We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Do-it-yourself vacations.”
Review of Deer Valley Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nathrop
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Deer Valley Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We find that "self-catering" works best for our family, and Deer Valley Ranch, in the wintertime, is nearly perfect for this. The kitchens are all very well appointed, the cabins are cozy.

I love the staff; they are friendly, flexible, and helpful.

It's a good base for skiing at either Monarch or Cooper, both roughly an hour's drive from the ranch.

Room Tip: Tell Bev what you want/need in a room, and she'll set you up properly. I'd rather not say w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Scott E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bevearlyjo, Front Office Manager at Deer Valley Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us! We appreciate the feedback and look forward to your next stay at Deer Valley!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2013

Stayed in a cabin over the thanksgiving holiday and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It was so quiet and relaxing. We instantly regretted not staying another night or two or three longer. The cabin was clean and well equipped with towels and linens. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Turret is secluded but gas fire and furnace were hard to regulate temps in winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BKR57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bevearlyjo, Front Office Manager at Deer Valley Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

We are so glad you enjoyed your Thanksgiving stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We've been trying to get an extended family getaway for quite some time and the weekend we just shared was simply amazing. We rented 3 cabins, went to the hot tub and the hot springs, had cozy fires, cooked an early Thanksgiving meal, sang, talked and renewed. The staff, as always, is very helpful and ready with suggestions. This is the fourth time my husband and I have been here and there's obviously a reason we wanted to share this place with others. Bring you books, your food to cook up in your kitchen, a swim suit and plans for a nap.

Room Tip: Alpine is one of the largest with vaulted ceilings, room to sleep 8 and plenty of space to share you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColoradoDreammaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bevearlyjo, Front Office Manager at Deer Valley Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

We're so glad you enjoyed a lovely, relaxing time here at Deer Valley! Thank you for taking the time to write a review on us. We look forward to having you back with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Awesome place to stay, nights cooled down and had great views of the mountains, sky, and stars. The cabins were very cozy, comfortable, and felt like home! I enjoyed the privacy of the cabin due to the fact they are spaced apart from the next. I also am very grateful that Deer Valley Ranch allows pets. I am looking forward to the next trip to the mountains and Deer Valley Ranch.

Room Tip: Let the staff know what your needs are and they will guide you in the right direction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bevearlyjo, Front Office Manager at Deer Valley Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

We are so glad you enjoyed your recent stay in one of Deer Valley's cabins. Thank you for your time and thought in reviewing us and we look forward to your return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Can't go wrong with Deer Valley for any occasion. Highly recommended in the Fall when crowds are less and mountains are at their most beautiful. We went for the fishing which is excellent but the mountain horse back rides also are very rewarding.

Room Tip: All about the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bevearlyjo, Front Office Manager at Deer Valley Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

We're so glad you enjoyed your Fall Getaway with us.Thank you for taking the time to review the Ranch. We hope you will return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We have been coming for as many summers as we can since 1976. Need we say more?
But, we will! We love Deer Valley Ranch. There is a feel of warmth, friendliness and beauty
that keeps you coming back. The owners and staff are the best anywhere. The food delicious
and plentiful. The opportunity is there for wonderful horses, hikes, rafting or sitting and enjoying
the view. Deer Valley Ranch is always our first choice for a vacation spot.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Karen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bevearlyjo, Front Office Manager at Deer Valley Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Oh, we are so glad Deer Valley is your first choice for a Vacation Spot! Thank you for posting and we look forward to your next stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Excellent vacation experience. The staff are all friendly and helpful. The horseback riding options were worth the trip. Plus there are lots of options if riding is not your priority. Beautiful setting. The cabins are spacious and very comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bevearlyjo, Front Office Manager at Deer Valley Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

We are so glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us! Thank you for posting and we look forward to having you back with us in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nathrop
16.5 mi away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
8.9 mi away
Best Western Vista Inn
Best Western Vista Inn
#1 of 3 in Buena Vista
496 reviews
13.4 mi away
Monarch Mountain Lodge
Monarch Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Monarch
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort
8.8 mi away
Surf Chateau
Surf Chateau
#1 of 8 in Buena Vista
207 reviews
12.5 mi away
Mountain Goat Lodge
Mountain Goat Lodge
#1 of 6 in Salida
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Valley Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Valley Ranch

Address: 16825 County Road 162, Nathrop, CO 81236-7726
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Nathrop
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Nathrop
Price Range: £56 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Destination Christian family dude and guest ranch, south central Colorado, located between two 14,000’ peaks. Horseback riding, whitewater rafting, hiking, fishing, children & teen programs, hot springs pools and outdoor hot tubs, outdoor meals, great food. Families, singles, couples and family reunions. Discount weeks. Open year round. September to May great for groups – church, ski and corporate - and weekend cabin rentals. Making memories since 1954. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing