We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Reservoir ”

Stagecoach State Park
Ranked #2 of 4 things to do in Oak Creek
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Stagecoach State Park sets the stage for great recreation in the lush Yampa Valley by Steamboat Springs. Vistas and views are backdrops to the 820-acre reservoir providing renown lake and river fishing. A year-round destination, the park also makes a great base to explore the variety of sports and attractions of the area. An array of activities await with boating, fishing, hiking, picnicking and camping. Winter offers trails for snowshoeing, cross-country skiing, and fat-tire biking for those seeking a less commercial experience. In summer, water sports enthusiasts enjoy the many ways to recreate at the reservoir. Off-season and weekday visits are wonderfully serene, providing great opportunities to take pleasure in the land, water and nature without the crowds. Cabin fever in the winter can be relieved by camping in one of the five electrical sites maintained just for winter camping. Stagecoach State Park is a great place to hold base camp when exploring the many outdoor opportunities around the park such as the Flattops Wilderness Area and Sarvis Creek Wilderness Area.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

We opted to walk around the reservoir with the dogs ( on leash only ) but not a lot of shade for them to cool off in.
The reservoir had a lot of algae this time of year so we didn’t allow them to dip their feet in allowed areas.
We will def visit again for more hiking/walking in cooler temperatures.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank mprimco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"steamboat springs"
in 9 reviews
"fishing gear"
in 2 reviews
"great camping"
in 2 reviews
"ice fishing"
in 2 reviews
"piece fish"
in 2 reviews
"swim beach"
in 2 reviews
"dog sledding"
in 2 reviews
"beautiful scenery"
in 2 reviews
"pike"
in 4 reviews
"shore"
in 5 reviews
"reservoir"
in 9 reviews
"lures"
in 2 reviews
"wildlife"
in 4 reviews
"hiking"
in 6 reviews
"hike"
in 5 reviews
"activity"
in 2 reviews
"bike"
in 2 reviews
Filter

2 - 6 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2018

We came during the week and there was no one working the front entrance. We had to ask another car for some money and a pen to fill out our entrance pass...we didn't come very prepared, thinking we could just use our credit card. We had to drive around awhile and ask a few different people to figure out where to go and what to do. We decided on fishing because the boating rentals seemed pretty high. After going back to the front entrance and waiting for someone to show up so we could get our day fishing licenses, we were finally on our way. One of the rangers told us about a good fishing spot by marker 16 so we tried that out. We didn't have any luck here catching fish, but it really didn't matter. The views were so amazing!! We drove around awhile and found another little cove to try our luck at fishing. We still caught 0 fish but ended up catching about 15 crawdad which was pretty funny! Overall this State Park is really nice and now that we know where to go we will be better prepared next time we visit!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Chloe7099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2018 via mobile

Loved this place. Fished off shore then boated for hours. Boat rental was a great price and staff was friendly. Scenery is breathtaking. Definitely a must see when visiting steamboat

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Shannon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018

My family recently camped here for two weeks. They reserved and paid for their campsite online. Once they arrived at check-in, they had to pay an additional $70 for a park pass to even be allowed to get into their campsite. The showers are coin operated only. It's four quarters for several minutes then an additional quarter for one additional minute. You cannot adjust the shower temperature. The campsites are nice with electric hookup and water available to fill your tank. However, the electricity is not reliable as it went in and out several times. My parents brought their dogs with them, so there was a worry that they may overheat in the camper if the air conditioning shut off and they left them for the day. If you can, bring your own bait and water gear for fishing and other activities. It is costly to purchase bait at the marina. My sister wanted to paddleboard but it cost $35 for two hours. This area does have amazing views and there are quite a few activities such as fishing, paddleboarding, wakeboarding, a swim beach, etc. Overall my family had a great time, but I think from now on they will just stay with us instead of camping here and overpaying on certain things.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

The staff were great and we met several families. Very beautiful scenery and so much wildlife seen all over!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank JLMCGEHEE85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stagecoach State Park also viewed

Been to Stagecoach State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing