We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place that needs more care and repairs”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Moffat
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Joyful Journey Hot Springs Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Moffat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We have been visiting Joyful Journey for years and usually stay in a yurt. This visit, we stayed in the new hotel rooms which are open, spacious, and nicely done. The bed was incredibly comfortable. We were very disappointed with the hot springs pools and wooden walkways. It seems that a big investment was made in the deluxe rooms while the springs themselves have fallen into neglect. Several fellow soakers agreed that the water looked cloudy and dirty. The wooden walkways and partitions were weather-beaten and in need of repair or replacement. The carpet runners on the walkways were old and tattered. The structures around the pools were warped with lots of missing grout. Many of the trees on the property were half dead and not cared for. We were very disappointed and hope that management puts more effort into making the pool areas more appealing and cleaner before we’ll return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank AzmoNewMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2013

Joyful Journey is my recharge from the city. The easy drive up 285 eases you into a vacation mindset. The natural springs, the yurts, and the desolate location in the San Luis Valley is the perfect "get out of town and get off the grid" getaway. I have always stayed in the Yurts but they did add a lovely hotel to the property a few years ago if you enjoy a less "rustic accommodation". Make sure you head for the hot spring pool to enjoy the sunset on the Mountains- gorgeous!
Insider tip: There isn't a restaurant really close so stop in Salida on your way there for a late lunch (Amica's Pizza is always a good choice!) and grab some picnic goodies for your evening snack! If you are staying in the Yurts there is a small kitchen area you can use. Joyful Journey does provide a continental breakfast in the morning next to the hotel area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank bisbee25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Joyful Journey is one of those hidden gems that, when you find it, will show you what you've been missing. I chanced upon it while route-planning on Google Maps, and decided to take a gamble.
You'll find Joyful Journey at the very north end of Colorado's San Luis Valley, about a mile south of where Colorado 17 splits from US 285. It's in plain sight, and nestled in the middle of high desert scrub. The nearby mountains are a fantastic backdrop to this place, and the pool/spa areas are glass-enclosed (no roof) so that you can enjoy the vista without the wind.
The water is unlike other geothermal spas, in that this water is on the alkaline side, with NO sulphery smell, and contains decent amounts of boron, potassium, calcium, magnesium... and LITHIUM (Yes, the battery metal), which is used medically in small amounts as a mood stabilizer and anti-psychotic. We were told that the lithium will instill a sense of well-being, and we noticed that this was not only true, but lasted the rest of the day.
As we were just passing through, we didn't avail ourselves of the accomodations, but we did take the time to check out the inside of one of the yurts there. It was quite comfortable-looking, with a heater, electricity, a skylight and chairs. Nearby are the restrooms and kitchen facilities. Tipis are also available in the summer, as are DRY (no water [or sewer]?) hookups for RVs.
The prices for most offerings are quite reasonable - especially the spas - and as long as you can do without state-of-the-art facilities, Joyful Journey is an excellent deal.

Room Tip: Being essentially in the middle of nowhere, and away from anything, most rooms should be nice and qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DaveGarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Three days and two nights.
Big spring storm. Though the San Luis Valley was cold and at many times, the wind was blowing, the soaking pools are still fantastic.
No TVs (yes).
No worries! Just relax and soak.
Bring some of your favorite food items and beverages. Travel to Crestone, Saguache or Villa Grove for dinner.
Contiental breakfast is basic.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice. Yurts are rustic. Check out the greenhouse on site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walkorrideabike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Located South of Salida where 285 turns west, just a mile or two down highway 17. Yes, the middle of nowhere. We stayed in yurt two. Even though we arrived at 9:00pm during the beginning of January, the staff was nice, we had no problem getting into our yurt and, even though it was very cold the heaters were cranked and the yurt was warm. The yurts have one gas (propane?) heater and two electric space heaters. The bedding was worn, the mattress wasn't the best, the wall art was terrible (just kidding- its a yurt! come on!) and still we slept the sleep of morpheus.
There is a main bathhouse for the yurts which also has a small kitchen area. Getting up in the middle of the night and having to walk to the bathroom in the middle of winter is not for everybody, but I have to tell you, we had a little bit of a moon at night, and the cold, stillness, and radiance of the sky and the snow covered peaks was absolutley staggeringly beautiful.
I think the thing to do, since you are like an hour away from Salida, is to bring all of your own food, some of it made ahead of time, and then assemble/reheat there, eating at the table in your yurt. By the way, the breakfast buffet is basic and the coffee is not "decent"! Think: Sam's Club.

There are only three pools: 1.) not quite hot enough 2.) perfect 3.) too hot. During the winter, the steam from the pools condenses and freezes on the glass walls, thus obscurring the terrific views. I did not anticipate this and found it disappointing. But only a little.

I could see really getting some serious recuperative rest here. If one were to sleep in, get up, have breakfast, soak, go for a stroll, have a massage or spa treatment, take a nap, soak, eat dinner, read and fall asleep, you would wake the next day feeling like a new person. Here is the substance without any of the fanfare, self-promotion, or over-priced glitz of modern "healing spas".

Room Tip: If you stay in a yurt, remember, its a yurt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ride2live
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

When we made this reservation, my wife expressed that it might be cold, being that the San Luis Valley is a cold place in the winter. I said, “surely they have it worked out…” I was wrong.

My expectation was that hot water was piped in from the hot spring to heat the yurts. Or at least that they were winterized. But their solution is to provide multiple electric space heaters, inadequate in a single-layer canvas building in -10 degree weather (and no, we weren’t there for “record-breaking” cold).

Not only was it uncomfortable, the waste was upsetting. We had about 5000 watts going all night, and it all just went through the walls. I would recommend avoiding this place in general, just to send a message about this "pass the cost along to the customer and environment be damned" attitude.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

I visited the hot springs this morning with my husband, 6YO son, and 11 YO nephew. I had already read the reviews and knew not to expect much for the kiddos. The dressing rooms were very nice and clean and the pools were nice, though small-ish. This would be fine for adults who just want to soak and relax, but it's not great for 2 young boys with energy to spare. Luckily we were practically the only people there so we didn't have to worry about bothering others. I'd go again if we didn't have the children with us, but I wouldn't make a special trip to do so.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amanda77433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moffat
24.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salida
24.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 16 in Salida
204 reviews
16.5 mi away
Cutty's Hayden Creek Resort - A Cruise Inn Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Mountain Motel
Mountain Motel
#6 of 16 in Salida
241 reviews
23.4 mi away
No photo provided
Valley Haven Lodge
#1 of 1 in Center
6 reviews
24.9 mi away
Gateway Inn & Suites Salida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joyful Journey Hot Springs Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joyful Journey Hot Springs Spa

Address: 28640 County Road 58ee, Moffat, CO 81143-9726
Region: United States > Colorado > Moffat
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Moffat
Price Range: £15 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Joyful Journey Hot Springs. We invite you to come and experience this wonderful sacred area sheltered beneath the towering Sangre de Cristo Mountains. Come and care for yourself with gentle massage and body therapies and rejuvenate in our soaking pools.Our Hot Springs Spa offers a wide variety of Spa Treatments including therapeutic and deep tissue massage, hot stone therapy, aromatic facials, natural body wraps, reflexology treatments and more.Our hot springs water is 100% artesian mineral water which comes out of the ground at over 140 degrees Fahrenheit. Our pools are gravity fed and naturally kept at temperatures between 98 and 110 degrees.Joyful Journey features overnight accommodations in our hotel and conference center as well as Eco-Lodging in our Yurt and Tipi village.Joyful Journey Hot Springs is a perfect place for romantic getaways, family vacations, retreats, conferences, weddings, and pure relaxation! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Joyful Journey Hot Springs Hotel Moffat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing