We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
1892 Victoria's Keep
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Manitou Springs
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak(Manitou Springs)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pikes Peak Inn(Manitou Springs)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eagle Motel(Manitou Springs)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 Manitou Springs(Manitou Springs)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Silver Saddle Motel(Manitou Springs)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dillon Motel(Manitou Springs)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn Manitou Springs(Manitou Springs)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveller rating
26
7
3
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
26
7
3
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 39 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2009

My husband & I remained faithful to the Manitou Springs area for several years by staying at many B&B's, shopping, sight-seeing, etc... However, we have since moved from the area & haven't been back in over 2 years, so we decided to plan a little rest & relaxation getaway to Manitou Springs this October 2009. We chose Victoria's Keep because (1) Location, location, location (2) cute, quaint edifice (3) great reviews on tripadvisor. Needless to say, we weren't all that impressed. We've stayed in B&B's on most of our stays here in the states as well as in Britain, so we are very well diverse in our B&B knowledge. The room we were interested in was booked, but the 'Hearts on Ruxton' cottage was highly recommended by the innkeeper, so we booked it. Online, it looks fab!!! But upon arrival, we didn't find it as described. It was very small (midget style), old furniture that looked like it was on it's way out to the junk yard, mildew smell, need I go on. So, I rung up the innkeeper and explained that we were not liking the cottage & couldn't see us staying there for the next 3 nights. She was appalled & said that she has never been told that before & needed to speak with the owner as to what type of resolution they could offer us. The innkeeper called back & said, "Well, let me first say that... There ain't no way she (the owner) is going to give you back your money, so let's move on ... We can offer you the Parlor Suite at an addition $25/day more than what you paid for the cottage." Well, since we were in a bit of a pickle, we took it. Although the Parlor Suite was very cozy and large, our image of Victoria's Keep B&B had already been destroyed. At midnight, the people above us finally went to sleep as they were upstairs banging, pounding on floors, running around, showering, making such a ruckus. Then at 3am, the same people were leaving the B&B and slammed doors over a dozen times, noisey, banged their suitcases down the stairs. We didn't get much sleep at all that night. At breakfast time, I mentioned to the innkeeper about all the terrible noise and she responded, "Oh, they were new people to B&B, they were in a hurry to get out & had to leave early". Neither here nor there, we were never greeted by the owner, nor were we ever given an apology for any inconvenience. It's the small touches that can make or break a business & unfortunately, they neglected them in every aspect. I would recommend that you (1) make sure this is the place you want before booking (2) Don't expect anything TOO FAB (3) Enjoy your time in Manitou Springs.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MINXY810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
law_sand, Manager at 1892 Victoria's Keep, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2010

We apologize for your discontent with the property. What we have learned is that recommending our off site cottage when a B&B room is preferred is not in the best interest of the guest. Our cottage is a mountain cottage with new Sile-stone counters, new paint, bed, gas fireplace & TV with a jacuzzi tub in the bathroom, but more rustic than the B&B. This just wasn't what you were looking for. Regarding the noise levels, it is unfortunate that our other guests were inconsiderate in their stay. We recommend contacting someone immediately if you encounter problems with another guest so that we can take care of it immediately.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

We stayed at the Hearts on Ruxton 1br Cottage that is owned by Victoria Keeps. This cottage is located approx. 3 blks from the B&B. This cottage was equipped with everything we could need on a vacation. Full kitchen & cozy living room with gas fireplace. This cottage is only a few blocks to town. The town of Manitou Springs is like no other that we have ever visit before! We will come back here again. Everyone in town was like a close family member. We found ourselves chatting with everyone we met. We enjoyed ourselves and couldn't ask for a better place to stay.

Since our cottage was located off the grounds of Victoria's Keep, our only regret is not being able to spend more time with the owners of Victoria's Keep. We know they must be nice!!! Their home that they shared with us was amazing.

Thank you guys for a wonderful stay....we will be back :)

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler_at_Heart_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2009

My grown daughter & I stayed at the Victoria's Keep Creekside Cottage for a week in early June 09. It's located a few blocks from the B&B, on the main street in Manitou, but a couple of blocks away from all the shops. This was an ideal place for us. The house itself is 100 years old but updated & very charming. We bought some groceries to eat at "home" a couple of times- the kitchen was fully stocked with dishware, utensils & appliances, so if you wanted to cook 3 meals a day here, it would be easy. The bathroom also had soaps, shampoos, hair dryer & cleaning supplies. You are expected to clean up after yourself, but who wouldn't, in a place just like home? There was also a washer & dryer (small, but worked fine), a vcr with some movies (family stuff) & a plug for the computer. The bedroom was large & comfortable, but my daughter said the matress on the sofa-bed was thin. However, there was also a daybed. My favorite thing was the large hammock in the backyard right next to the creek. It was so relaxing. The staff was friendly, informative & very accommodating. They thought of everything! I hope we can stay again when we come back to Manitou.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tralalayat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2009

This B&B was almost magical. Located next to Miramont castle, it's a step back into "old" Manitou. A creek ran outside our window, and the mountain breezes kept the room perfectly comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. It's located a short walk to the trendy, funky shops of Manitou.....it's the perfect place to bring your lover.

The owners and staff went out of their way to be helpful and we really put them to the test. We had to change our confirmed reservation dates at the last minute and they didn't complain. More than that, our van broke down in a distant Kansas wheat field and was to be hauled to an auto mechanic they recommended. The car was fixed for a reasonable price by noon the next day.

Looking for a romantic, plushly Victorian B&B in a fun location with great food (and cookies), a friendly staff and good value? This is the place.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElevatorBaybies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2009

JohnH2005 is absolutely right...5 stars is NOT enough! Victoria's Keep is everything a bed & breakfast should be!

We visit Manitou Springs each June to attend the wine festival. The wine festival is always great fun, but the highlight of our visit is the peaceful respite we experience during our stay at Victoria's Keep.

We've enjoyed the comforts of several different rooms over the years...Castle View, Abbeyview, the Parlor Suite and the Turret Suite. Each room has its own unique personality, but I think our absolute favorite would have to be the Turret Suite. The tiny room inside the turret is a perfect little reading nook and the bathroom with it's enormous whirlpool tub is just breathtaking!

Each morning as we assemble in the dining room for our delicious breakfast we're always delighted to discover we're not the only ones who have returned for yet another visit. We see many of the same faces year after year...it's like meeting up with old friends. The new friends we make each year all promise to return too. Any bed & breakfast can entice you to visit once, but when the guests keep coming back you know you've found a very special place. Victoria's Keep is indeed special...owners Karen and Jay do everything right!

After each and every visit we return home feeling refreshed and thoroughly pampered, and we're already looking forward to our next visit. A stay at Victoria's Keep is like visiting with family...those rare family members you really enjoy visiting!

If you're planning a trip to Manitou Springs we highly recommend Victoria's Keep. And if you happen to visit on the first weekend of June, we'll see you at breakfast!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColoradoBnbfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews