We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location and relaxing experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nathrop
Certificate of Excellence
Denver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful location and relaxing experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

My trip to Mt Princeton was a short one night stay but it was well worth the drive! I stayed in a two bedroom & loft, two bath cabin that was very comfortable and luxurious. Service was ok... But it needs work. However, the views and mountain air make up for it. The hot springs were awesome and clean. Overall a wonderful place and a must visit for anyone that is a fan of the Colorado mountains!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ibrlgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    661
    455
    183
    93
    62
See reviews for
528
529
37
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Thornton, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Upon arrival, the carpet had rocks and gravel throughout. The two small trash cans had trash in them including food items. We were told to use the towels at the pool only to discover that there were no towels available. When we asked when towels would be ready, the kid at the pool counter said some would be out in 15 minutes. After over an hour, there were still no towels.

We left our room early the next morning. Upon returning late in the afternoon, the carpet had still not been vacuumed. The trash cans had been emptied, but not completely. There were tissues stuck to the bottom of the can liner bags. The room towels we used and hung up were missing and not replaced. We headed to the pool, again without towels, to find they were in short supply. We asked around and scrounge before discovering some on our own.


On our second night, we were notified that there was no phone service of any kind to our rooms. If we wanted to make a phone call, we needed to walk down the hill from our Cliffside room to use the phone in the main building. No cell phone service. No WiFi. No room phone.

The room itself was very outdated. Warm to hot water comes out of the tap. No cool or cold water except for what you put in the mini fridge. We realize this is a hot springs area, but some kind of notification letting guests know would have been nice.

Our expectations were high because we had read good reviews and paid plenty to stay in this hotel.

Come swim in the hot springs, skip the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Our second stay here was better than the first only because we had more time to enjoy and explore the area. First and foremost, this resort location is priceless. Nestled in the Collegiate Mountains setting offers gorgeous views from every spot; from the room, the many hot spring locations, the pool or the restaurant with its lovely deck facing the chalk cliffs. Once you check in you can stay in the area as everything you need is right there. This trip we asked at the lobby about hiking possibilities and found exactly what we were looking for. After a short hike we drove up to the old mining town of St. Elmo, which was bigger than we expected and full of history.

This resort is unique and special with the lovely large hot springs pool at the spa, where I got a wonderful massage. As we left the resort we talked about going back in the fall or winter when the hot springs would feel even better in cool weather. It would also be nice to enjoy the fireplaces in the spa lobby and the restaurant. Also, the family log cabins look fantastic, and we saw many happy families enjoying them during our stay. The Mt. Princeton Hot Springs Resort is definitely worth the cost, and you just have to see it to understand why it is one of our favorite Colorado mountain getaways.

Room Tip: Cliffside Rooms #7 - 10 offer the best views. Ask for a cabin that faces the mountains or sits on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coloradoresident2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

My husband and I had a Cliffside room while my son and his family and in-laws stayed in a cabin very near the upper pool with the water slide. The kids had a blast, and I loved playing in the water with them. In the afternoon, we visited Salida and dined there twice. Another day we drove up to the "ghost town" of St. Elmo where there were lots of visitors, and even more chipmunks and hummingbirds. Our last night, we drove to Buena Vista and picked up a pizza at PIzzaWorks that was pretty darned good for a town of that size. The resort has upgraded dramatically from our last visit (~40 years ago!) with a very nice main lodge, a beautiful new spa building, and three nearby pools as well as a number of attractive and comfortable cabins and two motel-type buildings. Cliffside rooms were bigger and better-equipped than the Hillside rooms, but further from the pools and a steep hike up the hill. We had a microwave and a mini-fridge that couldn't keep ice frozen. The cabin had a good refrigerator, range, microwave, dishwasher, but no oven or phone. The cell phone service was spotty, but worked reasonably well. Our unit did have a phone, but we didn't use it. They are working on getting wi-fi in the whole area, but at present, it's only available in the main lodge. Of course, it's always possible to find something to complain about, but over all, this was a delightful experience.

Room Tip: Views from the Cliffiside rooms are better from Room 7 or higher due to high shrubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denverlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peyton, Colorado
Level Contributor
195 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Went in February for a special price and wanted to go back in the spring, summer, or fall to enjoy because the upper pool and slide not open in the winter. Although pricier, the front staff recognized my military (retired) ID when asked for an ID and gave me a discount (didn't know one existed) so saved about $15 I think off the cliff-side room (which I think is the best because not only of the views but also include a microwave which neither the hillside nor the lodge rooms include and because of knowing the comfort and size of them, they were still the same clean, comfortable rooms we experienced in February). The only problem we experienced was there was a switch on the wall labeled "heat" which was unfortunately on when we checked in which was defeating the A/C unit and it took me until late p.m. realize, locate it and turn it off. In the morning, there was a deer outside our room patio which made for great photo opps. All else with the resort was great; we for the first time were able to experience the upper pool and in particular the long, long water slide which was great and the water was not cold but a comfortable temperature to splash into (+ a somewhat warmer hotter tub area). Wish we could have stayed longer. Although the upper pool does have dressing rooms, the lockers are limited and you have to provide you own lock as opposed to the hot tub adult area on the lower side which provide keys/towels, etc. But you live and learn as you return, which we will again and again.

Room Tip: Cliff-side rooms provide the best view and include microwave, although you'll have a walk (or dr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peyton_John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I came over for suprise Valentines Day weekend. We are respectful in public as far as being affectionate. We did the $100 Valentines Day dinner and had very poor service and were virtually ignored by the wait staff. We later tried to file grievance but manager would not call us back. We love this place but we will never return here due to way they made us feel.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Kandace W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

This is a beautiful resort nestled in the collegiate mountain. The views are breathtaking and you are only a short drive from excellent hikes, whitewater rafting or a multitude of other outdoor activities. The pools are clean and vary in temperature enough where there is a pool for everyone's comfort level. Would love to return in the winter for a snow filled visit.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nathrop
16.6 mi away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
8.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Vista Inn
BEST WESTERN Vista Inn
#1 of 3 in Buena Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
14.4 mi away
Monarch Mountain Lodge
Monarch Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Monarch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Browns Canyon Inn
Browns Canyon Inn
#10 of 16 in Salida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
7.9 mi away
Surf Chateau
Surf Chateau
#1 of 8 in Buena Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
7.8 mi away
Pinon Court Cabins
Pinon Court Cabins
#3 of 3 in Buena Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort

Property: Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort
Address: 15870 County Road 162, Nathrop, CO 81236-9703
Region: United States > Colorado > Nathrop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nathrop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gorgeous natural oasis surrounded by towering peaks. Your perfect getaway, with every amenity. Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort is where you can do it all. Satisfy your quest for adventure, experience the healing powers of Colorado hot springs, and indulge in pampering spa treatments. Unlimited outdoor recreation alternatives for every interest, in every season, at every level. Gourmet meals, choice lodging, and our welcoming staff await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Ebookers so you can book your Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Hotel Nathrop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing