We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic base to explore Helford and the Lizard”
Review of The Black Swan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Black Swan
Ranked #1 of 3 Gweek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cobham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic base to explore Helford and the Lizard”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed one-night for family get-together in the area and was rewarded with the bonus of a fantastic, friendly, B & B in the centre of Gweek right next to the Seal sanctuary - which made for a pleasant evening stroll. As others have said - extremely welcoming landlord, Alex, who made me feel relaxed and at home. One minor point, if you're a 'hot person' you might want to ask for a sheet to sleep under as the 13.5 Tog duvet was a bit warm for June!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    23
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
24
4
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Arrived after a very long drive and made to feel immediately welcome by the landlord (who introduced himself by name).
On that subject he must have a great memory as he referred to everyone by their first names, including first time guests!
Beer was good with a plentiful range of real ales. I was also impressed with the quality (and price) of the food. Plenty of choices and many under £10.
I had really well cooked cod and chips and couldn't manage to finish it.
Room was lovely and clean and comfy and breakfast was well cooked ( fresh fruit salad would have been nice as an option)
All in an good quality, good value pub/B=B in a very pretty location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeH81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We were passing through Gweek on our holiday to Cornwall and stopped at the Black Swan for lunch. There is lots of choice for food, over and above the typical pub fayre. My husband is Coeliac and the gentleman we spoke to was knowledgeable about the appropriate dishes. Much better than so many places we go to. He actually felt he had choice! They also had gluten free bread so were able to adapt many of the dishes. When the food came (mackerel dish and mussel dish) we were blown away. Tasty and fresh, well priced. If only we weren't 6hours away!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed at The Black Swan for a large family gathering. There are 4 rooms of which we booked three. Mulberry, Raspberry, and Gooseberry. All were well furnished, very clean and well presented. Hosts Alec, Wenna, and staff gave us exceptional service. Nothing was too much trouble. We had a lunchtime buffet in the restaurant for 60 followed by evening meal for 10 family members. All choosing different meals. It all arrived together , with well presented ample portions.
It is so nice to see this lovely place buzzing again.

Room Tip: There isn't a bad one
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnPoly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Gimignano, Toscana, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Went on a late Sunday evening without booking, eight of us including 2 children, very friendly pub with excellent food, good service, quick service and child friendly.....will certainly be going again soon. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My partner and I arrived for Sunday lunch, having not eaten here for a while. There was a great atmosphere, the staff were exceptionally friendly and attentive and the food was good and well priced. We always appreciate dog friendly pubs and left feeling full and happy. Many thanks.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deborah w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Visited the Black Swan for first time since it changed its name from the Gweek Inn and it's very good. Staff were welcoming and friendly and also accommodating as we asked for a few changes to the menus. Food was tasty and well presented the roast cod was excellent. Good choice of beers and these went down well after a long days sailing. Good value for money dinner we will be back

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank traveller123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gweek
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Helston Hotel
0.0 mi away
Angel Hotel
Angel Hotel
#3 of 3 in Helston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.0 mi away
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Trengilly Wartha Country Inn
0.0 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.0 mi away
Queens Arms
Queens Arms
#1 of 2 in Breage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Swan

Property: The Black Swan
Address: | Near Helston, Gweek, Helston TR12 6TU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Helston > Gweek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Gweek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Black Swan 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have four double en-suite bedrooms; each room is newly decorated in fresh relaxing colours with a fruity twist after the names of the rooms, Raspberry, Blackberry, Gooseberry and Mulberry. The rooms look out on the peaceful village of Gweek and each one has a large sash window which gives them a light and airy feel. The rooms have tea and coffee makers and clock radios. The bathrooms have a modern feel with slate floors and large showers. 4 AA stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Black Swan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing