We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Stay! Perfect if you are getting married or for a getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Denver
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“A Perfect Stay! Perfect if you are getting married or for a getaway!”
Reviewed 17 August 2009

The pictures of the hotel are older, I am going to ask Gwenn to update them. There is new carpet, new linens, new wallpaper, new paint. The house is going to be repainted in the fall of 2009!

You are just down the road about 1/4 a mile from Seven Minute Spring which is where we got married four years ago. You are right in the heart of Manitou Springs. This is the only B&B in the area that also allows for a 1 night stay. This place would be perfect for a Bridal Party!

Our bed was comfortable, room was clean and there is absolutely NO MUSTY smell like you get in other B&B's.

Breakfast consisted of fresh Palisade Peaches, excellent coffee (none of the Maxwell House junk here) fresh homemade coffee cake as well as a crust less quiche. Gwenn usually makes fresh homemade cookies in the afternoon as well. There are always muffins and other goodies available.

Our room was the Ruxton and there was a small fridge in the closet. There was also a small trundle bed in the room as well. The fridge is stocked with water, and if you have been to Colorado, you know you will need it.

We have stayed at four other B&B's in Colorado, some of them say they got the best of the best award! I don't see how. Obviously they didn't compete with this place, it is just spectacular!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colby_bound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    37
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
67
216
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2009

Seven of my friends and I stayed at the Avenue Hotel for 4 nights. I have NEVER had such a great experience at a B & B. Gwen , the owner, was SO WONDERFUL! Her breakfasts were outstanding and her hospitality was never ending. The location of the B & B is perfect. You can walk out the door and be shopping in 1 minute.Many restaurants are within walking distance and many of the area attractions are only a few minutes away.
If you don't feel like shopping and you just need to relax, the front porch is a great place to sit and watch all the people go by and look up into the mountains.
If you want to experience Colorado and all of its splendor, you need to stay here!
The rooms are all very spacious and very well done.
My friends and I did not want to leave!
I know that we will be returning to this place.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kg1wi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal River, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2009

Manitou Springs itself is great place to explore and celebrate life, and staying at the Avenue Hotel B & B makes that experience extraordinary!
Built in the late 1800's this B & B captures the atmosphere of the old west at the foot of Pikes Peat perfectly. The owners, Gwen and Randy, made our four week stay in June 2009 absolutely wonderful, and we've already booked six weeks for next summer.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Treb64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2009

First off, the house is beautiful and it's right in the town so you can walk to dinner and the shops in Manitou! The hosts were really amazing and very helpful in helping us find a great place for dinner. They even offered to call ahead to see if my vegan diet would be accommodated.

The breakfast was really great! They made me a great vegan breakfast and were very elegant and professional. The folks who had the conventional breakfast were also thrilled. The other guests were really nice and we all seemed to enjoy eating with each other. I would love to stay there again and would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kellybakeswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, IL
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at this bed and breakfast for three nights in June of 2009. (The new owners of the B & B purchased the house around January of this year, so some of the previous reviews posted here apply to the old owners). Overall, we absolutely loved everything about our stay. Below are more specifics:

Location: The location cant' be beat. Manitou Springs is a charming, quaint town, and the B & B is located right on the main street, yet still manages to feel secluded because it is built quite a ways back from the road. Numerous shops and restaurants are all within a few minutes walking distance. Don't miss the arcade a few blocks down the street---it has hundreds of old games from the 40's and 50's (pinball machines, etc), many of which you can play for a nickel or dime.

House: The house is very clean and well-kept. There are approximately 7 rooms. Because we arrived on a weekday, not all of the rooms were rented and we were able to walk through the house and see them all. They all looked very nice. We stayed in the Pawnee Room, which is one of the cheaper rooms at about $100/night. The room is actually two rooms--a sitting room and then the room with the bed. The sitting room is nice sized, with a love seat and small television, dresser, etc. There was also a closet that we could store our suitcases in.

It was pretty chilly outside when we arrived, so there was an electric fireplace in the sitting room and a large space heater in the bedroom. I know some of the other rooms had the electric heaters as well, as I heard other guests talking about them. They were definitely a nice touch.

The bathroom for the Pawnee room is unattached to the room. I was a little concerned about this at first, but it wasn't a big deal. The bathroom is only 2-3 steps away, and is only for those guests staying in the room. You can use a key to lock the bathroom when you are not in it, in case you want to leave your stuff in there. (Most of the time, we didn't bother). The bathroom was large, but a little on the older side. The sink is the type that has two faucets, one for hot and one for cold. We had a little trouble getting the shower on the right setting, but it wasn't too bad.

Side note: One of the rooms has the bathroom directly in the bedroom, with just a curtain around it. This is marked on their website, but be sure to watch out for it if you want to avoid that room.

The house also features a large front porch with lots of places to sit ,and a hot tub in the back which we used one night. There is also an office with a computer with internet access and a working printer. Wireless is also available, which we used and had no problem with.

Breakfast: Breakfast is served promptly at 8:30 every morning. Each breakfast began with a nice cup of fruit and some sort of muffin or bread. The main course was served with two sausage links. One day we had blueberry pancakes, another quiche, and another some sort of french toast dish. All were great and hardly anyone could finish them all. Coffee is always available, and cookies are available in the evenings if you want them. Bottled water and snacks like granola bars are left out as well.

Owners: The owners were very nice and helpful. They gave us jackets to use when we went to Pike's Peak (a 5 min drive to the cog or garden of the gods), as well as towels to take when we left to visit the hot springs in another town.

Pets: No pets are allowed ,as the owners have two dogs and a cat. I am highly allergic to both, so I was a little worried, but I had no symptoms whatsoever. The animals are kept locked up at breakfast time, and we only saw them out and about in the evenings occasionally.

Also, you can request to have a massage in your room and other spa services, but we didn't do this.

There is no private parking, but this also was not a problem. There are instructions on their website as to parking on the street behind the house. We never had a problem finding a spot within one or two houses of the B & B.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay here and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitties102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, CA
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2009

This Victorian B&B is right in the middle of Manitou Springs. It is up above everything so the rooms are quiet yet you can stroll the town with ease. The hosts Gwenn and Randy are so warm and friendly and they have totally renovated the B&B. It is so comfortable, clean and charming. Just the right place for a get away and they don't require the usual 2 night stay. The breakfast was fantastic and Gwenn keeps fresh baked cookies and hot tea/coffee around the rest of the day. I enjoyed it so much that I gave my friends a gift certificate to this B&B. Give Avenue Hotel a try, you will be glad you did.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woundedwarriormom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2009

Lovely Bed and Breakfast. Gwenn and Randy are the innkeepers and they make you feel very cozy staying there. Very close to all manitou Springs' attractions. Would stay there again

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AwesomeWonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manitou Springs
0.2 mi away
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
#1 of 10 in Manitou Springs
818 reviews
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Manitou Springs
Days Inn Manitou Springs
#2 of 10 in Manitou Springs
532 reviews
0.8 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
#5 of 10 in Manitou Springs
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Gr...
#4 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,888 reviews
2.9 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#3 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,089 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
#20 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast

Property: Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast
Address: 711 Manitou Ave, Manitou Springs, CO 80829-1809
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Manitou Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Manitou Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience, the Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast a Manitou Springs bed and breakfast inn, the venue voted the best bed and breakfast in the Colorado Springs metro area the past 3 years. The 1886 Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast, a stately Queen Ann, is beautifully restored with the guests comfort in mind. We offer a comfortable retreat and warm friendly atmosphere with complimentary beverages, wine or beer in the afternoon, homemade cookies and a scrumptious breakfast. Let us pamper you! Hosts Gwenn and Randy provide thoughtful amenities; locally made bath products, free movies, free WIFI. Explore the picturesque area then soak in the hot tub on the patio. Massage therapy can be scheduled in advance. With an ideal location in the downtown historic district all shops, galleries and restaurants are just a walk out the front door.The Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast is a great starting point for your Colorado adventure. Enjoy the many area attractions in Manitou Springs, such as Pikes Peak and the Cog Railroad, Garden of the Gods, Manitou Cliff Dwellings, and Cave of the Winds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing