We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Real Colorado, Hidden Gem” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nathrop
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Real Colorado, Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

This natural hot springs location in Nathrop, CO is a hidden gem in the real mountains of Colorado. If you need luxury 5-star accommodations, this isn't the place for you. However, if you appreciate the rustic elegance of amenities in the middle of the beautiful Colorado mountains in mining land, then you would appreciate the slate tile, electricity, and basic accommodations. The resort has come leaps and bounds from where it was in the 80s, and is now a coveted wedding venue. The cliffside rooms are motel style, but somewhat remote so it doesn't matter. The patio has great views and the walking distance to the slide pool is great. The lodge has decent food with fair prices and has a surprisingly swanky feel. It's as modern as it gets near Mt. Princeton. If you're high maintenance, you don't belong near Mt. Antero. This place is for real Coloradoans or visitors who want a taste of the less sophisticated, but underrated outdoor lifestyle.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alyssaskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtprincetonagent, Manager at Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to take a moment to thank you, both for your business and this well written review.

Since 2005 we have worked tirelessly to renovate our rooms and have made updates to the resort as a whole. It is our goal to provide guests with the most comfortable and enjoyable stay as possible.

It is such pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your time spent at Mt. Princeton Hot Springs Resort and that you were able to truly take advantage of the beauty that surrounds us.

We hope to see you again sometime in the very near future. Be sure to introduce yourself to our staff and management the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    640
    449
    182
    93
    61
See reviews for
515
521
37
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (481)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013 via mobile

Everyone was so nice and helpful! We stayedin the cliff side rooms. They were very nice and spacious and the view from the room is amazing. The resort is very spread out, I'm sure this is nice in the summer months but in the winter be prepared to drive to the pools,lodge... The hot springs were very nice and clean! Make sure you start out in the spa and club building. They are just for guest staying overnight and they are much nicer than the historic bathhouse. If you forget your toothbrush, razor, sunscreen...they have all this for your disposal. If you eat at the restaurant make sure you try the bread, they have someone make it fresh everyday for them and its awesome!! Enjoyed my time and will be back!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank silverstreak32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtprincetonagent, Manager at Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind words and your patronage. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed yourselves while staying the the resort.

We hope that you are able to visit again soon, please make sure to introduce yourself the next time you are in the area. Our staff and management love getting to know our repeat guests.

Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

Mount Princeton is a wonderful getaway. I have been there several times and stayed in all there different rooms including the cabins. Over the years I have never had a bad experience, and seen many improvement be put into the resort. It is a great place. One of the best I have been to.

Room Tip: the cabins are great for large groups.. Cliff side rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scorebane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtprincetonagent, Manager at Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Mt. Princeton Hot Springs Resort would like to take this time to thank you for patronage and this review.

It is wonderful hearing the opinions of repeat guests and just want you to know that we are so very thankful for you.

We hope to see you again sometime in the future, please be sure to introduce yourself to our friendly staff and management the next time you are in the area, we would love the opportunity to thank you in person.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

We have been to Mt. Princeton hot springs and spa 6 times ib the last 4 years. My husband and I got married here also. Everything was wonderful we love this place! We had a perfect wedding with perfect service! Love the spa too!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gon14n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtprincetonagent, Manager at Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time spend at Mt. Princeton Hot Springs Resort

The Historic Bath House was built in the late 1800’s. We have done our best to keep the historical value of the building intact while still creating a relaxing environment for guests to enjoy. The Spa and Club opened in February 2012. It is something we designed with our overnight guests in mind and we are very proud of what we are now able to offer.

It is great that you have had the opportunity to enjoy both of these venues and we hope you will be back to experience Mt. Princeton Hot Springs Resort at its finest, time and time again.

Please introduce yourself to our staff and management during your next visit. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buena Vista, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

I have read some of the negative reviews on this site and I am convinced that they were made by people that no one can make happy. Mt. Princeton is an absolutely amazing resort getaway!!!!. The views are breathtaking and the resort was top notch.

We have been spending New Years Eve at the resort for several years now and have never been disappointed. The staff was professional, kind, polite, informative and fun. We attended the dinner and we were amazed. The setting and service were beyond expectations, the dining staff was very well dressed, polite and informative. The dinner was absolutely delicious with many neat extras.

After dinner it was off to the New Years Eve party. FUN!!!! Again, the staff was spot on with everything. There was great seating and an amazing band. Plenty of food, drinks and party favors made the evening .

This is absolutely beautiful resort in the most amazing part of Colorado. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keverson1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

85% of the reviews are spot on - Our two cents:

Colorado is special to us and our family. We have been wanting to check this place out for years - This Christmas we went.

The setting is stunning - We stayed in a "Cliff Side Room" Beautiful views, you share the
porch with everyone else. The rooms are farely new and they need a vibe - too plain. Take pictures of the area, guest enjoying the "resort" etc.. frame them and put them on the walls.

We checked out the cabins - very cool! Short walk to the Spa. We will stay in a cabin next time
and cook our own food.

House cleaning consist of 16 year old kids - so you know what to expect,... I remember how i kept my room when i was 16.

Overall Staff - Very friendly and helpful.

New dining lodge was nice - they need to hide the wait staff station from view from dining room, kills the vibe of a semi-nice dining environment.

Would be nice if the bar area had an inviting/comfy seating area around the fire - it would keep people in the bar.

Food - We had dinner one night. Dissapointing. Next two nights we drove to Salida and dined
at Laughing Ladies - Incredible!!!! Worth the drive.


They are on the right track they just need the right management to kick it up a notch and maintain a flow for wait staff -

We soaked in the creek and Spa side pools - Wonderful! Especially after a day at Monarch.

Wrist band or not - seems like anyone can just show up and jump in. We paid quite a bit to share the spa side with non paying random peeps. As we observed - no one checked wrist bands.

We realize it takes resources to keep a business running - This place is stunning and has extreme potential for a fantastic Colorado destination all year round!

Room Tip: Get the Cabins or Cliffside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Musictravels1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, CO
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012 via mobile

I love the brand new over 16 pool and hot springs. The new spa building and facilities is fabulous! There is even a new done if it is windy. Great work and awesome service. Thank you for a wonderful birthday experience!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nathrop
16.6 mi away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
14.4 mi away
Monarch Mountain Lodge
Monarch Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Monarch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
8.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Vista Inn
BEST WESTERN Vista Inn
#1 of 3 in Buena Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salida
8.0 mi away
Surf Chateau
Surf Chateau
#1 of 8 in Buena Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
7.8 mi away
Pinon Court Cabins
Pinon Court Cabins
#3 of 3 in Buena Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort

Property: Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort
Address: 15870 County Road 162, Nathrop, CO 81236-9703
Region: United States > Colorado > Nathrop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nathrop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gorgeous natural oasis surrounded by towering peaks. Your perfect getaway, with every amenity. Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort is where you can do it all. Satisfy your quest for adventure, experience the healing powers of Colorado hot springs, and indulge in pampering spa treatments. Unlimited outdoor recreation alternatives for every interest, in every season, at every level. Gourmet meals, choice lodging, and our welcoming staff await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Hotel Nathrop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing