We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time, great food and great people...as well as great horses!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mc Coy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Black Mountain Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Lone Tree, Colorado
2 reviews
“Great time, great food and great people...as well as great horses!”
Reviewed 27 August 2010

Upon arrival till the time we waved goodbye--the Mays' and the entire staff made sure we had a stellar time. You feel as though they have opened their home to you...and are very happy to do it! The rides were great, the wranglers were fun, the planned events went swimmingly and the saloon is a great FAMILY hangout!
Thanks to everyone there for making the Karel vacation one that we will never forget!

John, Dayna, Chase and Maya

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkarel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
112
34
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

I travelled with my husband, our 17 year old daughter and her friend (also 17) . We had been on a ranch holiday before and our expectations were high.... and we were not disappointed. We were incorporated into the extended May family (who own and run the ranch) from day one. Nothing was too much trouble and the holiday was geared to suit each of us individually - so my daughter (a good rider) was shown endless trails across the beautiful Rocky Mountains, whilst I (a nervous rider) tackled less challenging rides. Evenings were spent socialising with the other guests and the wranglers, and trips to the Rodeo and White water rafting were enjoyed by all (they are also included in the price - there are no hidden extras). The food is excellent whether eaten at the ranch or at the top of the mountain on the over night pack camp. On our journey back to the airport we found ourselves with time to spare and Jimmy made a detour to show us some sites - making it the best "airport run" we have ever had. Watch the video - everything they say is true!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joann186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hatboro PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2010

From the moment we were picked up by our Wrangler until the time we left the ranch, the focus was purely on us and what WE wanted to do. From the horses, to the food, to the staff, everything was top notch but still laid back! We took our first trip to the ranch as an anniversary present to ourselves and loved it so much we took our three children( ages 14, 9, & 7) The staff welcomed us back like we were family! Our kids had the best time with us and even without us! The staff made sure that they were just as happy as we were! We cant wait to go back again for our third trip and look forward to many many more!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kowgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Lafayette, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2010

Although I was already excited about my family's reunion at the ranch, once we arrived I was thoroughly impressed and even more excited. One of the main ideas impressed upon the ranch is that each guest is to be treated like family, and the staff really stood out in this.They are extremely friendly from the moment they pick you up at the airport, learning your name and the relationship you have with others you arrive with, even taking time to learn about your personal history.

When we arrived, the rooms were clean and tidy, and had a very distinct western cowboy flair. The beds are surprisingly very comfortable, even the small twin beds. All the normal amenities are provided and the rooms are serviced just like a hotel, despite being cabins.

The experiences here are fantastic. Integral to this ranch is horseback riding. There are trips almost every day, during which you grow accustomed to your assigned horse and vice versa. At the end of the week, your pair is a well-oiled machine - which is important for the week-ending cattle drive.

The view from the ranch, situated on the side of Black Mountain, is awesome. Even better is the variety of views seen around the mountain as you ride up and down each day, and especially the one from the top of Black Mountain.

If you like the outdoors, horseback riding, great views, fantastic staff and endless enjoyable activities and entertainment, this is your place. I'd recommend this to anyone who has ever been even slightly interested in being a cowboy.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenSweat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2010

Couldn’t have asked for a better place for our family vacation; which consists of 17 people!!! The setting is wonderful; away from all the daily distractions. The views are breath taking. The staff makes you feel like one of the family. So much it was sad to leave all our new friends. The horses are personally matched with each rider’s ability and are well taken care of. The food is beyond amazing! The cabins and rooms are all very comfortable and we did not want for anything. The pool is refreshing after a long ride. The saloon calls your name for relaxing and making new friends after a day’s activities.
The memories of our week at Black Mountain will be hard to match! In fact, we are working to plan our future trip already!! Not to mention our children are anxious to be old enough to work at Black Mountain for the summer!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpruzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2010

This was the 3rd time in 5 years that we've stayed at BMR and, as my husband said when we left....'see you in 2012!' You can't beat the staff; the friendliness of each and every one of them makes you feel like you're spending the week with family. The food, whether it's the first night BBQ, steaks at Jake's lake, fajitas at pack camp or Chris's 3 course meals at the lodge, is first class and you never walk away hungry. We've stayed in the same cabin each time only because it's at the top of the hill and furthest from the lodge, letting us walk off the desserts we couldn't resist. For us, this vacation is all about the riding and being outdoors as much as possible. My husband has less riding experience than my daughter and I (she wasn't able to come with us this year), but they're always able to match our horses so that he can go on the same rides as us. We've gone on some long rides (6-7 hours) and seen some beautiful country with BMR, but even on shorter rides you definitely aren't shorted on the scenery. Ending up in the saloon with a cold drink, a game of pool and a visit with the other guests and wranglers is just an added bonus to each awesome day.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raedawn69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2010

After reading many dude ranch reviews and doing lots of homework , we chose BMR. This place lived up to our expectations. The ranch is well off the beaten track and takes you well into the mountains, all very picturesque. Due to our holiday itinerary, we only stayed 4nights, but when we did arrive we were overwhelmed with the reception we received from the staff and the other guests, everyone was so very friendly. Within an hour or two of our arrival, we were on our horses (Quigely was a star!) and off for our first trail into the hills lead by our very own wrangler Molly. The accommodation was a very rustic wood cabin with real log fire and very comfortable beds, very welcoming at the end of an exhausting day. The food was top notch thanks to the Chef Chris and the kitchen staff. At the end of each evening guests and staff gathered in the saloon for drinks, chat and on occasional dancing. It was here you really got to know your everyone, who quickly became very good friends. Included in the week was a days white water rafting which was exhilarating. My wife was unsure at first, but afterwards said it became a highlight of our trip. Later in the week we also went to the rodeo. This became more than we expected as we experienced an awesome thunder and lightening storm with torrential rain. We travelled with our 9 year old daughter who made some great friends straight away, we hardly saw her from morning till night because she was having so much fun. Finally a thanks to the staff who were all really nice but a special mention to Molly who took great care of us all, to Jimmy whom I got on with like a house on fire and helped plan some of our holiday and his wife Chris who cooked up a storm in the kitchen every day and to all the other guests who made the trip so special. If we were to plan another ranch holiday, we would be afraid to book any other as it is unlikely they would be able to compare with this wonderful place.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank explorer1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Black Mountain Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Mountain Ranch

Property: Black Mountain Ranch
Address: 4000 Conger Mesa Road, Mc Coy, CO 80463
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Mc Coy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Mc Coy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come join us for a taste of the wild west. Your week long package includes lodging, all meals, unlimited horseback riding, an overnight pack trip, a longhorn cattle drive, whitewater rafting, fly and spin fishing, rifle and trap shooting, archery, a trip to a local rodeo and so much more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Black Mountain Ranch Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing