We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Motel”
Review of Black Canyon Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Black Canyon Motel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Montrose
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Great Motel! Clean, comfortable, great value!
Black Canyon Motel is a family business. Owners are very nice.
Ooo and there is a breakfast which is excellent especially hot waffles.
In room you will find refrigerator, microwave, internet access.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Weronika K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 312 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

My elderly mother and I stayed at the Black Canyon Motel this past weekend. The room, the service and the free continental breakfast surpassed our expectations. The room was very clean and modern with a large flat-screen tv. Breakfast was excellent; I especially enjoyed the hot waffles. And the manager/owner was very receptive to the two requests I had. Our experience was equal to many 4-star hotels I've stayed in. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, and hair dryer were added bonuses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Have stayed here annually on 3 consecutive summer trips, and always found it to be more than adequate. Nothing fancy, but it has always been clean, the beds are fine, and it's dog friendly which is a huge plus. Friendly owner, fairly centrally located, too. Just a good, solid, independent motel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blueroan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The Black Canyon looks good from the outside, but several things caused us to leave after 3 hours. The smell of cleaning supplies was so strong that we left the window and door open to air the room for over an hour. My wife's sensitivity resulted in a headache from the bedding. The room refrigerator did not work, nor the clock-radio. There was a hole in the door where the peephole was missing. I stuffed it with kleenex to close it up.
Overall not a good experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerome S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Although this hotel wasn't the nicest looking from the road, it was very clean and neat. The owner/front desk man, was very cordial. He did give us some recommendations for the area which was nice. Breakfast was great, although the juice wasn't very tasy. :)

Room Tip: No fitness center or restaurant! Pool was closed in March.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaraAnnSchmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

We have had the pleasure if staying here many times over the past few yrs. it always a pleasant stay! No complaints what so ever!!
Locally owned and operated at high standards!
We will definitely return this summer!! Can't wait for the outdoor pool & hot tub to open!! Love this place!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mtntopmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Well presented. Good location. A lot of work has gone into this place. The room was very clean and comfortable. Lots of TV channels and the internet was good. Great service, no problems here and I would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gaz1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montrose
0.1 mi away
Red Arrow Inn & Suites
Red Arrow Inn & Suites
#5 of 10 in Montrose
548 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stay Wise Inn Montrose
Stay Wise Inn Montrose
#1 of 10 in Montrose
171 reviews
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 10 in Montrose
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Montrose
Hampton Inn Montrose
#4 of 10 in Montrose
477 reviews
20.4 mi away
Days Inn Delta CO
Days Inn Delta CO
#2 of 4 in Delta
181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Montrose
Days Inn Montrose
#7 of 10 in Montrose
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Canyon Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Canyon Motel

Address: 1605 E Main St, Montrose, CO 81401-3808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Montrose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Montrose
#6 Romantic Hotel in Montrose
Price Range: £52 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Canyon Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Western Slope of the Rocky Mountains, the Black Canyon Motel offers newly renovated rooms with the comforts of home. All rooms come with WIFI accessibility, a refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker for guest use. We offer a Deluxe Continental Breakfast every morning which includes a variety of cereals, pastries, waffles, fresh fruit, and more. Located minutes away from Black Canyon National Park. At the Black Canyon Motel our guests are family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Black Canyon Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Canyon Hotel Montrose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing