We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect vacation spot.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Deer Valley Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nathrop
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Deer Valley Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The perfect vacation spot.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Our first visit to DVR was in 1990, we have returned often since then. We love everything about DVR; the food, the rustic setting, the friendly Christian atmosphere, the many activities, the wonderful staff, the beauty of the mountains, and on and on. I know we will return again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjb9581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bevearlyjo, Front Office Manager at Deer Valley Ranch, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thanks for reviewing us! Good to hear you had such a positive experience-- hope to have you back around the ranch soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    25
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
132
24
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Everything exceeded my already high expectations! We rode horses every day except one. I especially loved riding to the Wrangler's Breakfasts on Monday and Thursday. The kids loved the riding too, but also the pool, the western town, meeting new friends, the hayride, even watching Grandma and Grandpa try square dancing. Can't say enough about the amazing staff and food. We felt totally pampered. When we returned home and went to a restaurant, the contrast was drastic. All of us are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sherradav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bevearlyjo, Front Office Manager at Deer Valley Ranch, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thanks for the feedback! Sounds like you had a great week here with us, we're so glad! Looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Deer Valley has: beautiful scenery, amazing food, warm, clean pools, guided hikes, horseback riding for every level, friendly.helpful staff, comfortable accommodations, great kids programs, and lots of love and special care. I've always felt especially cared for by the attentive staff and it's just beautiful there! We'll be back, for sure!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bevearlyjo, Front Office Manager at Deer Valley Ranch, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you, Amy, for sharing here all the things you love about Deer Valley. We are so glad you feel the ranch is your favorite place in the world! Wow! We appreciate your review and look forward to having you back at the ranch again and again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purvis
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

I found this family dude ranch 4 years ago & we have returned each year since it's discovery. It has a wonderful Christian flavor to it. All of my family, 10 yr old, 15 yr old, 17 yr old, 18 yr old, 44 yr old dad, 41 yr old mom, 66 yr old grandmother, and myself, 63 year old granddad, look forward to our 1 week vacation at the base of the Continental Divide below the Chalk Cliffs every year. The staff is always very friendly and try so hard to please my family. The preteen, teen, and adult programs are so very fun, from horseback riding, river rafting, fly fishing, swimming, hot tubs, history lessons, hay rides for each group, western talent show, Sunday Western Worship Service, trail breakfasts, families & staff softball game, fires in the lodge each morning, all the meals in the lodge that my teens would never miss (neither would any of the adults), the reading area in the lodge if you just want to kick back & relax for several days... IT'S JUST WONDERFUL. Thanks, Mr. John Woolmington and all your staff for all you do for your guests. Yep, BEST FAMILY VACATION I HAVE FOUND IN 63 YEARS!

Room Tip: The cabins are excellent to good. (Ask the staff to help. They are very trustworthy.) The lodge is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3nails4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bevearlyjo, Front Office Manager at Deer Valley Ranch, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
We so appreciate your taking the time to write about your recent vacation at Deer Valley! Thank you for the details you shared about the activities, food and accommodations. We hope your review will encourage others to discover the great atmosphere and service that is Deer Valley Ranch. We hope to serve you and your family again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Springs, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This was our fourth family vacation at Deer Valley. Our grandkids keep asking to come back. This year only 12 of our family could make it. We all had a great time. The horseback riding was a favorite. Great white water raft trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Normans27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bevearlyjo, Front Office Manager at Deer Valley Ranch, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your recent stay at Deer Valley including activities like horseback riding and rafting. Thank you very much for your great feedback about your time at our ranch. We look forward to having your family back for a fifth time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

What an amazing place for a vacation. My family of 6 spent 4 days there in June of 2014 for a family reunion. It is truly a spectacular destination and vacation location. We were interested in building lasting memories and legacy with our four children, and this is the perfect place to do it.

The entire Woolmington Family and the staff at Deer Valley are amazing, and they understand what a dude ranch vacation should look and feel like. The food servers and preparers are excellent at their craft as well, my family enjoyed some excellent Colorado home cooking with some of the most amazing and attentive service I have ever received.

We are intentional about vacations and Deer Valley Ranch is intentional at making your experience a lifelong memory, one that you will want to reproduce year after year. If you are looking for an excellent vacation in the mountains of Colorado, look no further than Deer Valley Dude Ranch.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bevearlyjo, Front Office Manager at Deer Valley Ranch, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you so much for sharing about your recent stay at Deer Valley Ranch! We are delighted you enjoyed the service, food and entire ranch experience here. We look forward to serving you and your family again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

This was my second time to visit the ranch, and I enjoyed it just as much if not more than my first time! I wanted to bring family and friends up there to show them how beautiful and fun it is, but unfortunately they were not able to afford it - it is a bit pricey for single young adults, but I stayed in the lodge which includes meals so I felt it was worth it. There are lots of things to see while you are there and the friendly staff and Wranglers (typically college aged kids) provide lots of laughs and entertainment during your stay. You can participate in all of the activities that they offer, such as hiking trips and softball games and entertainment, but you also can do your own thing and hike the surrounding trails and mountains, visit the nearby hotsprings, or go to St Elmos to feed the chipmunks! The christian environment is a unique experience and one I appreciate because you don't find it too often! The one thing I missed was the nightly prayer before dinner that was done on my previous trip, but we just said our own prayer at our table. When I have children I will definitely bring them here to partake in the fun experience. There is nothing like the mountains to bring you peace and keep you in awe of Gods creation!

Room Tip: Cabins are the best because they are peaceful and spread out across the ranch. However, staying in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJ N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bevearlyjo, Front Office Manager at Deer Valley Ranch, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
We're so glad you enjoyed your second visit to Deer Valley Ranch. We also appreciate your taking the time to write a review. We hope to see you back for a third visit in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nathrop
16.5 mi away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
8.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Vista Inn
BEST WESTERN Vista Inn
#1 of 3 in Buena Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
13.4 mi away
Monarch Mountain Lodge
Monarch Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Monarch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort
8.8 mi away
Surf Chateau
Surf Chateau
#1 of 8 in Buena Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
8.0 mi away
Buffalo Peaks Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Valley Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Valley Ranch

Property: Deer Valley Ranch
Address: 16825 County Road 162, Nathrop, CO 81236-7726
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Nathrop
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Nathrop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Destination Christian family dude and guest ranch, south central Colorado, located between two 14,000’ peaks. Horseback riding, whitewater rafting, hiking, fishing, children & teen programs, hot springs pools and outdoor hot tubs, outdoor meals, great food. Families, singles, couples and family reunions. Discount weeks. Open year round. September to May great for groups – church, ski and corporate - and weekend cabin rentals. Making memories since 1954. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing