We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Black Canyon Motel, Montrose, CO”
Review of Black Canyon Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Black Canyon Motel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Montrose
Montrose, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Black Canyon Motel, Montrose, CO”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We have stayed here a number of times. The motel was remodeled just a few years ago, so it is still quite clean and comfortable.

The rooms are of average size for a motel of this type, and have refrigerators and microwaves. The lighting is a bit low with the curtains drawn, but more than sufficient with the curtains open a bit. The bathrooms are somewhat small, but still sufficient. The only area that is just not quite large enough is the breakfast area. The parking lot was refinished during the remodeling so it is still smooth and there are enough spaces that you can usually park close to your room.

Overall, the motel represents a very good value for the price of the rooms.

It is located on Main Street in Montrose, about a half mile from the older section of downtown, where there are numerous stores and eating establishments, with many more on North and South Townsend Avenue.

Room Tip: Not much choice here, rooms all face pretty much South, toward Main Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STEVEN E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    128
    46
    13
    5
See reviews for
71
119
31
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Hotel was fine, clean and tidy. Owners are interested in keeping a good motel and provided a nice breakfast too. Plenty of variety at this place. Pool was good for the kids.
Plenty of space in the hotel room too.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthPair12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I liked the end of town it was in, just a few miles from the Black Canyon of the Gunnison. It was clean, and people was nice. Did hear some noise from the highway but did not bother me . There was places to eat close by without having to drive to them.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lea444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

Clean and well priced but loud. Could hear neighbors tv so well that I could understand the words. Woken at 6am by footsteps from above. Not a restful night. Nice folks, good location but I'd go elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank min1k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

Hubby and I stayed here on our way to the East Coast. I selected this hotel because of the good reviews and the price. The outside of the hotel is a little run down but the room was very nice. Everything was clean and the micro and frig are a good plus at this price. The free breakfast was just okay. The selections were all carbs with the exception of a couple of apples. Overall, it is a good place if money is an issue.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BrendaC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend booked a room in Montrose town as we intended to look at the Black Canyon. We stayed in motels before, and were amaised with a spacious room and a big bathroom here! Frige and microwave in the room is a plus. Continental breakfast enclosed in the room rate is nice. A noisy AC maybe a point of dissatisfaction, but we were so tired that didn't hear it soon after we fell asleep. The most important for us was internet access, and we'd like to have more fast wi-fi. Anyway, in case of visiting Montrose again we'll book a room at the Black Canyon motel with no doubt!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NataliaS977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burghausen
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This house is located ideal to start an excursion to the black Canyon of the Gunnison. And the price is absolutely ok, everything is a bit more lovely than in other motels- starting with the breakfast. They provide apple and banana, which we never saw in one of the other lodgings we had.We felt welcome and comfortable, so we would definitely stay ther

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dagmar E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montrose hotels
0.4 mi away
Stay Wise Inn Montrose
Stay Wise Inn Montrose
#3 of 10 in Montrose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Arrow Inn & Suites
Red Arrow Inn & Suites
#5 of 10 in Montrose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Montrose
Hampton Inn Montrose
#4 of 10 in Montrose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 10 in Montrose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Montrose
Super 8 Montrose
#1 of 10 in Montrose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Montrose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Canyon Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Canyon Motel

Property: Black Canyon Motel
Address: 1605 E Main St, Montrose, CO 81401-3808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Montrose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Montrose
#6 Romantic Hotel in Montrose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Canyon Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Western Slope of the Rocky Mountains, the Black Canyon Motel offers newly renovated rooms with the comforts of home. All rooms come with WIFI accessibility, a refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker for guest use. We offer a Deluxe Continental Breakfast every morning which includes a variety of cereals, pastries, waffles, fresh fruit, and more. Located minutes away from Black Canyon National Park. At the Black Canyon Motel our guests are family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Black Canyon Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Canyon Hotel Montrose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing