We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun Time” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Movie Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Movie Manor
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Monte Vista
Mechanicsville, United States
1 review
“Fun Time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Was extremely pleased with hotel, the movie experience and especially the wonderful breakfast. Had been a little leary because I had a read a bad review and was worried there would be problems but I need not have worried. The hotel was very clean, the movie was fun - watching from bed, and the complementary breakfast was beyond compare with eggs, bacon, make your own waffle! This hotel was a highlight on our trip west!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Ramona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    136
    32
    11
    5
See reviews for
200
149
19
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City MO
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

This hotel is a real treat if you have kids, it has a drive in movie!!! And, it was one of the cleanest anywhere with fantastic mountain views. Then top it off with a sausage, eggs, blueberry waffle breakfast!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Galen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

I recently stayed here while exploring the Creede, CO area. It was professional, very clean, up to date and charming. I can't fathom why anyone would call this place dated! It is a piece of Americana operated by Mike and his wife who have over 30 years experience. It is a family run motel run by caring folks. The Cast of "the Lone Ranger" including Johnny Depp stayed here for 2 months during filming in Creede, CO and I can see why. The bed was very comfortable and the "Drive in Movie" from your hotel room was great fun! I was surprised at how good both the sound and picture were given the limitations of the distance from the screen. The projector produced enough light and was of sufficient resolution so that it was easy to enjoy the movie looking out over a sea of cars gathered for family fun. Mike and his wife are very detail oriented - even the garden hoses were neatly coiled!

I must admit that my wife and I moved the bed in front of the window (we moved it back in the morning) to watch the show but this was no big deal. There are treats and popcorn available and a restaurant is also either on the property or near by.

The included breakfast was similar to other such fair at Best Westerns - but with excellent freshness and quality of ingredients. The fruit was attractive and fresh, the coffee was HOT and FRESH! The view from the dining room is Stunning! The individual creamers for the coffee were COLD and FRESH - as a coffee addict I particularly appreciated this.

There is just something special about sharing an experience with others in this way, it is wholesome and harkens back to a time in America that was full of hope and promise. Don't expect the Ritz Carlton but do expect Quality - 50's Style

The location is in the middle of the San Louis Valley between the Great Sand Dunes National Park, the amazing Mountains surrounding Creede, Lake City, South Fork and Pagosa Springs. It is near Wolf Creek for Skiing and it is near an amazing Colorado Train journey to Chauma, NM which starts south of Alamosa, CO.


You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: The building is shaped in an 'L' between 2 screens, make sure the following: 1. Find out wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

If you are looking for some Griswald family fun where things are kind of wrong but you have fun anyway, stay here. The motor hotel is run down, but hey, you can watch a drive in movie from your bed. It is a great way to keep kids sequestered while you can relax and/or corral them.

However, the hotel could use a remodel, was a bit dirty and smelled like the 70s, and is incredibly expensive for what it is. And if you want to eat / drink, bring everything with you. Other than that, it was a fun adventure.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Coresidenttraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mike s s, Manager at BEST WESTERN Movie Manor, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
We apologize for your experience with us. We have remodeled and we also have a restaurant and snack bar on our property. Perhaps on your next stay with us you can enjoy that. We are pleased to here you did enjoy the movie. We hope to see you again.

Thank you,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fruitland Park, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

This place was great! The service was outstanding, the rooms very clean and comfortable. Super cool was the ability to watch a movie on the big screen during our stay. If your in the area and need a place to stay, The Movie Manor is a real winner.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Arnold H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

I went with my son for a southern Colorado vacation and had heard about the Movie Manor from a friend and decided to try it. We had a blast. The owners were personable and helpful. The staff was clearly treated well, as everything was clean and organized. Everyone had a smile and was happy to help. Watching a movie from the hotel room was a treat- the sound piped directly into the room. Both the linens and matresses were of much higher quality than I expected. Breakfast was much better than the usual 'free breakfast' fare. Super glad we went, we will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sageyly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heerhugowaard, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
191 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

We booked the room and didn't really know what to expect. After checking in we checked out our room. We were surprised how clean it was. We watched the movie from our room. The sound effects were great and we had a great view. I had a good night's rest and when we stepped out of the room the only thing we saw was the nature. The restaurant by the hotel was okay. We had better but we definitely had worse. I would recommend this hotel to all of my friends. Overall it was a great experience and stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlieBrouwer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monte Vista
17.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 13 in Alamosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
2.9 mi away
Monte Villa Inn
Monte Villa Inn
#3 of 4 in Monte Vista
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
17.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Alamosa
Hampton Inn Alamosa
#2 of 13 in Alamosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Alamosa Inn
25.0 mi away
Foothills Lodge & Cabins
Foothills Lodge & Cabins
#1 of 3 in South Fork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
17.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Alamosa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Movie Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Movie Manor

Property: BEST WESTERN Movie Manor
Address: 2830 West US 160, Monte Vista, CO 81144
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Monte Vista
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Monte Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Movie Manor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Movie Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Movie Manor Hotel Monte Vista
Best Western Monte Vista
Monte Vista Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing