We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nathrop
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
1 review
“So beautiful”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Wow what a great experience! This property is just beautiful and so relaxing. The 1st night we staying in a cliffside room which was great! 2 Queen beds, vaulted cleilings, kuerig coffee maker, fridge and microwave. The views from the outside veranda were breathtaking. The only downfall with this location was you had to drive to the hot springs, but the views were a fair trade off. On the 2nd night we stayed in a cabin, which was awesome, complete kitchen , fireplace and living area, 2 decks, Master downstairs bedroom with king bed and a loft with 2 queens. The cabins are located in various areas around the resort, this paticular one was within walking distance to the main pools and spa, and located directly on the banks of Chaulk Creek. If you are looking for a really unique relaxing place to stay I would recommend this resort, it is within 10 miles of the cute little town of Buena Vista with various dining options, and located in a great area for alll the adventures that this part of Colorado!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwilli1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    741
    491
    194
    101
    64
See reviews for
599
563
39
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Based on other reviews we avoided dining here and ate in Buena Vista at local businesses such as the food truck and crepe stand (both excellent!). In doing so I believe we avoided many of the poor experiences expressed in other reviews and had a delightful time at Mt Princeton Hot Springs Resort. We arrived at sunset (as we stopped to pick up some delicious food truck takeout on our way in) and enjoyed watching the sun disappear and the stars come out from the back patio of our Cliffside Room while we ate our dinner. The room was cozy, and after spending an hour or so in a secluded hot spring pool in Chalk Creek beneath a starry sky, we returned to our patio with some wine, wrapped up in a blanket, and continued to star gaze. It was incredible! We rose early to hike Mt Princeton, after which the hot springs pools felt amazing to our aching bodies. Talk about reward after a challenging morning/early afternoon!

I do agree with other reviewers that the price is steep for the quality of the rooms/service. If the nightly rates were more reasonable, I would highly recommend the resort to anyone. However, because the price led us to expect a more modern and immaculate resort, we were disappointed in how outdated and not luxurious the rooms/grounds were. The website's description of a Cliffside Room is fairly accurate; however, the bathroom was small, basic, and very outdated (likely why it's not pictured!). This was more of a back country escape than a luxury resort.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELMO1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salmon Arm, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We were looking for a place in Buena Vista, but the hotels were all booked up. Someone recommended we try Mt. Princeton, as it was only a 15 minute drive away. We are so glad we did! What a beautiful resort! The hot springs made it that more special. The creek was so warm and unique,the Super Moon was out that night while we soaked in the creek, and the lightning storm was truly memorable. The natural setting was great, however, the staff, especially Johny Silver, went out of their way to accommodate our every need. (As we were travelling with a couple of baby's, there were many!) We really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
azle tx
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

This Resort has it all... a great spa, hot spring tubs- lots of them at various temps, and a water slide and large heated pool for the kids...but the best part was climbing down the rocks into the river and feeling the HOT water seeping up from the sand...you take rocks and sand from the river bed and create your own hot tub. The cold mountain stream water is replaced by seeping hot water...a little effort gives a great reward...if you are lazy, you just wait for an industrious person to abandon their homemade tub and take over residency!

Make sure that the river is open if this sounds good to you- this year's record snow led to record snow melt which kept the river hot springs un-usable until the last week of July! W

We stayed in the Hillside rooms. We walked down the hillside during the day, but when we went at night we drove down the hill- the paths to the Hillside rooms are not very well lit.

There are all kinds of rooms and cabins available at all price levels. Ours was a King room for 170.00 a night...it had a queen sized pull out couch- the room was pretty big and had a frig.

The cabins go for 350.00 to 500.00 a night- but sleep about 6-8 people. The cabins looked great.
No free breakfast- but there is a dining room. You can eat dinner in Salida ( a town that we loved- a a place called The Boatyard) or Buena Vista -a cute town too...both are about 17 miles away from the resort- try to drive back before total darkness sets in- it is hard to find the county road the hotel is on- also many critters try to cross the highway after dark.

Room Tip: If you hate walking uphill book a main lodge room or a cabin down by the spa...if you have kids the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redAzleTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We didn't stay in the resort we just stopped in for a afternoon trip. We had gone whitewater rafting and thought a nice dip in warm water would top off our already wonderful day. And right we were - the pools were clean and hot. The mountains were beautiful and close by. Everybody was very nice and knowledgeable. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pudn204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed there for 2 nights, cabin #21. It took us 2.5 hours drive from Denver.
The Cabin: although it says sleeps 8, you can fit 6.
The mail floor offers a kitchen with stove, a microwave and refrigerator . The working space is close to nothing. The dining area is offering a dining table with four chairs. The open floor concept offers a family room with 32" ( or so) TV with cable and DVD, a chair, a couch and a coffee table. The gas fireplace offers a cozy atmosphere but was malfunctioning , so for us it offered a decoration. Next to kitchen there is a nice bedroom with closet, offering king bed. In addition, there is a bath tub, sink and a toilet next to the bedroom. This is the only bathroom in the cabin.
The second floor has a loft with two queen beds, night stands and a chair.
The main attraction of this cabin is the view from a porch- picture perfect! Overlooking surrounding mountains and hot springs.
The cabin is in walking distance to the slide and all other pools, but if you have little kids, you will have to drive. The cabin is asking for some serios cleanup, as dust is everywhere, blinds in the living room are broken and you have a wide open window. In my opinion, the view compensated for all the mess and we truly relaxed and recharged there.
Your stay at the resort includes access to all pools and unlimited slides. Kids has a blast and spent hours on the slide. The views from all pools are amazing, but pools floor needs some serious cleaning.
The main pool on the lower level is ok, the changing facilities asking to updated and cleaning. The adults only pool is nice and quite. We ate there lunch ( adults pool bar). The food was average, the service- below average ( I wouldn't rate it even a star).
The river with hot springs In it was an attraction, but in my opinion, the only attraction of the resort, not counting magnificent views. All pools have chlorine and you don't get the feeling of hot springs.
Overall- we paid $741 for two nights and I would expect at least a clean floor and dust free dresser.
I find it difficult to understand the reason for a full capacity there , especially with overpriced , dirty cabins, but I guess you pay for the view.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EsterDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This was our first time at Mt. Princeton, and it is now our favorite hot springs in Colorado thanks to the very cool in-the-creek experience as well as the beautiful location. We dabbled with the slide and the regular pools and then settled into an excellent rocked-off bit of creek that accommodated all five of us (parents, two teenage daughters and a teenage cousin). Before we knew it, two hours had elapsed as we watched the sunset, listened to the creek, and played with the mix of hot and cool water. When we returned to our cliffside room (#10) we delighted in a late meal on the deck and then watched the stars. The beds are super-comfortable, and the mini-fridge and microwave came in handy. No lights on the deck but we shone a reading lamp through the screen door to provide a bit of light while we ate. The deck isn't divided into units so it's polite to be uber-quiet out there. We had reserved the room for the four of us but then needed to add our cousin, but when I called to see if there were rollaway beds or cots I was told the resort doesn't have any--so the cousin slept on the floor, which was OK (he's young and a world traveler w/ a sleeping bag) but something you should keep in mind. Also, currently there's WiFi only in the main lodge, which meant my husband had to drive down there to take care of some business. The resort is planning to expand WiFi coverage soon though. We truly loved the mix of ruggedness and pampering that this place offer and have vowed to return soon.

Room Tip: We chose a cliffside room based on other TripAdvisor reviews, as we didn't want to hear a lot of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MStarAsaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nathrop
16.6 mi away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
8.2 mi away
Best Western Vista Inn
Best Western Vista Inn
#1 of 3 in Buena Vista
460 reviews
14.4 mi away
Monarch Mountain Lodge
Monarch Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Monarch
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Arrowhead Point Campground & Cabins
7.9 mi away
Surf Chateau
Surf Chateau
#1 of 8 in Buena Vista
199 reviews
8.0 mi away
Super 8 Buena Vista
Super 8 Buena Vista
#2 of 3 in Buena Vista
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort

Property: Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort
Address: 15870 County Road 162, Nathrop, CO 81236-9703
Region: United States > Colorado > Nathrop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nathrop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gorgeous natural oasis surrounded by towering peaks. Your perfect getaway, with every amenity. Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort is where you can do it all. Satisfy your quest for adventure, experience the healing powers of Colorado hot springs, and indulge in pampering spa treatments. Unlimited outdoor recreation alternatives for every interest, in every season, at every level. Gourmet meals, choice lodging, and our welcoming staff await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Hotel Nathrop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing