We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional B&B!”
Review of Red Crags Estates

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Crags Estates
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My husband and I spent the Memorial Day weekend at the Red Crags Estates, one of three properties in Manitou Springs, including the Onaledge and Rockledge. The buildings are gorgeous - when we arrived we felt like we were entering a fairy tale. Majestic mansions high on a hillside are surrounded by beautiful grounds. Once you drive through the regal wrought iron gates you climb a meandering drive up to the Rockledge building, where the offices are located. A charming young man named Jacob greeted us, in uniform and introduced us to Susan, who checked us in and made us feel like family. The rest of the weekend was wonderful and relaxing. Brett's breakfasts were delicious, hot and hearty. The afternoon wine and cheese was lovely. We sat on the patio in back of Rockledge and took in the spectacular views. We stayed in the Cherub room in Red Crags, a charming Victorian estate. From the location to the service and the overall value - we could not have asked for a better experience. We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HJenS2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
There are newer reviews for Red Crags Estates
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

We had a wonderful 2 DAY STAY IN THE Spindletop Suite at the Rockledge Inn. The room was elegant and had a beautiful bathroom. The grounds were very well kept and deer were roaming frequently. They made us reservations at the Craftwood Inn, a short walk away, for dinner. It was an amazing experience! Great place .....convenient to Pike's Peak.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank JMCGIVNEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

No disappointments. Great views. Susan, Zoe and the other staff were very attentive to our needs. The patio area was a wonderful place to relax in the afternoon. It was nice that there is wine and snacks offered in the afternoon as well. Breakfast was prepared fresh every morning and tasted great. The staff helped my husband plan multiple surprises to make this a wonderful celebration of our 25th wedding anniversary and relaxing get away for us. Take the time to explore the grounds.

Room Tip: Best views Spindletop Suite (Rockledge Inn); Rockledge Suite (Onaledge Inn) and Teddy Roosevelte Su...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LBBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

What a find this place was. We decided to stay another night, but had no reservations and we stumbled upon this b and b. What a fun setting, very hospitable and they were able to accommodate my dietary issues....gluten free and no pork or beef. The breakfast was fabulous. A must to stay at :)

Room Tip: They all looked fabulous!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn and Heidi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

When we arrived at Onaledge we couldn't believe how beautiful the entire estate Red Crags estate is. We were first met by Robert at the gate,who then directed us to his wife Susan up at the office. Before being shown our room we had wine and cheese out on the patio with Susan, who gave us a history of the town and estate. She helped us with places to go and things to see. Our room was the Red Crags room in Onaledge. Everything was immaculately clean, antiques were beautiful. Beds very comfortable. Our bathroom all so had a claw foot tub with shower ( I'm 5'8'" and had no problem standing under shower). We were able to see every beautiful room in the Inn as we had the place to ourselves for 2 nights. We meet Santa (Bret) later that night. Everyone was very friendly. Breakfast every morning was delicious. We enjoyed our stay so much that we booked an extra night! We definitely are planning a trip back soon! P.S. No problem with parking, plenty of spaces.

Room Tip: There didn't seem to be a bad room in the INN. Our room was the Red Crag and it was very large...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosebud623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redcrags, Manager at Red Crags Estates, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

These are the results we seek to attain with all of our guests. We thank you so much for your kind words. Yes, we believe you cannot go wrong with any of our rooms!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My husband and I stayed one night at the Historic Onaledge Bed and Breakfast in Manitou Springs, CO in March. Even though we live only about 25 minutes away, it was a wonderful get away from where we live. The Onaledge is in a quiet and peaceful area. A few minutes away you can walk around the shopping area or visit the near-by Miramont Castle, there are places to eat, etc.. The Onaledge was built in 1912 in the craftsmen style by the original owner. Inside are still touches of copper that he added to the house. The house is very charming and well kept. You are free to explore all the rooms in the house and enjoy a 10 person hot tub. The staff are all very friendly and Brett, the innkeeper is most gracious and willing to tell stories about the B&B. The next morning we enjoyed a very good breakfast next door at the Rockledge B&B. We had a great time. I would recommend staying at the Onaledge any time. Great place!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Fireplace room which really is a suite. We enjoyed a cozy fire in the evening. We...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Val H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redcrags, Manager at Red Crags Estates, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Our Fireplace Suite at Onaledge is indeed a very spacious and unique room. We are so very happy you agree. Your words are most gracious. We thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

BUYER BEWARE....The old bait and switch. We reserved their best room for our honeymoon. It was a large honeymoon type suite with a Jacuzzi tub and view of the Rockies. However, on the day of the event, we were told that there was a computer mess up and our room was given to someone else. Instead, we were given a creepy room with hobby horses above the kitchen with a cramped bathroom and no view at all. The staff attempted to diffuse the situation by offering a reduced rate and delivered breakfast, but the damage was already done..... the night was ruined. The lack of empathy and understanding from the staff only amplified our dissatisfaction. We were treated as if we should have been happy with what we received. Had we not received notification about the room change a mere two hours before our wedding, we would of definitely made alternate arrangements. But because of the late notice, we were stuck with a mediocre room with obtuse service from a staff with a large chip on their shoulder. Beware making any reservations with this business. They certainly DO NOT honor their commitments. EPIC FAIL!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank W G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redcrags, Manager at Red Crags Estates, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

We are deeply dismayed that we could not have provided the room to this couple. We do not seek to have this happen to any guests and over the span of ten years this may have happened twice. Our system, unbeknownst to us, cancelled their reservation. The room reflecting "open" on the system was subsequently reserved by another couple that arrived the day before this couple, reserving for two nights. The room described in the review is an equitable upscale room with jetted tub and bidet, very large living area with gas fireplace and private bedroom area with king bed. The Platinum room was provided at Gold Level pricing (Silver $125, Gold $175 and Platinum $225). Further, we did indeed deliver our fresh baked breakfast to the room as an effort to make the stay more enjoyable as well as provided setup for their champagne. We have extended an offer to stay in the original room at half price and, lastly, reversed the charge on the credit card. These steps were taken as we truly want our guests to thoroughly enjoy their stay. This was inadvertent and not even realized until shortly before their arrival. Under these circumstances we did in all in our power to provide a nice Red Crags Estates stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manitou Springs
0.9 mi away
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
#1 of 10 in Manitou Springs
841 reviews
0.2 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
#5 of 10 in Manitou Springs
223 reviews
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Manitou Springs
Days Inn Manitou Springs
#2 of 10 in Manitou Springs
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#3 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,107 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Gr...
#5 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,927 reviews
0.8 mi away
Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast
Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 9 in Manitou Springs
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Crags Estates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Crags Estates

Address: 328 El Paso Blvd, Manitou Springs, CO 80829-2319
Region: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Manitou Springs
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Manitou Springs
Price Range: £59 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic 1874 B&B located in Manitou Springs, Colorado offers style and elegance for Pikes Peak area visitors. Continuing a long tradition of hospitality, Red Crags Bed & Breakfast Inn's renown spans more than 100 years. Serving as a bed and breakfast since 1989, this celebrated 4-story Victorian manor envelopes the discerning guest in a time of beauty and impeccable atmosphere. The main house of the inn is more than 7,000 square feet and presides over a 2-acre estate overlooking Manitou Valley. From the B&B, Colorado Springs, Pikes Peak, and Garden of the Gods may be seen, providing the guest with a unique perspective of the area. Stepping inside the manor is like stepping back in time. The main floor common area is characterized by lovingly preserved antiques, hardwood floors, and soaring ceilings. Gather around the fireplace for some conversation in the parlor, which also features a large bar and antique piano. On a sunny day, take some time to relax in the solarium and enjoy views of the surrounding mountains and Pikes Peak. A rare cherry wood Eastlake fireplace is the focal point of the formal dining room. All guestrooms are appointed with king-size beds with additional amenities as wood or gas-burning fireplaces, jetted tubs, antique ball and claw tubs or other aspects unique to providing our guests with live history.Outside, sit on the covered decks or walk through the beautifully landscaped grounds and gardens. You can relax by the gurgling brook. Meander to the bluff and take in the best view of the Manitou Valley. Beneath the Colorado blue skies, our air is clean and clear virtually every day of the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Red Crags Estates reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing