We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved this place!”
Review of Ramada Monument

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Monument
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monument
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I was visiting family in Monument with my husband and we stumbled upon this cute hotel and were thoroughly impressed. The rooms had interesting decor and photography of Colorado Trees apparently done by the owner of the hotel, the grounds were beautiful with mature trees and walking paths and the food was excellent at the restaurant on site, Oakleys. It also has a boutique/artsy feel in the lobby and in the rooms. And it was clean and well run. We will stay here every time we return.

Room Tip: The rooms in courtyard seem to have a nice view. Some face the highway and could be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEO-on-the-go, Owner at Ramada Monument, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Wow! You really get it! Thanks for the wonderful review and for taking time to let others know about us. We are trying hard and it is paying off!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (763)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

608 - 614 of 763 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed for a couple of days attending a show in town.
Not your ordinary place - but it was clean - the property is unique and would love to see it in the summer.
The staff was very friendly and the restaurant & bar was good.
I read some earlier reviews that made me wonder about staying - but I would come back again anytime.
They are as "green" as you want to be - we chose only towel service

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scubamancpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEO-on-the-go, Owner at Ramada Monument, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Sundance. We are a unique, independent hotel that does things a little differently. Many people appreciate our approach and the business is growing with repeat customers . Thank you for taking time to write and for coming back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I stayed at this place on my way to a conference in Denver and found it so pleasant. The decor was interesting, the staff was friendly and it was very clean. I also found the restaurant full of happy locals! It is nice to see that it is an independent hotel too. I will be back.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking courtyard and waterfall
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEO-on-the-go, Owner at Ramada Monument, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

I am happy to hear that you appreciate all that Sundance has to offer, especially the staff. We do have the best staff in the world.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I was nervous reading reviews after I had already booked!!! lol.. but I was so pleasantly surprised! The staff was very warm, welcoming, and considerate of us being truck drivers they educated us on where, what, when, and how to walk to local nearby store, and places to eat, and for coffees. We ate onsite at the restaurant for late dinner and the food was average/good with nice price, good portions (wasn't fine-dining quality, but good) our waitress was very kind.. she worked her tail off.. but never approached us rushed, nor did she neglect us with appropriate service. We enjoyed walking around the very large estate, enjoyed the duck pond/lake and the brewery visit within walking distance was nice afternoon visit. Room was painted, cleaned, and décor in an adobe type manner accented with wood/cabin type décor. We loved it. Older tv, and mattress was pillow top yet not as soft as "home".. but for the price (it's not a $150 night accommodations) we was totally pleasantly pleased.. and we would definitely stay again, next time plan on enjoying the heated outdoor pool and large spa!! Was neat watching them shovel snow next to the pool that was nice, steamy and inviting!

Room Tip: We stayed on 2nd floor facing the mountains. Our room had balcony.. but it was small and we chose to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shanl211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEO-on-the-go, Owner at Ramada Monument, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write. Yes, we have a wonderful staff and lots of repeat guests who are on a first name basis with our staff! We actually have quite positive reviews compared to most hotels, earning a certificate of excellence from Trip Advisor. Looking forward to your visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I grew up in the area and was back for a multi-decade class reunion. This property has been opened and closed more times than a book. Built in the early 70's, the most recent iteration has some nice amenities, but they still have work to do on some of the details. A bar and restaurant are located on the premises: the service was good, as was the food. The landscaping creates the atmosphere of a mountain retreat, although you are actually on the Front Range. Please note, if you have never been to Monument, this property is NOT in the mountains, despite the name and pictures on the website. There is also a pool and small gazebo, surrounded by the buildings that make up the complex. We stayed in two south-facing rooms, from which the I-25 traffic is loud and clear; however, you do get a great view of Pikes Peak and the foothills. I assume the east facing rooms are quieter, but there would be no view to speak of. The bathroom fan, which cannot be operated independently of the light, was so loud that you could not stand in or near the bathroom and have a conversation with someone more than five feet away. This was true for both rooms. The rooms are funky early-70's architecture, with which they have done a good job updating. One of the rooms could have used new carpet, as the thin piece covering the floor is worn down. The beds were comfortable and the staff was friendly. Everything appeared clean and was in working order. The continental breakfast is your average hotel fare, with cereals, hard boiled eggs, toast, bagels and coffee/tea. Overall, it's a decent place to stay, and about your only option if you want to be in Monument, but there are some other choices nearby.

Room Tip: Ask to see your room first, I believe some are still being remodeled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DanainDenver W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEO-on-the-go, Owner at Ramada Monument, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Thank you for writing and for your comments. Clean, good service, good food, nice decor, feeling of mountain retreat...I am a bit disappointed that we only got 3 stars. I do want to make a clarification: This USED TO BE a property "In Transition", with several owners since the 70's, but I have owned the property for 7 years and have done all the remodeling and upgrades. It is now a stable and very popular destination due to the wonderful team we have and our consistency. Please come back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

When we first checked in quite disappointed in the location, condition of the property and the room itself. This is quite old and needs a lot of work. We were in Room 115, which did have an outside porch area and faced the pool. Our sliding door would not lock properly, thank heavens we had a large stick in the track.

There is a continental breakfast, wonderful coffee, however it was not replenished in a timely manner, could take over 20 minutes to get the staff to refill items.

The wedding was held at the facility and the staff did a wonderful job!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deborah3302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEO-on-the-go, Owner at Ramada Monument, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

I am glad to hear that the event was a big success, but sorry to hear that you did not get coffee in a timely manner. We have had issues with our sliding doors as they need to be upgraded. Hopefully we can get that done soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Great staff! Super friendly. In a great location when visiting the Air Force Academy. I have already booked my reservations for Graduation week...totally looking forward to it. Super pleased with the restaurant...great food!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vikki O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEO-on-the-go, Owner at Ramada Monument, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Make your plans early because we may already be sold out for Air Force Graduation. I am very pleased that you are coming back and that we lived up to your expectations. Indeed the food at Oakley's is wonderful!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ramada Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Monument

Address: 1865 Woodmoor Dr, Monument, CO 80132-9066 (Formerly Sundance Mountain Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Monument
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monument
Price Range: £52 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Monument 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
$100.00 room deposit due at check-in. Deposit is refunded after check-out provided there are no damages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Monument reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundance Mountain Hotel Monument

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing