We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beter than a lot of Days Inns”
Review of Days Inn Montrose

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Montrose
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Montrose
GreenLeadersSilver level
Magnolia, Texas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beter than a lot of Days Inns”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The hotel is on the outskirts of town towards the National Park. Good location. Room was satisfactory. We didn't notice when we checked in, but there was no shower curtain. Needless to say, the next morning, the floor got a little wet when we showered. Breakfast had sausage, eggs, fresh fruit, yogurt, etc. It was good. Plenty of room in the breakfast area. Room was clean and bed was comfortable. Towels were pretty small. Reasonable price for a clean room.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kivec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
funnestfamily, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Montrose, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear KiveC,


I am sorry we missed replacing the shower curtain in the tub. I am glad you found everything satisfactory with the room and I hope that the next time you come through you give us the opportunity to serve you again and thank you for your recent stay.

Thank You

Yours Truly

Gabby M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    147
    84
    33
    20
See reviews for
120
124
49
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Walled Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Rooms were clean. Price was good. Outdoor pool was clean and maintained. Even a BBQ for you to use if you wanted. Free continental breakfast with good choices. Free Wi-Fi. I would stay here again. Great stop if you're passing through on your Harley.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCA9995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
funnestfamily, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Montrose, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear SCA9995,


Thank you for noticing all the extra things we provide for our traveling friends like the BBQ grills and for your overall feedback. You did forget to mention our motorcycle wash station, that comes in handy to keep all the bugs of the Harley.

Thank You


Yours Truly

Gabby M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
233 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This Days Inn originally was a single property, along with the Red Barn restaurant (next door), back in 1967-68 when they opened together. The pool is a treat because it actually has a true "deep end": 8 feet--& it is heated just enough to make evening swimming enjoyable! We really enjoyed the pool; my husband thought the hot tub was great, too...

The remodeling they accomplished makes great use of the space & lay-out, & is well-appreciated!
The room is very quiet at night, & the King bed is sumptuous :)

Breakfast is not usually a big deal for us, but it is well worth the effort: One can make their own Belgian waffles, & they are perfectly wonderful; there are maple sausage patties, & the orange juice is not watered down! There are many other great items, including scrambled eggs, cereal, fresh fruit, yogurt, etc.

A few of the long-time locals we met told us that when the original "True Grit" with John Wayne was being made in Ridgway & other surrounding San Juan Mountain locations, the Duke stayed here! He was transported to location by train, & ate many a night at the Red Barn! (See my separate review :)

We are thrilled to find a friendly, clean, local place to stay that has such a cool history to boot! We look forward to staying here again soon! :) We were very pleased with the cleanliness of the room & the attention to detail---we tipped our housekeeper :)

Room Tip: We liked being in the end room on the top floor in the separate building, located behind the Red Bar...
See more room tips
Green Features: Yes, we could save water, etc., by only having them change out towels, etc., that we needed replaced.
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
funnestfamily, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Montrose, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Tlewiswatts,


Thank you for sharing such neat info on our property and I am pleased to hear you were able to explore and enjoy our wonderful pool area. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I hope we see you back this way sometime.


Thank You


Yours Truly

Gabby M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We initially spent 2 nights here, then returned a week later for an additional 3 nights over the 4th of July. Hats off to Brandon and Gabby who went out of their way to be welcoming and to accommodate requests. The room was comfortable, with a king bed, refrigerator, microwave, cabinets for food storage, a desk and chair. Multiple electrical outlets available for recharging phones, etc. The pool area was enjoyable for swimming & hot tub. A small picnic table and chairs were outside our room, often used by smokers as well. Location was 2-5 minutes to delicious restaurants. The included breakfast bar had sausage, egg/cheese omelet, waffles, oatmeal, muffins, and yogurt. We will stay there again if we return to Montrose.

Room Tip: We enjoyed staying on the 2nd floor of the added section away from the main building. Note: there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
funnestfamily, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Montrose, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Cathy L,

Finding the right accommodations and planning for a vacation can be very time consuming and we understand that a quick, easy check in is the only way to help our traveling friends start enjoying there travels with out spending more time trying to figure out the planning and tedious stuff that is attached to traveling. I am glad our staff and myself where able to be of assistance.

Thank You

Yours Truly,

Gabby M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We needed somewhere to stay overnight before making our tour into Black Canyon, so we decided on this Days Inn. Parking outside is convenient. We had a good welcome from the receptionist Gabby, and her colleague, were offered a choice of rooms so took a clean and comfortable room with 2 Queen beds. I appreciated the complimentary shave kit so that I could freshen up before dinner. The one problem, was that the shower was only lukewarm - an annoying point that we have found in other Days Inn. Eco savings???
We had dinner in the Red Barn next door - very good.
The breakfast was acceptable - comprising of oatmeal and ready made omelets, the coffee was ok but weak. The morning manager gave us road directions to Black Canyon that were shorter than those offered by our GPS.
Overall - very recommendable.

Room Tip: Get a quieter room further away from the road and car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NIGEL E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
funnestfamily, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Montrose, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Nigel E,

I am very appreciative of the time you took to provide us with your feedback. I hope to serve you again in the future.


Yours Truly,


Gabby M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I decided to stay in Montrose on the 4th of July and a lot of the hotels were sold out or way to expensive. This place was right within our budget and we couldn't of been happier.
Upon check in I was greeted by a very helpful young lady who provided us with the best spots to see the fireworks display in town. Since we had never been to Montrose she printed them out for us so we couldn't get lost.
The room we had was very clean and had plenty of room. We had a king sized bed and it was very comfortable but a bit on the softer side. TV was a newer LCD but didn't have very good reception, there was a little bit of "snow" on all the channels. The shower had good pressure and didn't have any temperature issues but it was built for a short person, if you're six foot tall the shower might be an issue.
The breakfast was like all the hotels now, nothing that would make it unique or anything. The dining room is small and it was very packed and it was sort of a pain to get what you wanted, the selections were spread to far apart.
Overall we would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and not be ashamed.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ELM303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-17542, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Montrose, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear ELM303,

I am pleased to hear from you all of the reviews are a great opportunity for us to know what we are able to improve on as well as to continue with the things we do well with. Thank you for taking time to review us and It means a lot when we know we are recommended it is always the highest compliment.


Thank you

Sincerely,

Gabby M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montrose hotels
0.2 mi away
Red Arrow Inn & Suites
Red Arrow Inn & Suites
#5 of 10 in Montrose
516 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stay Wise Inn Montrose
Stay Wise Inn Montrose
#3 of 10 in Montrose
120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Black Canyon Motel
Black Canyon Motel
#6 of 10 in Montrose
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 10 in Montrose
101 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Montrose
Hampton Inn Montrose
#4 of 10 in Montrose
430 reviews
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Montrose
Super 8 Montrose
#1 of 10 in Montrose
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Montrose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Montrose

Property: Days Inn Montrose
Address: 1417 E Main St, Montrose, CO 81401-5824
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Montrose
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Montrose
#5 Business Hotel in Montrose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Montrose 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Heart of Montrose, and just 5 miles from the airport, The Days Inn is the perfect home away from home. The beautiful 70 room property is just minutes away from Colorado most beautiful landscape—Grand Mesa features over 250 lakes, Gunnison Nation Park, Ridgeway Park, Box Canyon Falls. The rooms at the Days inn give you the felling of home and family, with our tropical outdoor pool and hot tub and homemade cookies every evening in our lobby, the free high speed internet, Complimentary USA Today, and Work desk make it perfect for business travelers. Start your day with our complimentary deluxe breakfast with fresh local fruit, Biscuits and gravy, Waffles, healthy granola cereal and oatmeal. We also allow pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Days Inn Montrose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montrose Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing