We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Montrose KOA

Montrose KOA
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montrose
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Montrose KOA
Larkspur, Colorado
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We just got back from staying in a 5th wheel for 6 nights in this park. Location is convenient to downtown Montrose. Camping sites were large enough, grassy area under the picnic table was a plus. Just remember that the sprinklers come on at night in the grassy area, so if you leave anything out it will be wet in the morning. Pool was well maintained, showers were also cleaned and well-maintained. Couldn't pick up many tv stations with their cable, but that could have been user error on our part. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    14
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
10
12
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Conifer, Colorado
Level Contributor
117 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

Just came back from staying at this campground. Tom, the owner, checked us in. He was very welcoming and even gave us a tour of the available sites for us to pick from. The campground has lots of trees so sites are nicely shaded. Each site is a grassy site which is very nice and sure cuts down on the dirt in the camper. There was one gal in the office that seemed a little overwhelmed but she was okay. She definitely was not rude just quiet. This campground is in a good location ~ we made it our base camp to travel to Black Canyon of the Gunnison National park as well as golfing in Delta and is a good location to drive to Ridgway, Ouray and Telluride. I would definitely stay here again. It's also a very quiet campground.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylor, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

Myself and a friend recently rented a cabin at the KoA in Montrose, CO and were absolutely shocked and disappointed by the staff you employ there. We had major car trouble and were forced to stay in Montrose for the night. On my recommendation we stayed at the KoA. That will NOT happen again. The second we walked into the office we were given dirty looks and treated very rudely. We were dirty and tired as we had walked miles to the campground from the Ford dealership in Montrose but no one bothered to even ask how we were doing. At 9:30 P.M. an older gentleman that identified himsolf only as "a campground authority figure" told us we had to put out our campfire. When we mentioned that there were at least 20 other campfires burning he said "yes but they dont look like trouble" I am an engineer, my friend who i was with is a dental hygenist... but we look like trouble. We put the fire out and 15 minutes later were told if we wanted to talk to each other we had to do so in our cabin. The kind of service and the attitude we were treated with is unacceptable and as a result i will be sharing this letter with every review site i can find and I will not be staying at a KoA anywhere ever again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Montrose hotels

los angeles
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

First - we received a call from the KOA (on the same day) stating that they had double booked our reservation on the cabin that we had reserved for months. They first offered us to pay for us to stay in another local hotel (which we should have taken). We, however, needed the use of a refrigerator - so the KOA offered the "apartment" - which is the portioned off section of a mobile home type thing with a small living/kitchen & smallish bedroom. The bath isn't bad regarding size - but never felt comfortable and we did find that the bathroom wasn't clean when we got there. Glad we were only staying a night - and glad to get out of there. This was not a kabin or lodge, not recommended. Please check other's reviews for the RV portion.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hksjza70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moelln, Germany
Level Contributor
131 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

The Resort, which now is a KOA campground, is easy to find although at the end of a quiet side road. It offers shady medium size spaces. The store is small with not too much to buy but you get everything close to the resort in town. Several restaurants in vicinity. Our check-in took more than 30 min probably because we were the first guests for the attendent. If you do not have a problem the resort can be recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

This is our second time at the Montrose KOA RV Resort. We always rent the cabins which are very, very basic, but do include a bare bed and bunk beds for 4 people in each cabin with A/C, wireless internet, and cable TV hookup--if you bring your own TV!

You must bring your own bedding--sheets, blankets, towels, and etc. but they do have a nice clean air conditioned shower house, Pool, Hot Tub, and laundry facilities.

What we like best is the price! We really like the town of Montrose and it's fairly close to Ouray where we do all our wheeling in our Jeep.

Room Tip: There are only 4 cabins---cabin 2 and 3 are the best one's to get due to the shade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrfast120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montrose hotels
0.7 mi away
Stay Wise Inn Montrose
Stay Wise Inn Montrose
#3 of 10 in Montrose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Black Canyon Motel
Black Canyon Motel
#6 of 10 in Montrose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red Arrow Inn & Suites
Red Arrow Inn & Suites
#5 of 10 in Montrose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Montrose
Hampton Inn Montrose
#4 of 10 in Montrose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Montrose
Days Inn Montrose
#7 of 10 in Montrose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.5 mi away
Canyon Creek Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montrose KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montrose KOA

Property: Montrose KOA
Address: 200 N Cedar Ave, Montrose, CO 81401-5802 (Formerly Montrose RV Resort)
Region: United States > Colorado > Montrose
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Montrose
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montrose KOA offers a relaxing, friendly atmosphere for campers and RV travelers. Open all year, we have a quiet location close to downtown Montrose. All sites have 30/50 amp pull-thrus — some are 75 feet long! Large grassy areas and level graveled sites with nice shade trees. We are newly remodeled with a heated pool, hot tub, clean restrooms and showers, new laundry facilities as well as a gift shop, playground and large open-air pavilion with free gas grills. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing