We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to come back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nathrop
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
“Can't wait to come back!”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

My boyfriend and I recently spent a weekend here while skiing and it was just fabulous! How can you go wrong staying at hot springs for just 20 bucks more than you would pay for a regular old hotel room anyway?! Not only do they have nice soaking pools but you can actually go down to the river and get in as well! We had an awesome dinner after a long day at monarch and it was everything we could have wanted. We started out at the bar where Caitlin made us both amazing martinis! Then dinner was equally as good. Large portions and everything was sooo good (including the pricing). We will definitely be coming back to stay, soak, and eat again soon!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurel d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    673
    463
    184
    96
    62
See reviews for
539
540
37
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Attended a friend's wedding and had an awesome experience at the hotel, restaurant and hot springs. The staff were all so incredibly friendly and helpful, the place is beautiful, and the hot springs are very enjoyable. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Lots of room choices
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellyk7747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We recently spent several hours at the resort, making a day trip there while vacationing in Breckenridge. Since our daughters are 14 and 15 we didn't have access to the covered "steam" pool or the cascading Japanese-style pools (and thus paid $22 each on a Friday, rather than $35 for spa privileges). We spent essentially the entire time in the hot pools in the stream as the swimming pools looked pretty unremarkable, but found this a very relaxing and even therapeutic experience, with snow-covered trees along the banks and the surrounding peaks serving as a backdrop. The bathhouses/changing areas were basic but certainly functional, and the shower rooms were actually quite nice, so not sure where the negative comments regarding these are coming from. The gorgeous scenery along the drive there and back was a bonus--all-in-all a very pleasant day, that served to provide a nice change of pace from skiing.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKMMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Full disclosure, we only visited the hot springs, not the hotel or spa, so that's what I'm reviewing. The Mt. Princeton Resort and Hot Springs is located in a beautiful area. And frankly, considering what we paid to just visit the hot springs, I was expecting more. The bath house is VERY old and run down, and the changing area/showers/bathrooms - just ick. The two people behind the counter were very nice, but seemed a little confused about...many things (the rates, how to process coupons, answers to pool questions). My family and I have only been to Glenwood Springs pools before, and we thought that this would be a more intimate experience, but really it was just a hot pool, and a warm pool. The setting outside was nice, but the only part we really enjoyed was sitting in the creek. That's really the only part of the visit that my kids, my husband and I can say was memorable, as we climbed down some rocks (be careful if you do this), and found a hot area in around the rocks to sit. When it got too hot, we moved a rock to allow some creek water to run in, which was really neat.
Other than the creek, if I were headed to the area again, I would skip Mt. Princeton Hot Springs - unless of course they clean up/refurbish the changing area and the common areas, and lower their prices.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank momincolorado22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MtPrincetonMngmt, Manager at Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are disappointed to hear that you found your day visit to the hot springs lacking. The Historic Bathhouse’s classification on the local registry as a historic site has limited the extensive remodeling we hope to do. While we have been able to install new tile for flooring and showers, we continue to press peruse options for further improvements. We have introduced new training materials to improve guest service and will extend our program to include regular assessments.

Our Spa & Club was added to enhance offerings for our adult guests, and as we grow we intend to enhance family facilities as well.

Thank you for your feedback. We would love another opportunity to surpass your expectations in the future.

Best Wishes,

Mt. Princeton Hot Springs Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
128 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My daughter and I spent the weekend here and it was absolutely gorgeous ! We stayed in the Cliffside accommodation and it was awesome ! The breakfast the following morning was amazing ! We left feeling rested n happy !

Room Tip: Cliff side was great ! Easy on the eye and the wallet ! 😉
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MtPrincetonMngmt, Manager at Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We greatly appreciate both your business and time spent writing this review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Mt. Princeton. We hope to have you back again soon!

Best Wishes,

Mt. Princeton Hot Springs Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I've stayed here several times, and have loved (LOVED!) it so much-- but one bad experience can really leave a bad taste. I'm not an uptight person, but our last trip was one thing after another. Even while making the reservation, it was clear the customer service had changed significantly since my last experience. We made our reservation about 2 months in advance, and when our trip finally arrived, it appeared we had been given several pieces of significant misinformation about the cabin we reserved. In addition, the condition of the cabin wasn't pristine as normal. Nothing absurd-- just unusual for Mt. Princeton's normally high quality. (Flickering lights, no blinds on the front window, a broken shower head). We didn't spend much time in the cabin anyway, but for the price, it was a bit disappointing. We saw the new spa for the first time-- very nice, but pricey, and our particular massages were not great. I noticed some of the staff seemed grouchy, and several talked about how Mt. Princeton is expanding so fast that there is no longer a 'slow season' where employees get a break.

We still had a great time and consider this a fluke. We will try to make our reservations farther in advance if possible next time, and now we know what cabin specifically to request. The location is beautiful, and even when it's busy, it's nice to meet people while you soak in a small pool. The restaurant (and its staff) is outstanding. Buena Vista and Salida (nearby towns in either direction) are perfect for day trips.

Room Tip: Condos are great for couples; rooms on the upper level are quieter, although we've never had tro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole41213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MtPrincetonMngmt, Manager at Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. Our repeat guests are what keep our business thriving and we are greatly appreciative of your continued business. It is very disconcerting to read that your most recent stay was below average. Without more specific information I cannot be sure of what issues you had with your reservations but we regret any misinformation you were given.

Although we have become increasingly busy and have stayed that way through most of the winter months, I can assure you that our staff and management are incredibly grateful for all of the business. If you were given the impression that a particular member of our staff felt otherwise, or was in some way lacking in their customer service skills, we apologize on their behalf. We are constantly striving for the best service possible for all of our guests and are creating new training programs to be mindful of these priorities year round.

It is our hope that you will not let one lack-luster experience keep you from returning to Mt. Princeton Hot Springs for many more memorable stays.

Best Wishes,

Mt. Princeton Hot Springs Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Being lovers of natural hot springs, and having traveled to Glenwood Springs, Colorado a number of times, my family and I decided to give Mt. Princeton a try. We were very disappointed. The place is dirty and poorly managed, with inadequate staff. We spent two nights in one of the two-bedroom/loft cabins and went to the pools on two occasions. First, when we arrived, I had to wait in line for 15 minutes just to check in. The line was out the door and there were only two staff members. When we got to our cabin, we entered and it smelled bad -- I'm not sure whether it was BO or dog smell, but it was unpleasant. We ended up keeping the windows open and buying air-freshening candles. Also, one of the loft beds had sheets that smelled bad. We attempted to use the concierge service to get ski lift tickets one morning, but apparently, the concierge comes in later and no one else knows how to get anything done. The hot springs pools by the bath house were pitiful and actually pretty disgusting. It reminds one of an old, poorly managed and poorly cleaned public pool. If you are looking for "atmosphere", go elsewhere. Also, the pools did not seem to have many natural minerals. One of my daughters got a terrible red, itchy rash after going in the pool. She has been in hot springs pools many times without a problem. The pool deck was slate (or concrete made to look like slate) and was extremely slippery. There were no lifeguards on duty either time we went. It was very crowded, with kids climbing the walls and jumping in (very dangerous!). The bathhouse was absolutely filthy and gross. The cascading pools on the adult-only side, were nice, but unfortunately located next to the giant "bubble" covering the adult-only pool, which was quite ugly. My daughter and I went to the juice bar in the spa for lunch and had to wait 15 minutes for smoothies and a panini sandwich, because there was only one person working and lots of people in line. The turkey tasted a little funny, but we didn't think anything of it at the time. The next day, my daughter and I got very ill, and I think it was the turkey sandwich. Ugh! Anyway, we were expecting so much more, after paying more than $400/night. When we checked out, I was going to tell the staffer about our stay, but she didn't even ask how it was. So, I decided to tell everyone else. We will never go back to Mt. Princeton. If you want a true Colorado hot springs experience, don't waste your money here. Go to Glenwood Springs.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank W2786ASjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MtPrincetonMngmt, Manager at Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Guest,

I apologize that your recent visit was not an enjoyable experience. We welcome the opportunity to correct problems when they arise and are disappointed we did not learn of your concerns during your stay. This is the first winter our Concierge has been in place and we expect the desk agents to assist guests with this information as they have in the past when he is not present. Lift tickets are sold at the front desk, and we will take your experience as a reminder to staff to practice active listening. We have not received complaints about an odor in cabins or singular sheet sets before, so I cannot accurately assess this issue.

The Historic Bathhouse pools are cleaned daily and staff members are given clear practices and hourly responsibilities which include testing chlorine levels. The mineral content of our pools is posted at the Bathhouse and consists namely of Sulphate of Soda and Carbonates of Lime, Magnesia, and Potash.

Our Relaxation Pool is enclosed with a temporary dome during the winter months in order to maintain temperature and offer a respite from the cold for those who prefer it. Most guests enjoy the sound and view of the Chalk Cliffs or the Collegiate Peaks while soaking.

As our popularity grows, we continue to add staff and plan to expand facilities in order to improve guest experience and accommodate the increasing volume of business. Food service employees are ServSafe certified. We have not received any other concerns about dining at the Juice Bar during the time you visited, and always take food quality and freshness very seriously.

Every Colorado Hot Springs property is unique. We do not have the sulfurous water that is found at Glenwood, and we do offer natural pools within Chalk Creek in addition to man-made pools. Our quiet, rural mountain setting is a mark that sets us apart as well. We with you the best if our atmosphere is not your preference.

Sincerely,
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nathrop
16.6 mi away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
8.2 mi away
Best Western Vista Inn
Best Western Vista Inn
#1 of 3 in Buena Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
14.4 mi away
Monarch Mountain Lodge
Monarch Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Monarch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Browns Canyon Inn
Browns Canyon Inn
#10 of 16 in Salida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
7.9 mi away
Surf Chateau
Surf Chateau
#1 of 8 in Buena Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
7.8 mi away
Pinon Court Cabins
Pinon Court Cabins
#3 of 3 in Buena Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort

Property: Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort
Address: 15870 County Road 162, Nathrop, CO 81236-9703
Region: United States > Colorado > Nathrop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nathrop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gorgeous natural oasis surrounded by towering peaks. Your perfect getaway, with every amenity. Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort is where you can do it all. Satisfy your quest for adventure, experience the healing powers of Colorado hot springs, and indulge in pampering spa treatments. Unlimited outdoor recreation alternatives for every interest, in every season, at every level. Gourmet meals, choice lodging, and our welcoming staff await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Hotel Nathrop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing