We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice historic hippy place B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cliff House Lodge and Hot Tub Cottages
Ranked #1 of 2 Morrison B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

My wife and I love this place. Eclectic, historic, and laid back. If you like Martha Stewart or Paula Deen or voted for Mitt, you probably won't like this place, it's carefree, fun and just plain cool. This place is unlike stuffy uptight Victorian themed B&Bs we've been to that are run by a fossil and smell like ammonia and mothballs. This place oozes the coolness of Red Rocks and a laid back hippy mountain town.
I'll take the occasional wiff of weed over snootiness anyday.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank stickergiant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2013

This past weekend, we stayed here and we really enjoyed it! We stayed here before when the place was not so well run. The new management, Daniel & Angela, have really shaped up the service and the rooms. They were friendly, helpful and so pleasant to deal with. We went to a concert at Red Rocks and we selected this place for the location, it was perfect. They let us check in a little early and we enjoyed a glass of wine on the patio before we went out to dinner in Morrison. The next day, we had a nice hot breakfast, visited with the other guests and headed back to Denver relaxed and refreshed. The rooms were clean, the hot tub was clean and the service was excellent. We will visit again and I would recommend it for a romantic getaway or after a concert at Red Rocks! If you like a cozy romantic spot, this will do the trick!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

I have been coming to the Cliff House for many years and I have seen this historical place have its ups and downs but I do have to say it is on an up streak right now!

In the last few years my stays have gotten fewer and further a part mostly because I didn't really dig the energy that was surrounding the lodge but recently I visited Morrison and I felt like this little hotel was calling to me once again. As I strolled over to see if they had any vacancies I could tell immediately thing were different. The energy around the place was much brighter and more cheerful. The grounds appeared much cleaner then that last time I had visited. When I walked in the main building I could tell they just recently painted, the reception area looked great with beautiful flowers everywhere. I didn't see anyone around so I rang the large captains bell on the desk (it was so much fun to ring that big thing, i recommend doing it just for the giggles). Shortly after a lovely young women came in to greet me. She apologized for not being in the lobby and said she was working else where on the grounds.

I ask if there were any cottages open for the evening and she said yes and that she would show me them if I liked. We then walked around the grounds looking at the available cottages, she chatted with me giving me some history on the lodge. We went into a few cottages that were relatively the same as they were the last time I seen them but some were very different. When I commented on the changes in one of the cottage she said her and a couple friends recently painted and redecorated. She said there were several cottages that were freshly painted. After our tour was done I picked the Rose cottage it was so cute and one of the recently painted ones, you could feel the love that was put into it.

Angela told me that her and her husband, Daniel, lived on property so if i needed anything just to let them know. I had a fabulous evening in my little boudoir with my own private hot tub. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone who wants a unique experience in a European style B&B. Yes the place is old and still need work but it is quite charming and a lovely get away. By the way the breakfast was scrumptious!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Celeste B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

My husband and I have stayed several times at the Cliff House, It is so much better since Angela and Daniel have taken over, They are very nice people and the breakfast is the best, it's all from scratch. The cliff house is 140 years old, so that should tell you something, It's a nice place to go for privacy and your own private hot tub.

Room Tip: The Camelot is my favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunflower-5775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

This place is disgusting!!!! The manager or whatever is pathetic....she acts as if everything is a bother to her and she is above it all. Which I hv put up with before when the place is great and beautiful....or even at the very least ...CLEAN!!! This place is NOT CLEAN!!!!! It is terrible expensive and terribly run down. I didn't even touch the breakfast since I was already grossed out by the accomodations. Listen up Angela....you need to get ahold of yourself and do a better job....lose your nasty attitude and try a little harder at customer service!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank emily k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cliffhouseMorrison, Manager at Cliff House Lodge and Hot Tub Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2013

A business can only do better if the guest raises the attention of the manager when they are unhappy or dissatisfied.

After reading this review I spent some time reviewing my guest log in hopes to discover the person who was so dissatisfied with my service. I try to document all complaints I have received from guest in hopes to correct any and all problems. I have no recorded incidents for December and would like to speak with whomever was so unhappy. I ask that you please contact me so that I can fix the problem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

We live in Colo, and wanted some place we could go that wasn't to far. We went here Labor Day weekend this year. This is a small town rustic, very quaint, private and romantic place. The first time we went here the fireplace wasn't working (wasn't that big of a deal), but due to this they gave us a free stay next time, which really wasn't necessary but very generous of them. We stayed in the Camelot Suite. The suite itself is very rustic and romantic. Has the things you need to stay if you want to cook, (kitchen) Also the small town of Morrison, Co. has a some nice places to eat and visit. The BED in this room is soooo comfortable!!! The best thing for my husband and I was the HOTTUB, totally secluded behind a privacy fence with trees, the moonlight, it's just really beautiful any my husband just mentioned "the breakfast, the breakfast, the breakfast lol. We had such a great time we booked New Years Eve this year again. Let me say this though quickly. If your looking for "high class" digs (eg. parking, room service etc.), this isn't the place for you. But if your looking for warm, romantic, very friendly and accomodating people this is your spot!!!

Room Tip: The only room we've stayed in is the "Camelot Room" which is their top room and I'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank debi b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

The rates at this place used to be considerably lower. I thought when they raised the rates, it would mean that they had done some remodeling and repairs. It turns out it is the same old musty, outdated decor at a MUCH higher price. I can't imagine staying there on a show night when the rates double. If they want to charge this much, they really need to step up their game on accomodations, service, and cleanliness. A bed and breakfast is hardly that without the breakfast part. It is a glorified old motel. We used to stay there all the time when the rates were lower. Now that they are sky high, I would rather find a nice clean place with a hot tub somewhere else for far less money. Sorry guys, you lost us.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank LilMoose77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morrison
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Denver - Southwest/Lakewood
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden
7.1 mi away
Table Mountain Inn
Table Mountain Inn
#1 of 18 in Golden
1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Best Western Denver Southwest
7.1 mi away
Hyatt House Denver/Lakewood at Belmar
6.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Lakewood Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff House Lodge and Hot Tub Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff House Lodge and Hot Tub Cottages

Address: 121 Stone St, Morrison, CO 80465-3017
Region: United States > Colorado > Morrison
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Morrison
Price Range: £173 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cliff House Lodge and Hot Tub Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cliff House was taken over by a new management team at the end of July 2012. New Innkeepers, Angela Dowdy-Bernhardt and Daniel Bernhardt, have moved in to the Main House and have brought with them their love for both the Cliff House and those that visit it. Their outgoing nature and attention to guests are just two traits that will help insure a fabulous stay. Angela and Daniel always strive to provide a clean, warm and welcoming environment, perpetually seeking feedback as to how they may provide the best stay possible. Come see all the positive change that has taken place and help us continue to improve!The Cliff House Lodge is a popular boutique bed and breakfast located in Morrison, Colorado. Nestled in a peaceful and serene gated enclave featuring natural and manicured gardens, it's within walking distance of many of the best attractions and restaurants the town has to offer as well as driving distance to nearby ski areas. The 8 private and themed cottages surround the mansion on the property. Each non-smoking cottage tastefully combines the charm of the past with modern amenities, including indoor Jacuzzis or private outdoor hot tubs. Mornings at the Cliff House start with a tempting gourmet breakfast delivered right to your cottage door. The menu varies, but it’s always a delicious beginning to your day. For guests arriving Friday or Saturday, your visit begins with a bottle of champagne chilled and waiting in your cottage for you. Come spend your next romantic getaway or Red Rocks adventure with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cliff House Lodge and Hot Tub Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff House Lodge And Hot Tub Cottages Hotel Morrison
Country Inn Morrison
Morrison Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing