We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very accommodating and enjoyable”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manitou Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Skies Inn Bed and Breakfast Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We reserved a two night stay at the Blue Skies Inn April of 2013. We stayed the first night and then due to an unforeseen emergency had to leave the next day. The inn keepers were very understanding and accommodating giving us a voucher for our second nights stay. We went back recently using our voucher and enjoyed our second night. (There were a few restrictions on it as to when we could use it meaning a one night stay was Monday - Thursday when using the one night voucher. This was fine with us. We just appreciated their working with us.) The breakfast was very good and really nice to have brought to your room. The rooms were delightful. We experienced two different rooms due to splitting up our stay and enjoyed both very much. In April we stayed in the Blue Skies room and in Aug we stayed in the Ferdinand's Garden room. The only difference we noted was that the Blue Skies room has a jetted tub and the other does not. Other than that they we basically the same type of room. They have a large selection of movies that can be requested to be brought to your room for in room viewing. It was very nice. We would definitely recommend this as a place to stay when visiting Colorado Springs or Manitou Springs.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travels2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueSkiesInn, Owner at Blue Skies Inn Bed and Breakfast Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2014

We understand that "Life Happens," even when our guests are on vacation. Sometimes a guest is called home early, and we try our best to accommate a future stay so that nothing is lost. In this case, our guests were able to enjoy two suites at differnt times - how fun is that?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed in the Indian Rock Art Room. It was delightful! We had a remote controlled fireplace which was very nice, and lots of room. The owners were both friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed our stay there. The breakfast is unique, tasty, and delivered to your door!! It was a relaxing stay for us.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Indian Rock Room, which is a main level room- there were people above us one night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerriwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueSkiesInn, Owner at Blue Skies Inn Bed and Breakfast Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2014

Sorry to hear that there was noise from another room - we always promise a quiet, restful stay, asking our guests to call us if there is noise. With a call to the other room, the other guest will be courteous. One night, a guest called to say that the TV was loud in the room below her. We called that room, and the very elderly guest responded, "I can't hear you because the TV is so loud!" We all laughed at that, and the TV volume went down. We always respond to our guests comfort, whatever the time of day or night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We had been working for a month after retiring to Boulder, CO, when some friends found themselves in Colorado Springs. We researched B&B's in the Manitou Springs area for our month's celebration. The Blue Skies Inn had a delightful room - Indian Rock Art I - available. After a lovely encounter with our friends in Colorado Springs followed by an exploration of the Garden of the Gods, we eased into our haven at Blue Skies. We were greeted in the friendliest fashion. After a brief orientation, we took a walk through Manitou Springs. While we could have enjoyed the many offerings of Manitou, we had our cooler with pre-planned celebratory goodies. The room allowed us to spread out and make it a home away from home. We slept peacefully in the quiet location and didn't realize it was 8:30 am when our love;y and delicious breakfast basket was delivered. We will keep this little oasis as a destination when we aim at the area for further exploration. We loved the decor of our room, as we are Southwestern historic art aficionados.

Room Tip: The arrangement of the Inn has several cottages from which to choose. There is a peaceful tranquilit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcos and Elai... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueSkiesInn, Owner at Blue Skies Inn Bed and Breakfast Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2014

Our suites have dining areas for those who want to bring a special meal for dinner. We supply dinnerware and glassware and even the corkscrew if it has been forgotten. We are all about celebrations at the inn. We are a great place for the important times in our guests' lives. Many memories are made at Blue Skies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Staying at Blue Skies Inn was one of the best parts of our honeymoon. Not only were the grounds of the Inn beautiful, our suite was also large, well-kept and nicely decorated. The innkeepers were extremely nice and accommodating. They definitely held up their end on the "breakfast" part of the bed and breakfast. It was pleasant enjoying a yummy, hot breakfast in the beautiful gardens of Blue Skies each morning. At Blue Skies, we were close to all of the attractions and restaurants we chose to visit. Overall, our experience was wonderful!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haylee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueSkiesInn, Owner at Blue Skies Inn Bed and Breakfast Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2014

We often hear that our inn is the best part of a couple's honeymoon - it makes us quietly proud. We have many suites decorated for romance, and this couple chose the one painted as a Shakespearean garden bower - Morning Glory. It is enchanting and is the stuff from which memories are made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Our family loved everything about Blue Skies Inn. The location is close to a myriad of attractions and good restaurants, while being secluded from the traffic of the road. The grounds are enjoyable, with tables and chairs popping up amid the trees and greenery for meals or just relaxation. Our room was charming and provided our teenager her own alcove for privacy. Breakfasts were delicious, especially the muffins and Sally packed us extra muffins for the road. We would defintely stay here again, but in a different room as all 9 - 10 rooms are decorated differently. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Rooms choice would be an individual one - all rooms have a completely different personality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scolston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueSkiesInn, Owner at Blue Skies Inn Bed and Breakfast Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2014

Oh yes, we will always gift our guests with extra muffins for the road if needed. For our guests' amusement, our website features a story of the longest-traveled Blue Skies muffin. "Muffy," as the guests named her, went with them on a trip to Bali, and they photographed her on her amazing adventures. Our favorite photograph was of that lucky muffin riding on a badong - you'll have to read the story for a wonderful explanation of a mythical being. Muffy enjoyed cocktails by a pool, and went skinny-dipping. The second-farthest traveled muffin went to Denmark. Eating muffins is a Universal language - "yum!"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We so enjoyed our two night stay at the beginning of our vacation that we came back for two more nights at the end of the vacation. We stayed in Folk Art #1 room that was really a suite. This was an end unit, so it was private and delightfully quiet. The suite included a small breakfast nook with a microwave and refrigerator, a wonderfully comfortable bed, a sitting area and a spectacular, very large and tiled bathroom with an open shower that was delightful. The hot breakfast that arrived every morning at 8:30 AM in a picnic basket was fit for a king. Included were 4 fabulous muffins (different every day), juice, fresh fruit and a different version of a baked egg dish that could easily feed four! The Innkeepers were delightful and very helpful in giving us ideas and historical background. We were treated to seeing a fawn with mother deer just outside our unit, too!

Room Tip: The suite we had had parking right outside the door and was very private. Each of their accommodati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flower62wild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueSkiesInn, Owner at Blue Skies Inn Bed and Breakfast Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2014

All of our suites are end units - we carefully designed the architectural plans for lots of room and guest privacy. We built the inn "from the ground up" eighteen years ago, so we think it is pretty close to perfect for guest comfort. The downstairs suites have their own outdoor entrances, and guests are likely to see wildlife from their doors - perhaps a fawn or maybe a flock of summer birds who are visiting the hundred year old pear trees. We'll loan binoculars or help guests identify birds!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I booked this location because 1 it is local and 2 it was close to the Cogline Railway. Not the B&B's fault, but we didn't make our train on Friday afternoon and had to move our tickets to the first Saturday train. Therefore...we needed an early breakfast. One reason to stay in a B&B is for the breakfast. The innkeepers were not able to accomodate and early hot breakfast. That bummed us out.

We selected this particular B&B because children can stay here. This was very nice. My son stayed in a twin bed and they provided a toddler bed for my daughter. They left tootsie pops on the kids' pillows. We went to dinner and Cave of the Winds. When we got back, there were two stuffed rabbits and rabbits snacks waiting for them in a crate by the door! They were thrilled by this. They also provided a "cold" basket breakfast for our family of muffins, cereals, juice, granola bars, etc. This worked fine for us and our train trip. We kind of cleaned out the basket as we didn't know what we would want/need - but all was well.

We departed for Hutchinson after our train ride. That evening my daughter had a total melt down saying she wanted to stay in the "blue room" again - our B&B room - and not stay in Hutchinson! Obviously it made an imprint on her.

Thanks for the nice place to stay, working around our train schedule changes and for the extra TLC for my kids. Wonderful!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Confluencia2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueSkiesInn, Owner at Blue Skies Inn Bed and Breakfast Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2014

We truly love our child guests. This little family arrived fairly late at night after a long drive, and the children were very tired of the car. After they left to go out for dinner, we placed stuffed bunnies in front of their door with hopes of making thier day a little happier. Our 8:00 breakfast gives our guests time to get to the Cog Railroad which is just five minutes away. It is pretty impossible for us to create our full hot breakfast to be served before that, so we always pack a basket for those who want to leave earlier. We pack the basket with milk, juice, cereal, energy bars, fruit and muffins, and we are pleased when our guests take all of it to enjoy on the road. You never know what will please a child in a hungry moment later in the day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manitou Springs
0.8 mi away
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
#1 of 10 in Manitou Springs
867 reviews
2.4 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#3 of 104 in Colorado Springs
1,138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
#5 of 10 in Manitou Springs
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Manitou Springs
Days Inn Manitou Springs
#3 of 10 in Manitou Springs
612 reviews
0.6 mi away
Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast
Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 8 in Manitou Springs
378 reviews
0.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Villa Motel
Americas Best Value Inn Villa Mo...
#2 of 10 in Manitou Springs
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Skies Inn Bed and Breakfast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Skies Inn Bed and Breakfast Hotel

Address: 402 Manitou Ave, Manitou Springs, CO 80829-2303
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Manitou Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Manitou Springs
Price Range: £109 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 2.5 secluded acres with year round stream and surrounded by hillsides of trees at the base of Pikes Peak. Our quaint village of Gothic Revival architecture holds ten unique 3-room suites handpainted by an artist. Spacious tiled bathrooms with tubs and enormous showers. Dine in our hidden garden courtyard or we'll deliver a full breakfast to enjoy in your sunny sitting room. Enjoy a romantic retreat, family vacation or garden wedding. Free off-street parking close to your room. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing