We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax or Exercise or Both”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nathrop
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2012

The resort is spotless in appearance. Our room high above on the hill was gigantic, with an unbelievable view of the mountains. No. 20 I recall. Out your door is hiking, biking, climbing, or just soaking in the hot springs pools or in the river bed, which I recommend. Be careful climbing on the slippery rocks, but well worth it. Restaurant on site with convention hall great for any occasion.We will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goldfisher132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,708)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,472 - 1,478 of 1,708 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2012

Jus spent a weekend at Mt Princeton - the trip was a surprise for my visit home from Afghanistan. From the online reservations to special requests and the actual visit the ntire trip was spectacular. The facility has been very well updated, the staff is unbelievably professional and friendly, I cannot speak highly enough about our weekend there. This is definitely a new annual trip!

Room Tip: For couples we suggest the lodge, it is great - for the family we suggest the cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpthewiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort is a bit off the main trail but is definitely worth the drive. We were celebrating our 25th Anniversary and wanted to visit a Hot Springs. We weren't able to stay at the lodge but they looked beautiful. The view at this place is hard to describe.. So peaceful and nestled in the mountains. We went just for the Hot Springs but said we should plan a Christmas family get together here. The springs were a good temperature. There were 3 different pools so you could choose the temp you want. There are changing rooms at the lower and upper pools. The upper pool is geared more for families with a small waterslide and floaties. There are also lots of beach chairs to relax on. The lower springs is a warmer spring and is nestled along the river so as you sit in the springs you can relax to the sound of the river slowing and it is as if you were in Heaven. You can walk in the river as it is shallow. There is a little store to buy souvenirs and snacks. Looks like there was horse riding available near by. We didn't try the restaurant since we were just there for the afternoon.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Idano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Some of our best vacation stops have been by chance and our stop at Mt. Princeton Hot Springs was one of these. This is a beautiful Lodge nestled in a magestic setting. We enjoyed many of the hot spring pools and made time for the steam room. This was such a relaxing break from hiking and driving in the mountains.
With that said, what made this stay so much more enjoyable for us is the people. Not just the other guests we met but the many staff workers throughout this resort. Entering this grand lodge, we were greeted by Joyce - Guest Services who gave us an assortment of options to choose from for our stay and could not have been more friendly. She was so helpful sorting out our choices.
Inside the Lodge, we stopped at the bar and met Megan, another angel that took time to enlighten us on some of the finer points of the area and also how to enjoy the many pools at the resort. These tips were so helpful. She made us feel at home so we had dinner right at the bar and enjoyed the company of fellow guests, the food was excellent.
I think it's easy to find places w/ clean sheets and nice amenities but the real pleasure of a good experience is the staff. The personality of people like Joyce, Megan and so many more (whose names I can't remember) that treat you like friends is the key and why we truly love Mt Princeton Hot Springs. thank you.

Room Tip: Bring your flip-flops when walking out to the Hot Springs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol-Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We have stayed at a few hot springs in Colorado, so wasn't quite sure what to expect here, but we will definitely be back and have declared it one of our favorite hot springs. Pleasant surprise and relaxing mini-vacation.

CHECK-IN

We arrived a bit early (around noon). So didn't expect our room to be ready, but we were given wristbands for the pools and a map and asked to check back at 3 PM (regular check in time) or have the spa desk call back in and check in. When we came back at 3 PM, our room was still not quite ready, but we were checked in about 3:25 PM. With your room rate, you receive pool access for day of check-in and day of check-out, so can come early even if rooms aren't ready yet, and can stay in the pools after check-out time if you would like.

ROOMS
This is a fairly large property with a variety of room options. We booked online directly through hotel and chose a Cliffside two queen room (King rooms were sold out). Rate was $134 for a Sunday night (including pool access for two days).

The Cliffside rooms are up the Mountain from the pools and lodge. They have a deck with beautiful views, but will require driving back and forth from the main lodge and pools (or a long walk back with a steep incline). They also have lodge rooms which would be close to the main pools. And the "hillside rooms" which looked a little bit run down, but they were near the upper pools with the waterslide. (this pool area was closed when we were there).

Final lodging choice are the various cabins. These are scattered throughout the property. Some are really close to the hotsprings/pools within easy walking distance and others were on the road up to the Cliffside rooms and Hillside rooms. So I would suggest looking at the map on the website/and call to make sure you understand where your cabin is if you have a preference.

As mentioned our room was in the Cliffside rooms. Quite spacious, clean, and updated. Amenities include refrigerator, coffee machine, hair dryer, flat screen TV (50+ Channels), Air conditioning/heat. There was plenty of hanging space and drawers/shelves. Bathroom was nice with usual shampoo/conditioner/body wash/lotion. Beds were comfortable with nice linens and plenty of pillows. There is also a screen/sliding door that leads out to a deck with table and chairs for each room. The deck is not private (it is one long deck along the front of the Cliffside building). Beautiful views. (Pictures are posted).

HOT SPRINGS/POOLS

There are three different pool areas: The spa/adult area (16+), the historic bath house/pool/river area, and the upper pool area.

The upper pool area has a waterslide and seems like kids would enjoy, although was closed for the season when we were there. The main bath house/pool area is also kid friendly and there are two larger pools there, along with river access. Just be aware that river access would require a little bit of rock scrambling down and climbing back out. But there are little "pools" that people have made by rearranging rocks so it is pretty cool. We didn't attempt it but saw families enjoying it.

We spent our time at the newer spa area/pools. Loved it. Very uncrowded, very serene and relaxing. This area is only for resort guests age 16+ (No day use). It is a little bit convoluted to walk there even with the resort map if you are in the upper parking lot. Just ask along the way . We did realize there was limited parking closer to the spa area which we used after the first morning.

The spa itself offers free lockers to overnight guests and free towels (and they aren't stingy with the towels, you can get them at the desk, in the locker room or poolside with no one keeping track of your towels or charging a deposit etc. which is nice). Locker room has showers with amenities such as shampoo, conditioner, body wash, plus things like shaving cream and razors. It also has a swimsuit spinner/dryer which is always nice.

The whole spa facility is lovely with a lobby/fireplace, juice bar (offering juices, wine, sodas and light snacks), spa services (reasonably priced from around $65 for a 1/2 hour massage to $200+ for the works), and a free steam shower and dry sauna.

As for the pools, there is one larger pool which is warm, but not too hot. Perfect for swimming or just floating around. There are three smaller "waterfall pools" off to the side which go from hot to lesser temps as they go down. There is also a small very cold "plunge pool" just outside the steam room and sauna. Plenty of loungers/chairs available when we were there. All the pools are very clean and odorless. They obviously do great upkeep especially with the fall leaves coming down. I even saw them skimming the pool with a couple aspen leaves.

FOOD/RESTAURANTS

At the main lodge there is a bar with a happy hour from 2-5. We had a drink while waiting to check in. Nice outdoor patio and meadow there as well. We also had dinner there one night. Prime rib was very thick cut and good. The goat cheese salad was good too. They also have breakfast and lunch. If not eating at the lodge, you can drive to Buena Vista (20-25 minutes) or Salida (30-40 minutes).

OTHER NOTES
- We went up to St. Elmo ghost town on day. The store there was closed for the season, but just wandered around for a little bit. There is also a hiking trail on the way up there.
- Bring a small flashlight if wandering around the hotsprings area at night. Although the pool was well lit at dark, the little hot springs on the side are not.

Room Tip: If you want an excellent view, I would say Cliffside. If you want to be able to walk to the hotspri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank izzyblizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Loved the hot springs. We didn't go into the river/stream to make our own little hot tub, but it was fun to watch and I wish we had. The pool was a perfect temperature. The cabin was welcoming, clean and comfortable - more than adequate. We had a great time with no complaints. (Didn't eat on-premises.)

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the spa or to the stream. We asked to be changed because the first room they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank AmyTPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Mt. Princeton is an easy drive from Denver via Hwy. 70 or Hwy. 285. We stayed in the new cabins which are comfortable, clean with nice amenities. It is not the 'Ritz' but perfect for a mountain stay! The views are perfect. We sat on the cabin deck enjoying the sunset when a family of deer came by for a visit. The new spa was wonderful (ask for Sharon)! It is nice they have separated the hot spring pools for adults and children. Everything is walking distance. We recommend the drive to St. Elmo. Also, plan for a day hike along the way. There are plenty of opportunities. We also recommend horse back riding at their stables. My husband said it was the best horse back ride he has done. Be sure to bring your camera!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denver45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nathrop
8.1 mi away
Best Western Vista Inn
Best Western Vista Inn
#1 of 3 in Buena Vista
511 reviews
16.6 mi away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
14.4 mi away
Monarch Mountain Lodge
Monarch Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Monarch
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salida
7.9 mi away
Surf Chateau
Surf Chateau
#1 of 8 in Buena Vista
217 reviews
7.6 mi away
No photo provided
Rivers Mountain Motel
#5 of 18 in Buena Vista
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort

Address: 15870 County Road 162, Nathrop, CO 81236-9703
Region: United States > Colorado > Nathrop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nathrop
Price Range: £100 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gorgeous natural oasis surrounded by towering peaks. Your perfect getaway, with every amenity. Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort is where you can do it all. Satisfy your quest for adventure, experience the healing powers of Colorado hot springs, and indulge in pampering spa treatments. Unlimited outdoor recreation alternatives for every interest, in every season, at every level. Gourmet meals, choice lodging, and our welcoming staff await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Hotel Nathrop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing