We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bedroom, Bathroom, Fantastic Breakfast”
Review of Hollyside Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cumwhinton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hollyside Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Cumwhinton B&B and Inns
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Bedroom, Bathroom, Fantastic Breakfast”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Worth staying for the breakfast alone. Very comfortable room, good WiFi, ensuite with big bath and shower, very nicely done. Plenty of room to spread out. I was on a business trip, and it was ideal for this, but the facilities and standard of accommodation would be perfect for a weekend break or a base for a holiday in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vugs264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
10
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gourock, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2014

My Mum and I spent a lovely, relaxing few days at New Year. The accommodation is of an excellent standard as are the breakfasts which are served in your room. Lynette is a very friendly and welcoming hostess. The location of the B&B is ideal for visiting surrounding villages and the Carlisle and Cumbrian area. Would highly recommend a stay here if visiting the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 72Louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iow
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed here on our way to Scotland and we were really pleased with the whole package. The location was easy to find and very beautiful. The property is well maintained and clean. The room ( twin room ) was cozy and comfortable, with an amazing en suite. You have your own entrance so didn't feel like you were disturbing anyone when you came and went. The local Pub is just a few hundred yards away. Best part of this experience was the breakfast! You eat in your room at a time to suit. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would gladly recommend and book again.

Room Tip: The owner said the double room was larger. We were in the twin which was cozy, but totally suited ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walkerj59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2013

My wife and I have stayed with Lynette several times. We always have a wonderful welcome and
the accommodation and breakfast never disappoint. We would never think of staying anywhere
else when visiting the area and recommend you should pay her a visit as soon as possible !!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidAD7748UG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed at Hollyside Lodge, Lynette was very welcoming and friendly! Rooms were very clean and beautifully decorated. My full English breakfast in the morning was so tasty! Would defiantly stay here again! It's in a great location as well!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Har137t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I stayed at Hollyside Lodge in July 2013 on my cycle ride from Land's End to John O'Groats. The room was very clean and comfortable with some nice design details and with a private entrance which was nice. Breakfast was excellent. Good pub next door for evening meals.

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank david l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I recently stayed here as a business traveller, I would thoroughly recommend this B&B over any hotel in the area.
From the start of your stay to the end the service is first class, the rooms are extremely clean and fitted out to a very high standard. The bathrooms are very modern and stylish.
The beds and bedding are of a high quality which go a long way to ensure you have a good nights sleep.
The English breakfast is as fresh and as good as it gets, eggs from the B&B's very own chickens and the rest locally sourced, all cooked for a time that suits you and served in your room for your convenience and privacy.
There is pub next door but one which serves good evening meals and has a warm welcome.
All in all this is a little gem of a place just off the motorway but surrounded by the countryside, perfect for couples on holiday or business users alike.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikey_moke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hollyside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollyside Lodge

Property: Hollyside Lodge
Address: Cumwhinton CA4 8DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Cumwhinton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cumwhinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hollyside was formerly a farmhouse and cobblers shop built circa 1852.Set in the picturesque village of Cumwhinton, just four miles from the historic city of Carlisle. Has now been tastefully restored to the highest standard, to provide two ground floor en-suite double bedrooms, each with its own private entrance.Hollyside Lodge is perfectly located for exploring Carlisle, its minutes from the Scottish Border,lake District National Park and Hadrians Wall ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hollyside Lodge Cumwhinton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing