We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best family vacation we have found in last 20 years!”
Review of Deer Valley Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nathrop
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Deer Valley Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

This is our 3rd year to stay for a week at Deer Valley Ranch (2 - 60 yr olds, 2 - 40 yr olds, 3 teens -17-14, 1 - 9 yr old). The food is family style 3 meals/ day & 5 star! There are activities for all age groups, horse back riding - all ages, hiking, pool, reading in the lodge, teen rock climbing, etc. every day something different. Christian flavor to all of it. The whole staff has always been delightful. Yep, we already have our reservation s made for next year (and our teenagers would not have it any other way)! [Nor would we...]

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3nails4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bevearlyjo, Front Office Manager at Deer Valley Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

We are so happy you will be returning for a fourth summer! We love getting to know the families who return year after year to vacation with us. It is families like yours that make Deer Valley such a special place!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2013

Ours was a family get together with ages from 3 months to 73 years of age and we all had a wonderful time. There were babysitters that the kids loved who made it possible for the adults to do things like hiking and trail riding, and there were classes teaching beginners how to ride. The staff was friendly and accommodating. We have no trouble recommending this experience.
burleigh

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Burleigh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bevearlyjo, Front Office Manager at Deer Valley Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Thank you for your kind review! We are so glad to hear that your family members of all ages enjoyed your stay at Deer Valley. We hope to see you here again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I have been coming to Deer Valley as long as I can remember. It is such a joy to watch my own children explore and unplug in the same places I did as a child. There is so much to do with the whole family and this time my boys were old enough to participate in Ranch organized kid activities. The entire Deer Valley experience is wholesome and I never once worried about the kindness or qualification of the people I was leaving my with.

One of my friends from college joined us on this trip. She said she had never been anywhere else where not only the staff but ALL of the other guests smiled and waved wherever we went.

We all had an amazing time and can't wait to come back this Christmas!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bryna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bevearlyjo, Front Office Manager at Deer Valley Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

We are so happy to hear that your family enjoyed another wonderful week at Deer Valley. We love the fact that kids love to come here and that families grow up with such special memories of time spent at Deer Valley. We can't wait to enjoy another week with your wonderful kids!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Our family vacation was our best visit to the Ranch through the years. Our group of 16 ranged in age from 7 months to 76 years of age - all had a great time. The prime objective for the week was to encourage family time together (in various little groups) without the normal pressures and distractions of standard home life. Our agenda-less daily schedules allowed this objective to be achieved.

The daily fresh activities lists offered by the Ranch encouraged each person to go do what they wanted to (parental guidance included). Safety and appropriate social behavior are understood to always be in effect in the Christian Ranch atmosphere. Highlights were:
- The 4 high school girls discovered the horses and riding (and wranglers).
- The men (and ladies) discovered trout fishing. Fishing in 3 area lakes was bountiful with
trout, and great hiking with gorgeous scenery.
- Shopping and "treasure" purchasing was very good in nearby Salida. The ? Monkey in
Salida is a "have to be visited" store. I was astonished to pick up a heavy crystal piece for
$20 -- is European crystal valued much higher. Having lived in Asia, I saw and bought a
large, heavy, beautiful Indian bracelet -- value is much more than I paid. Wow!
- Each of our three cabins was spacious, very clean, comfortable, good views of birds and
animals; and were visited daily by Ranch staff. Fran in the office can help you figure out
in advance who stays where for the week.
- The Ranch dining room was great every meal (buttermilk biscuits) with food variety.
- If you have a family business meeting, the room over the warm spring-water swimming pool is perfect.

Deer Valley Ranch is one of those rare places that is better than remembered on each return trip. There was even a young elk with horns in velvet around the Ranch.

John Shaw

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank john_s30196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bevearlyjo, Front Office Manager at Deer Valley Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that all family members of every age enjoyed their time at the Ranch while finding their "niche." We are blessed with so many things to do, from horseback riding to hiking to fishing and more. It truly is a place for the whole family to enjoy, and we are glad your family was with us this summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Deer Valley ranch is a place you can always come home to. The grounds are beautiful, the staff is excellent, and the food is delicious. The activities are so amazing for families of all ages. My kids 10 and 13 could have independence yet they were always safe.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cco1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bevearlyjo, Front Office Manager at Deer Valley Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

We are so glad you found us to be a "home away from home." We hope you will come back and enjoy Deer Valley again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We started our first adventure at Deer Valley Ranch for the first time in 1993 with the whole Mcgehee family. We have visited there 4 times in the last 20 years and each time has been so much fun and so rewarding.. There is so much for everyone to do, whether you are a couple or a big group. The staff are so friendly and really care about you having a great time and make you feel so important and wanted. The christian atmosphere is one of feeling safe and belonging in whatever you choose to do whether its riding a horse, fishing, rafting, etc. Its so peaceful and yet so busy but the attitude of all there is one of doing what God has in store for you each day and enjoying the beauty of God's creations.....thanks deer valley for such a blessed time......

Room Tip: If traveling as a couple the lodge is the place to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bob m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bevearlyjo, Front Office Manager at Deer Valley Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Thank you for coming! Families like yours keep us going and give us the reason for what we do!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We have been going to Deer Valley for several years. Our kids are now teenagers and they always ask to go back. There are so many activities and the children and teen programs are excellent. We enjoy the outstanding fishing. There are hikes for all levels and the horse program is excellent. The square dance, western party and hymn sing are also family favorites. The food is "outstanding" and you will not go hungry. It is so fun to get to know all the college students that are employed each summer and learn their stories. It is truly an amazing week that keeps us coming back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pr0Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bevearlyjo, Front Office Manager at Deer Valley Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Thank you for your response! We do our very best to make sure our guests have the best week of their summer. We are so glad to have families like yours whose kids grow up knowing Deer Valley!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Deer Valley Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Valley Ranch

Address: 16825 County Road 162, Nathrop, CO 81236-7726
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Nathrop
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Nathrop
Price Range: £54 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Destination Christian family guest ranch, south-central Colorado, located between two 14,000’ peaks. Horseback riding, mountain biking, whitewater rafting, hiking, fishing, children & teen programs, hot springs pools and outdoor hot tubs, outdoor meals, great food. Families, singles, couples and family reunions. Discount weeks. Open year round. September to May great for groups – church, ski and corporate - and weekend cabin rentals. Making memories since 1954. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing