We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for all ages” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dinosaur Ridge

Dinosaur Ridge
Book In Advance
More Info
US$720.00*
and up
Private Tour: Denver Foothills Explorer
Ranked #2 of 13 things to do in Morrison
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dinosaur Ridge contains over 300 Cretaceous dinosaur footprints, a few dozen Jurassic dinosaur bones, plus many other trace fossils from ripple marks to plant impressions. At the Visitor Center, you can visit the gift shop, sluice mine for your own mineral or fossil finds, or take a Trek through Time in our exhibit hall.
Morrison, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great for all ages”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Get the tour so you know what you're looking at. Tour is cheap and worth it. Great fun for the whole family.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobeTrekkinGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    125
    43
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Culpeper, Virginia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Opt for the Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

At a price of $5, you can't go wrong taking the little tour out of this attraction. The mini bus doesn't take you far, but our guide was knowledgeable and made the short half hour tour lively and informative. You can hike up on your own to look at the dino footprints, but you won't learn as much if you venture on your own.

Don't miss the gift shop. There is a nice selection at very reasonable prices. I bought a large hunk of Rose Quartz (about eight inches tall) for $45. Unheard of! We also bought a couple of dino teeth reproductions (several inches in length) for only $9 each.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Scriptspring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Really unique- fun outing for families”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is such a treasure to have in the area. Where else would you be able to look closely at so many dinosaur tracks in their original environment?

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank EvergreenCOmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
176 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Neat and also see Red rocks Park very close!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

It is worth the small hike as it is on a paved road, it is amazing what lived here way before us,also go to the dinosar Museam right in Morrison ,have lunch or breakfast at the BLUE COW ,UNBEVIEVABLE FOOD after that go up to REDROCKS it is awsome,it is a hidden gem in the area , vist the Rock and ROLL tour at the theater, it is all free and the rocks are beautifull, plenty of Wildlife if you bring Binocs .It great also right a fter a snowstorm ,the ice formations off the rocks are great and never the same.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank mtnmncolo_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dyer, Indiana
Level Contributor
89 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Informative, fun visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

We had two adults and five kids for this visit, and we all enjoyed our time at Dinosaur Ridge. Our guide was very informative, she knew lots about the area, fossils, etc. Unless you are a serious hiker, I strongly recommend doing the bus tour rather than attempting to walk it! Decent prices, they also had a yearly pass on Groupon for $26 which is a good deal. Gift shop, visitors center and museum are all on the small side, but still interesting.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank otcarla28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Dinosaur Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing