We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nathrop
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome!”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Beautiful setting, clean rooms and hot springs area. Incredible value for the price as booking a room includes access to the pools and spa. Definitely a gem in Colorado and I'll come back again and again. Also very close to Buena Vista and Salida - great location.

Room Tip: The Cliffside rooms each have a little patio with table and chairs - beautiful spot to watch sunrise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    677
    465
    184
    96
    62
See reviews for
541
542
37
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Taos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I travel to various hot springs in Colorado, and discovered Mount Princeton Resort. It is a wonderful property! Lots of room to soak in the various pools that are heated by the hot springs. I especially liked that you could soak in the river with the hot springs that were heating the water on the bank. I wish they had a few more smaller pools though. The main pool could have been a bit hotter as well. We stayed in a Hillside room. It was a bit pricey for what it is, but the rest of the resort made up for that. I think I will try one of the cabins next time. Gill, the concierge, was excellent! The rest of the staff was wonderful too. Incredible views, and quiet grounds. It was very relaxing. The trip to St. Elmo (the ghost town) was a fun day trip. Probably better in the warmer months, but I still enjoyed checking it out even with lots of snow.

Room Tip: Try a cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, Iowa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Just now, reading someone else's review that was disappointed in the changing room area, I can understand if that's the only part of the facility that they encountered. However, the ENTIRE rest of the facility is WONDERFUL !! We didn't mind the older part of the facility because we know how long it's been there, felt it was historic Colorado and know they will be updating it. All the other areas are great !! There are many pools to choose from, all nice. The hotel and restaurant are very good. The spa facilities were top notch. Even the store on premises was a delight. Additionally, every single staff member we encountered were nice and well informed. We also appreciated that, for the price of a one-night stay, they allowed you to stay the day after check out. We will include this in our vacation plans on a regular basis, The surrounding area is also lovely with good biking and hiking. We hiked around a Lake up the road just a few miles. Delightful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbarbwyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2014

My boyfriend and I recently spent a weekend here while skiing and it was just fabulous! How can you go wrong staying at hot springs for just 20 bucks more than you would pay for a regular old hotel room anyway?! Not only do they have nice soaking pools but you can actually go down to the river and get in as well! We had an awesome dinner after a long day at monarch and it was everything we could have wanted. We started out at the bar where Caitlin made us both amazing martinis! Then dinner was equally as good. Large portions and everything was sooo good (including the pricing). We will definitely be coming back to stay, soak, and eat again soon!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurel d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Attended a friend's wedding and had an awesome experience at the hotel, restaurant and hot springs. The staff were all so incredibly friendly and helpful, the place is beautiful, and the hot springs are very enjoyable. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Lots of room choices
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellyk7747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We recently spent several hours at the resort, making a day trip there while vacationing in Breckenridge. Since our daughters are 14 and 15 we didn't have access to the covered "steam" pool or the cascading Japanese-style pools (and thus paid $22 each on a Friday, rather than $35 for spa privileges). We spent essentially the entire time in the hot pools in the stream as the swimming pools looked pretty unremarkable, but found this a very relaxing and even therapeutic experience, with snow-covered trees along the banks and the surrounding peaks serving as a backdrop. The bathhouses/changing areas were basic but certainly functional, and the shower rooms were actually quite nice, so not sure where the negative comments regarding these are coming from. The gorgeous scenery along the drive there and back was a bonus--all-in-all a very pleasant day, that served to provide a nice change of pace from skiing.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKMMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Full disclosure, we only visited the hot springs, not the hotel or spa, so that's what I'm reviewing. The Mt. Princeton Resort and Hot Springs is located in a beautiful area. And frankly, considering what we paid to just visit the hot springs, I was expecting more. The bath house is VERY old and run down, and the changing area/showers/bathrooms - just ick. The two people behind the counter were very nice, but seemed a little confused about...many things (the rates, how to process coupons, answers to pool questions). My family and I have only been to Glenwood Springs pools before, and we thought that this would be a more intimate experience, but really it was just a hot pool, and a warm pool. The setting outside was nice, but the only part we really enjoyed was sitting in the creek. That's really the only part of the visit that my kids, my husband and I can say was memorable, as we climbed down some rocks (be careful if you do this), and found a hot area in around the rocks to sit. When it got too hot, we moved a rock to allow some creek water to run in, which was really neat.
Other than the creek, if I were headed to the area again, I would skip Mt. Princeton Hot Springs - unless of course they clean up/refurbish the changing area and the common areas, and lower their prices.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank momincolorado22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MtPrincetonMngmt, Manager at Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are disappointed to hear that you found your day visit to the hot springs lacking. The Historic Bathhouse’s classification on the local registry as a historic site has limited the extensive remodeling we hope to do. While we have been able to install new tile for flooring and showers, we continue to press peruse options for further improvements. We have introduced new training materials to improve guest service and will extend our program to include regular assessments.

Our Spa & Club was added to enhance offerings for our adult guests, and as we grow we intend to enhance family facilities as well.

Thank you for your feedback. We would love another opportunity to surpass your expectations in the future.

Best Wishes,

Mt. Princeton Hot Springs Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nathrop
16.6 mi away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
8.2 mi away
Best Western Vista Inn
Best Western Vista Inn
#1 of 3 in Buena Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
14.4 mi away
Monarch Mountain Lodge
Monarch Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Monarch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Browns Canyon Inn
Browns Canyon Inn
#10 of 16 in Salida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
7.9 mi away
Surf Chateau
Surf Chateau
#1 of 8 in Buena Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
7.8 mi away
Pinon Court Cabins
Pinon Court Cabins
#3 of 3 in Buena Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort

Property: Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort
Address: 15870 County Road 162, Nathrop, CO 81236-9703
Region: United States > Colorado > Nathrop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nathrop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gorgeous natural oasis surrounded by towering peaks. Your perfect getaway, with every amenity. Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort is where you can do it all. Satisfy your quest for adventure, experience the healing powers of Colorado hot springs, and indulge in pampering spa treatments. Unlimited outdoor recreation alternatives for every interest, in every season, at every level. Gourmet meals, choice lodging, and our welcoming staff await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Hotel Nathrop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing