We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keeping the western dream alive”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mc Coy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Black Mountain Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Keeping the western dream alive”
Reviewed 9 September 2012

This for me was a dream come true. What an amazing and life-changing experience. From start to finish I lived the dream. First of all, the ranch is just amazing. The scenery, the views, the horses, the cattle drive...there are no words to describe the beauty and adventure of a lifetime. You get assigned a horse and by the end of the week you know him/her very well. Ranch is like a little town, even have their own saloon with music and dancing into the night!!! You have the freedom to participate or not in activities, depending on your taste. The food is amazing. Cooking out under the stars we had the most delicious food made on a campfire!! Every morning we had buffet breakfast (even pack camp we had marvelous food); lunch varied but always excellent, and some of the dinners were gourmet dinners you would spend lots of money for. If you love to eat...this is the place. Trail rides were awesome and breathtaking. Someone always available to take you where you wanted to go or available to partake in the other activities such as skeet shooting or arena work. There's also the pool and hot tub. The accomodations were amazing...so clean...beds were so comfortable and comforter so comfy. Day of water rafting was an amazing fit. Colorado River was awesome. And the people at the ranch.....so down to earth, hard working, and there for you....to make you happy. They couldn't do enough for you. I cried when I had to leave and hope to go back again real soon. If you're looking for a working dude ranch and the vacation and fun of a lifetime...this is the place to go!!!!

Room Tip: Our cabin was lovely and at top of hill. All the accomodations were generally in the same area and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
101
34
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Black Mountain Ranch is a one of a kind vacation. The owners and wranglers make you feel a part of the ranch not just a visitor. Everyone is especially friendly and all of the staff goes to great lengths to make sure your every need is taken care of.

The accommodations are extremely clean and comfortable.

The food is 5+ star (amazingly even the packed lunches we took on trail rides. I won't spoil the surprises)

I was especially impressed with the quality and care of the horses. These animals work hard and all (75+) are in excellent condition. They do an amazing job of matching the horse to the rider's ability.

The range of activities is also a plus. You can choose what you want to do from riding all day, to soaking in a hot tub or pool, white water rafting, camp out or just hanging out and relax.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patty T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Until now I’ve never been motivated to post an internet review but after our holiday at BMR I felt compelled to change that. At the time it felt like we were having the best holiday ever and several weeks later my view hasn’t changed. Whether it’s the family owners or the rest of the staff, all of them are hard-working, enthusiastic, fun loving and dedicated to making sure you have a great time – day and night. Add that to the stunning mountain scenery, wonderful riding terrain, a full program of optional events and a hefty supply of great food etc. etc. and you can see why it works so well. One important tip - think carefully before you book BMR, only those people who can cope with a totally brilliant holiday should go.
Bill, Jen, Robert, England

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Amazing experience. Black Mountain Ranch is run by a friendly, caring family and staff, and do everything they can to make your time at the ranch a wonderful experience.

Beautiful setting for a range of adventures: horseback riding (on trails in the mountains or in the arena for barrel racing, etc.), trap shooting, lassoing calfs, cattle driving (on Saturdays), hiking, whitewater rafting, fishing, swimming, hot tubbing, and more. The setting is great, but it's the people that make it a great experience.

When you arrive, you meet your wrangler for the week, meet your horse, and start to outline your week. Your schedule is up to you: while there are some activities scheduled throughout the week (whitewater rafting, camping out one night, dinner rides into the mountains, cattle driving), you have the opportunity to create your own schedule. Want to relax, nap, read, hot tub? Go ahead. Want to go ride your horse hours into the mountains? Your wrangler will help make it happen.

Every day starts with a great breakfast, and every day ends with a great dinner. And on most nights, dancing, drinking, and playing pool with the cowboys at the saloon on the ranch.

Get away from it all, get off the grid, and go.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, but consider a private cabin for a special experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taylordavidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Great vacation and awesome location for a family reunion!! We had a large group with ages 9-56 and there was something for everyone. This is the 4th ranch we have visited and was the best. Nice cabins, excellent food, superb horses and wranglers and some of the most beautiful rides in the west! The staff went out of their way to accommodate our large group. If you want a vacation that REALLY gets you away and that the entire family will remember, this is the place....Best memories... shooting guns, herding cattle, hanging out in the saloon (yes, the kids too), spectacular scenery, sleeping under the stars (on the one night pack trip) and meeting wonderful people (staff and guests).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2012

This is truly the best vacation you could ever want even for those who have never riden a horse. The staff makes sure that the horse and activities fit each and every person. They treat you like family the entire week and make sure you do what you want to do when you want to do it. Ride up into the mountains or on a slow trail, take a fast ride in the flats, practice riding in the arena. The wranglers are very skilled and work with every rider to make sure they are comfortable on their horse. Learn or practice your target shooting at the range. Take a great whitewater raft trip, throw a line in the lake and sit back and relax. Then really be prepared to have the best meals ever. From Breakfast to Dinner you will never be disappointed with the amazing food cooked and served by a first class staff. The cabins are very clean and kept up daily by another great set of house keepers. You are treated like family from the minute you arrive and when you leave. Leaving is the hardest part because you just made friends for life with the entire staff and othe guest. We plan to return for another vacation. This is truly the one vacation spot you will never forget.

Room Tip: Ask questions all the questions you want - there are no surprises here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Paradise in the mountains. The kids didn't want to leave. Uber-comfortable rooms, terrific food, fantastic staff, clean air, spectacular scenery.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Black Mountain Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Mountain Ranch

Property: Black Mountain Ranch
Address: 4000 Conger Mesa Road, Mc Coy, CO 80463
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Mc Coy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Mc Coy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come join us for a taste of the wild west. Your week long package includes lodging, all meals, unlimited horseback riding, an overnight pack trip, a longhorn cattle drive, whitewater rafting, fly and spin fishing, rifle and trap shooting, archery, a trip to a local rodeo and so much more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Black Mountain Ranch Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing