We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restful, convenient, pleasant get-away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Enjoyed our room - the Midland- 2nd floor front - enjoyed overlooking the main street of town - wonderful breakfasts, Gwen was always helpful for any of our needs. Very clean - enjoyed visiting with other guests - Would love to stay there again! It was also convenient to all the sights we wanted to see. Thanks for making us feel at home!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
There are newer reviews for Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2013

My wife and I spent a couple of nights at the Avenue B&B when we were in Manitou Springs for a book promotion. We had seen it on numerous occasions before, when we visited Manitou, and thought it was beautiful and a great location, and decided to give it a try.
Our room was very nice - comfortable and clean. The grounds were gorgeous, and the view from the front porch, where we had breakfast both days and where we enjoyed an ice cream cone in the evening, was beautiful.
Gwen and Randy were very hospitable and made us feel at home. Our first day there happened to be my birthday, and Gwen immediately brought a couple of glasses of wine to our room.
We go to Manitou at least once a year, and we plan to stay at the Avenue each time, from now on.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Midland Room. It's upstairs on the northeast corner. The view both directions w...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KellyCheek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Needed a place to stay in Manitou and did a walk in. 1886 restored to a high standard. All rooms nice, liked the Ruxton best as it had a king, wing back chairs and view to back garden/plants and deck. Slept very well- nice bed. Immaculate bathroom. Wonderful breakfast. Attention dog and cat lovers - you can't bring yours- but theirs do nicely. Zoie the Westie likes her ears gently scratched. Gwen, Randy and team good hosts. 1.5 block walk to the 7 minute spring, my favorite mineral water anywhere. Took home many bottles. Try the Soshone too, different taste, and not as carbonated.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ron m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

My wife and I stayed there last Spring.The atmosphere is nice and the location is pretty good but we were traveling with our little one and were not made to feel very welcome, i.e. babies are frowned upon. We were told not to bring the child into the main house and were not allowed to take our breakfast in the main house so as not to infringe upon the other guests' peace. Also, there were dogs in the kitchen where food was being prepared and this is a massive turnoff.

Finally, there is no real parking, just on the back street.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gwenn1, Owner at Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2013

Yes, we are not faultless, as we work hard in hopes that every guest has a wonderful experience at the Avenue Hotel B&B, sometimes it just is not the right fit. As stated on our website, we are an adult retreat style lodging and with accommodations for families with children under 12 in the lower Carriage House. Our past experience is that families with small children love to be catered to and have breakfast brought to them in the Carriage House so the kids can be carefree; in the main house it is much more difficult with the antique furniture, Depression glass and china.
Our historic 126 years old home did not come with a parking lot as we explain on the website we have street parking only. Our small mountain community has very few parking lots. We are able to use the school parking lot in the summer and have plenty of street parking.
Our wonderful little dogs, a Scottie and a Westie, do spend time with me in the kitchen as I check guests in at my desk. During the preparation of breakfast, they are not in the kitchen, nor are they in the dining room when guests are having breakfast. They are allowed in to greet guests only after breakfast is finished.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Kudos to Gwen, Randy, Jenny for their wonderful B&B! Everything at Avenue Hotel made for a most enjoyable stay on our honeymoon: the friendliness of everyone on the staff, to the delicious homemade breakfast, fresh coffee, beautiful and clean rooms, and the lovely landscaping. And when we had an unexpected change of plans midway through our stay, Gwen & Company went out of their way to help us switch to a larger room so that we could complete our stay with them! We will definitely stay here again next time we visit Manitou Springs!

Room Tip: Carriage house was wonderful for family or if wanting to prepare ones meals. Osage was cozy and per...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

For Christmas, our children got us a gift card to the Avenue Hotel B&B.They have been telling us for a couple of years what a wonderful place the Avenue is, and they were right!!! The grounds are so beautiful. We enjoyed a couples massage, and the delicious breakfast, good conversation with new people. What a great way to spend our 33rd Anniversary!
Thank you Gwen and Randy for making is so special!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

This is the 5th consecutive year that my wife and I have rented the top floor of the Avenue Hotel's vacation carriage house, and each year we have been delighted with the positive upgrades. This time it was a complete kitchen overhaul that is beautiful and functional. We have two weeks left of our usual 5 week stay, and as always, we are having a fantastic vacation here in the Pikes Peak area. The owners, Gwenn and Randy, make sure that our needs are always seen to including an arrangement one evening for us to use their living room for a graduation celebration.
As I write this, there are some very serious wild fires raging in Black Forest and Royal Gorge, but for what it's worth, there is little to no affect here in Manitou Springs or the many surrounding natural wonders.
We look forward to enjoying the next 2 weeks, and are ready to book next year's adventure here already.

Room Tip: There is no "fitness center" per say, but the many, many hiking trails surrounding this pl...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Treb64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manitou Springs
0.2 mi away
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
#1 of 10 in Manitou Springs
842 reviews
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Manitou Springs
Days Inn Manitou Springs
#2 of 10 in Manitou Springs
584 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Gr...
#5 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
#5 of 10 in Manitou Springs
223 reviews
2.9 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#3 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,107 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
#20 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast

Address: 711 Manitou Ave, Manitou Springs, CO 80829-1809
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Manitou Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Manitou Springs
Price Range: £109 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience, the Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast a Manitou Springs bed and breakfast inn, the venue voted the best bed and breakfast in the Colorado Springs metro area the past 3 years. The 1886 Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast, a stately Queen Ann, is beautifully restored with the guests comfort in mind. We offer a comfortable retreat and warm friendly atmosphere with complimentary beverages, wine or beer in the afternoon, homemade cookies and a scrumptious breakfast. Let us pamper you! Hosts Gwenn and Randy provide thoughtful amenities; locally made bath products, free movies, free WIFI. Explore the picturesque area then soak in the hot tub on the patio. Massage therapy can be scheduled in advance. With an ideal location in the downtown historic district all shops, galleries and restaurants are just a walk out the front door.The Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast is a great starting point for your Colorado adventure. Enjoy the many area attractions in Manitou Springs, such as Pikes Peak and the Cog Railroad, Garden of the Gods, Manitou Cliff Dwellings, and Cave of the Winds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing