We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must do!”

Pikes Peak Cog Railway
Ranked #1 of 2 Tours in Manitou Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Type: Rail Tours, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: For more than a hundred years, this railway, the highest "cog" railroad in the world and the highest train in the U.S., has been transporting passengers to the summit of Pikes Peak.
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A must do!”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Took this with my brothers & sisters and loved it. We were unable to go all the way to the top due to the snowfall, but the scenery is gorgeous.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Golferths111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,693 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,580
    785
    227
    69
    32
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
118 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good to do this on a sunny, clear day!”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We decided to take the cog railway instead of driving to the top so that we could both enjoy the view from Pike's Peak. The rail cars have you sitting in very close quarters to others, which can be awkward since on the two-seat side, your knees are practically touching. Dress warmly as the higher you go the colder it gets, and undoubtedly, there will be someone wanting to pull down the large windows to get better photos (think hat, gloves, parka). Have a water bottle and remember to breathe.
You probably don't need that can of O2 they try to sell you in the gift shop. Just don't over-do it when you get to the top - walk normally, sit when you need to, don't run around - you'll be fine. The view is spectacular but I would caution against people with mobility or breathing issues taking this trip. We are skiers and regularly experience altitude and cold, but some can be adversely affected. There were a few on the train who never got off at the top. There is a large gift shop at the top, and a place where you can get snacks and drinks. Other than that, everyone pretty much walked around looking out in every direction, taking photos, etc. because you can see such amazing vistas from there :)

Next trip, we would drive, though the road looks pretty sketchy with no barriers at the edges and quite curvy, windy. We visited Garden of the Gods on the way to Pike's Peak and were very glad we did that first. You can see Garden of the Gods from the top.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank tuscany885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Earl, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic Views from Pikes Peak”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

If you've ever wanted to travel to the top of Pike's Peak and you're not into hiking or biking, there's no better way than taking the Pikes Peak Cog Railway. The cars are spacious and every seat has a great view. There is a guide on the speaker that explains all the sights as you travel up and down the mountain. One word of advice: Bring a jacket and some gloves it gets mighty cold at the summit even in the summer. Another bit of advice: To avoid altitude sickness bring either two small bottles of water or one large bottle and drink one bottle slowly on the way up and one slowly on the way down. You'll be glad you did. Make sure the weather forecast calls for clear skies otherwise you won't get much of a view at the summit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisandCindy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton,CA
Level Contributor
86 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Amazing view at the top”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We were visiting family and decided to take the pikes peak cog railway on the spur of the moment. We were glad we did as it was a wonderful experience. The ride up was slow but the views spectacular. We had a guide that told us about the history of the area which was very interesting. Although the little facility at the top of the mountain was a bit outdated, the ride was definitely worth it. You can see such a long distance, even to Kansas according to the guide.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gm_traveler_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pikes peak”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Great view over Colorado in clear weather but tends to be foggy during winter. Be prepeared for cold weather and dress warm

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Siggi74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pikes Peak Cog Railway also viewed

Manitou Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Manitou Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Pikes Peak Cog Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing