We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Checked us into our room and then came and told us we needed to pay $60 more or leave.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Lake City, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Checked us into our room and then came and told us we needed to pay $60 more or leave.”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Called weeks ahead to make a reservation and was quoted a room price of $89 each for 2 rooms and 1 night for 5 people. Made reservation with Helena. Received confirmation number. Received a phone call from Anna, the manager at 5pm on day of check in. She said that I was told the wrong price for the rooms, they were really $145 each, that I needed to pay the difference or they would cancel the reservation. The rooms were for my daughter's 13th birthday trip with her friends. At the time Anna called me, my guests had already travelled almost 5 hours and were about to arrive at the hotel. When I attempted to communicate that I felt it was good business to honor the price I was quoted (I never asked for any deal or discount, just asked what the rate was.), Anna told me that I was rude and that she was going to refuse to do business with me. I called the party to let them know what was going on, and they said they had already checked in. They said they were charged $10 more per room for an "extra person", but it was 2 rooms with 4 person capacity each, and there were 5 people. After they got settled in someone came to their room and told them they needed to pay $60 more per room or leave. We have friends who live in New Castle who say that they have heard similar stories about this Econo Lodge. It was absolutely unbelievable and unethical.

Room Tip: Definitely find someplace else to stay where the people are honest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    19
    4
    5
    8
See reviews for
26
15
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Juneau, Alaska
1 review
Reviewed 14 June 2014

At check in we were a awe with the beutiful lobby. At first glance you can tell this is a well kept and very clean property. Rooms are standard, there was new carpet and fresh paint which is always comforting. On the second day we went to the pool which was very quite and peaceful. The train did not bother us infact we did not even hear it at all. The people that work there are very friendly and helpful with directions.

Room Tip: no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This was our fourth stay at this hotel. The rooms are always up to date, well decorated, clean and comfortable. One of the best bargains in the area. We will definitely stay here the next time we are visiting here.

Room Tip: every room we had was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golfnetyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Nice place to stay in this area. Staff was friendly, room was clean and comfortable. Pool was nice and hot tub was a bit warm..but hit the spot. Very quiet hotel other than a few passing trains. Breakfast was waffles, cereal, hard boiled eggs, bread, bagels, canned peaches, bananas, orange juice, milk and coffee. They also had an ice machine and vending machines. A laundry room by the pool.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jhwtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

My room was great. Decent amount of space. No housekeeping or maintenance problems noted - seemed pretty new and clean. Bed more comfortable for me than average. No noise problems. Bathroom not big but a lot nicer than average. Very nice TV with good channel selection. Good, quiet heater. Good, abundant lights. Good desk and chairs. Had new looking small fridge and microwave. People were using the pool and spa. Breakfast looked a little better than standard in a decent room. Internet worked pretty well.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I live in new castle and have family stay here when they come visit. We went down there during December to take our boys swimming. The pool is about 40 degrees. So cold you can't get in it. The hot tub is a luke warm temperature.

It was so cold they had a space heater near the hot tub blowing warm air on you. We unplugged it for electrical safety concerns.

We have kids and look for hotels with pools. This review is for similar families who see "pool" and think "pool". It is not a pool. It is an indoor humidifier that is unusable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Konngg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

The service at this hotel was terrible the manger provided terrible customer service with unacceptable attitude continues racisim,also threatened us to leave the hotel.
Excessively pricey,Wouldn't recommend it at all, the maintenance was poor nobody went to make the bed, or give us hand soap.The maintenance only showed up ones for the 6 nights during my stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luciah261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Castle
10.6 mi away
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
#13 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
318 reviews
8.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
337 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#2 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
9.0 mi away
Affordable Inns
Affordable Inns
#18 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
148 reviews
10.6 mi away
Caravan Inn
Caravan Inn
#12 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites

Property: Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Address: 781 Burning Mountain Ave, New Castle, CO 81647-9679 (Formerly Rodeway Inn - New Castle)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > New Castle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn New Castle
New Castle Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing