We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creekside Cottage was great!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manitou Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
1892 Victoria's Keep
Picayune, Mississippi
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Creekside Cottage was great!”
Reviewed 23 September 2009

My grown daughter & I stayed at the Victoria's Keep Creekside Cottage for a week in early June 09. It's located a few blocks from the B&B, on the main street in Manitou, but a couple of blocks away from all the shops. This was an ideal place for us. The house itself is 100 years old but updated & very charming. We bought some groceries to eat at "home" a couple of times- the kitchen was fully stocked with dishware, utensils & appliances, so if you wanted to cook 3 meals a day here, it would be easy. The bathroom also had soaps, shampoos, hair dryer & cleaning supplies. You are expected to clean up after yourself, but who wouldn't, in a place just like home? There was also a washer & dryer (small, but worked fine), a vcr with some movies (family stuff) & a plug for the computer. The bedroom was large & comfortable, but my daughter said the matress on the sofa-bed was thin. However, there was also a daybed. My favorite thing was the large hammock in the backyard right next to the creek. It was so relaxing. The staff was friendly, informative & very accommodating. They thought of everything! I hope we can stay again when we come back to Manitou.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tralalayat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    7
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
30
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Basswood Grove, MN
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2009

This B&B was almost magical. Located next to Miramont castle, it's a step back into "old" Manitou. A creek ran outside our window, and the mountain breezes kept the room perfectly comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. It's located a short walk to the trendy, funky shops of Manitou.....it's the perfect place to bring your lover.

The owners and staff went out of their way to be helpful and we really put them to the test. We had to change our confirmed reservation dates at the last minute and they didn't complain. More than that, our van broke down in a distant Kansas wheat field and was to be hauled to an auto mechanic they recommended. The car was fixed for a reasonable price by noon the next day.

Looking for a romantic, plushly Victorian B&B in a fun location with great food (and cookies), a friendly staff and good value? This is the place.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElevatorBaybies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2009

JohnH2005 is absolutely right...5 stars is NOT enough! Victoria's Keep is everything a bed & breakfast should be!

We visit Manitou Springs each June to attend the wine festival. The wine festival is always great fun, but the highlight of our visit is the peaceful respite we experience during our stay at Victoria's Keep.

We've enjoyed the comforts of several different rooms over the years...Castle View, Abbeyview, the Parlor Suite and the Turret Suite. Each room has its own unique personality, but I think our absolute favorite would have to be the Turret Suite. The tiny room inside the turret is a perfect little reading nook and the bathroom with it's enormous whirlpool tub is just breathtaking!

Each morning as we assemble in the dining room for our delicious breakfast we're always delighted to discover we're not the only ones who have returned for yet another visit. We see many of the same faces year after year...it's like meeting up with old friends. The new friends we make each year all promise to return too. Any bed & breakfast can entice you to visit once, but when the guests keep coming back you know you've found a very special place. Victoria's Keep is indeed special...owners Karen and Jay do everything right!

After each and every visit we return home feeling refreshed and thoroughly pampered, and we're already looking forward to our next visit. A stay at Victoria's Keep is like visiting with family...those rare family members you really enjoy visiting!

If you're planning a trip to Manitou Springs we highly recommend Victoria's Keep. And if you happen to visit on the first weekend of June, we'll see you at breakfast!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoBnbfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, CO
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2009

The staff was wonderful and inviting. The room was absolutely gorgeous and had the best two person jetted tub to relax in after a long day. The bed was wonderful and comfortable to say the least. It was very hard to get out of bed for breakfast, which was amazing and decadent. The owners Karen and Jay are delightful and great to talk with.

The location was the perfect walking distance to the Wine Festival and there are several things to do without any time of activity going on in this quaint town.

The front porch area was inviting and cozy with a nice porch to sit and enjoy the view, smell the fragrant flowers, and chat with other guests.
The stream out front was relaxing to fall asleep to and although not too bad the one bad side and not the fault of the owners were the car headlights that shone into the room late at night.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janet771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, TX
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2009

I would rate this place 6 stars but it only goes to five. If you are reading this and considering staying here save yourself some time reading and just go ahead and book it. My best advice is to stay longer than you think you want to because you will NOT want to leave. It is like leaving an old friend or a close family member.

We stayed here 03/13/09 to 03/17/09 and WOW what a place to stay. The entire trip was fantastic and at the base of it all was Victoria's Keep. We stayed in the Turret Suite which I HIGHLY reccomend. We got there early and the innkeeper assistant let us look at and film all of the other rooms since none of the other guests had arrived yet. They are all awesome rooms but our favorite was ours mainly because of the HUGE bathroom with the great two person jet tub.

The whole house is lovingly decorated with the finest attention to detail. You dine on an absolutely lovely breakfast on fine china and the house silverwear. Breakfast is a scumptious two course affair that alternates between a sweet breakfast and a meaty breakfast. All of the food was awesome but I think the cream cheese stuffed french toast with homemade (I watched her make it from scratch) berry syrup was my favorite. Every breakfast is a feast for the eyes as well as the taste buds.

They have special touches such as free sodas thier own custom blend of hot cocoa and a huge selection of teas. The bottomless cookie jar is completely homemade recipies that are delicious and smell so good when they are baking them from scratch.

Everything in Manitou Springs and Colorado Springs in convienent to Victoria's keep. There are so many things to do and the hosts here will print you coupons make recomendations for great places to eat in town and things to do based on your preferences. They give excellent directions to anywhere you need to go and give you the scenic route or the "local shortcuts" depending on what you want to do. The hosts are probably the niceset and most helpful you will find anywhere.

I could go on and on but I think you get what I am trying to say. The whole stay was fantastic and we WILL be going there again. Just do it.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnH2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, CO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2008

1892 Victoria's Keep was just what we needed for our Honey-Moon. Slightly secluced, but close enough to walk to anything in Manitou Springs. We stayed in the Royal Chambers which had it's own entrance which allowed us to feel like the only people alive if we wanted to. It was perfect for spending time together as newly-weds. The Breakfast was amazing every morning, don't miss it. The tub was awesome, but the bath salts provided were a little harsh while using the jets. The decor was quaint and all the little touches made us feel right at home. Carmels in a candy dish, fresh made cookies, board games you could take to your room were all little things that really showed they cared about their guests. The staff was amazing, and we have to give a special kudos to Heather. She was very friendly and shared lots of information about the B&B. She always went the extra mile to help us out from printing up a coupon for us, or making a suggestion for where to go for dinner. Without her outgoing personality our experience would not have felt complete. We are planning on returning for our Anniversary, and we hope to hear about your stay in the book that is out for guests to right in. By the way if you stay here you should go to the Iron Springs Chateau Melodrama. It was hillarious.

  • Liked — Bath and Breakfast
  • Disliked — The bed was not the most comfortable
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bamboo2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2008

After looking online for B&B's in Manitou Springs my wife and I decided we liked what we saw and took the advice of other reviews to book 3 nights at Victoria's Keep.

It was the best decision we've ever made when staying in Manitou. We have done local motels before, but this was a great experience for us. We love staying in B&B's and enjoy the relationships that are established, not only with the owners, but the guest too.

Jay and Karen (owners) were terrific as well as their 1st assistant Sheenga. They all went way beyond what others would do to make our stay pleasent. They called ahead to make dinner reservations for us and one morning we were not able to make breakfast, so they packed us a sack of goodies to take with us....fruit, bagels, peanut butter, yogart and of course coffee that's available at 8:00 a.m. each morning.

I will refer all friends to stay at Victoria's Keep, so you need not worry about making reservations to stay there. The rooms are very comfortable (great beds) and there are always cookies in the afternoon for you to snack on and they are homemade.

We were extreamly pleased with the attention and service we received. IT'S AN A+ B&B.

Dave & Bonnie

  • Liked — Very clean and wonderful owners and staff.
  • Disliked — Love everything about it.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bonbonrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manitou Springs
0.3 mi away
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
#1 of 10 in Manitou Springs
818 reviews
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Manitou Springs
Days Inn Manitou Springs
#2 of 10 in Manitou Springs
533 reviews
1.3 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
#5 of 10 in Manitou Springs
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Eagle Motel
Eagle Motel
#7 of 10 in Manitou Springs
86 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Gr...
#4 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,888 reviews
3.2 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#3 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1892 Victoria's Keep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1892 Victoria's Keep

Property: 1892 Victoria's Keep
Address: 202 Ruxton Ave, Manitou Springs, CO 80829
Region: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Manitou Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Manitou Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1892 Victoria's Keep offers two vacation rental properties nestled at the base of Pikes Peak, with creek side frontage. Located only two short blocks from historic downtown Manitou Springs for shopping, dining, attractions and galleries. Our most popular suite has a jacuzzi tub for two to relax and rejuvenate, fireplace, A/C, kitchenette, BBQ grill, flat screen TV, and a small deck overlooking Miramont Castle Museum. In addition, we have a one-bedroom cottage, completely furnished, A/C, double fold out sofa, kitchen facilities, BBQ Grill, porch, patio and linens for your very own family vacation rental. Cottages sleep up to 4 people, breakfast is not included. Pets considered for additional fee. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing