking only. Our small mountain community has very few parking lots. We are able to use the school parking lot in the summer and have plenty of street parking.
Our wonderful little dogs, a Scottie and a Westie, do spend time with me in the kitchen as I check guests in at my desk. During the preparation of breakfast, they are not in the kitchen, nor are they in the dining room when guests are having breakfast. They are allowed in to greet guests only after breakfast is finished.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 379 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2013

Kudos to Gwen, Randy, Jenny for their wonderful B&B! Everything at Avenue Hotel made for a most enjoyable stay on our honeymoon: the friendliness of everyone on the staff, to the delicious homemade breakfast, fresh coffee, beautiful and clean rooms, and the lovely landscaping. And when we had an unexpected change of plans midway through our stay, Gwen & Company went out of their way to help us switch to a larger room so that we could complete our stay with them! We will definitely stay here again next time we visit Manitou Springs!

Room Tip: Carriage house was wonderful for family or if wanting to prepare ones meals. Osage was cozy and per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

For Christmas, our children got us a gift card to the Avenue Hotel B&B.They have been telling us for a couple of years what a wonderful place the Avenue is, and they were right!!! The grounds are so beautiful. We enjoyed a couples massage, and the delicious breakfast, good conversation with new people. What a great way to spend our 33rd Anniversary!
Thank you Gwen and Randy for making is so special!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

This is the 5th consecutive year that my wife and I have rented the top floor of the Avenue Hotel's vacation carriage house, and each year we have been delighted with the positive upgrades. This time it was a complete kitchen overhaul that is beautiful and functional. We have two weeks left of our usual 5 week stay, and as always, we are having a fantastic vacation here in the Pikes Peak area. The owners, Gwenn and Randy, make sure that our needs are always seen to including an arrangement one evening for us to use their living room for a graduation celebration.
As I write this, there are some very serious wild fires raging in Black Forest and Royal Gorge, but for what it's worth, there is little to no affect here in Manitou Springs or the many surrounding natural wonders.
We look forward to enjoying the next 2 weeks, and are ready to book next year's adventure here already.

Room Tip: There is no "fitness center" per say, but the many, many hiking trails surrounding this pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Treb64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

The food is gourmet quality. I can't imagine any five star restaurant offering better than Gwen prepared. It was beautifully served and tasted even better. The rooms were immaculate and comfortable. There was nothing that was lacking in this B&B. The home is not only beautiful, but interesting as well. Thank you!!!

Room Tip: Oops, no swimming pool, however there is a well maintained hot tub. The Osage room is large and acco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We spent one night there with a group of friends. The room was very nicely furnished with a very comfortable mattress & pillows, The breakfast was excellent. One word of warning ...the Manitou room is on the main street and the sun comes up pretty early to brighten the room. There were earplugs on the nightstand so I should have figured that out !!! The innkeepers were very friendly and gave great service.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candyce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

A very nice and friendly B&B close to shops, parks, food & Pikes peak railway. Rooms comfortable all with private bathrooms. Showers are a bit cramped in vintage tubs but functional.
The breakfasts were outstanding and served in dining room or on nice porch.
Would recommend highly for those who like small Colorado towns. Close to Old Colorado City & Colorado Springs.

Room Tip: 2nd floor easier to get too from back door which is best entry. House is on hillside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harold F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manitou Springs
0.2 mi away
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
#1 of 10 in Manitou Springs
883 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Gr...
#5 of 103 in Colorado Springs
1,980 reviews
0.8 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
#5 of 10 in Manitou Springs
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Garden of the Gods Collection
Garden of the Gods Collection
#3 of 103 in Colorado Springs
1,160 reviews
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Manitou Springs
Days Inn Manitou Springs
#2 of 10 in Manitou Springs
628 reviews
1.3 mi away
Magnuson Grand Pikes Peak
Magnuson Grand Pikes Peak
#4 of 10 in Manitou Springs
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast

Address: 711 Manitou Ave, Manitou Springs, CO 80829-1809
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Manitou Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Manitou Springs
Price Range: £112 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our peaceful, romantic atmosphere in historic, downtown Manitou Springs. Be adventurous and hike the incline or Pikes Peak. Book an on-site massage and soak in the hot tub. Meander the shops, appreciate local art, and taste the flavors of a wide variety of restaurants. Unwind in a large distinctive room with a private bath and soak in our claw foot tubs. Linger over a gourmet breakfast served on the covered front porch. Available 24/7 is a hot beverage station, tea, coffee, cider, or hot chocolate with homemade muffins and fresh-baked cookies. (We accomodate dietary restrictions too!) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing