We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice people”
Review of La Pisa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Pisa
Ranked #1 of 1 Aniezo B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 July 2013

the owners of this place are the sweetest! nice place, unique surroundings. their hostal is in a small village, from where nice hikes into the hills start. they can help you pick the right one, as they know the aerea very well. they speak spanish and english.

the picos and this nicoe little hotel are one of Spains best kept secrets.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annemarie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
There are newer reviews for La Pisa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights and thought it was lovely. We had no trouble finding it from the directions given. Really is quite rural and you would have to drive to find somewhere else to eat but we would recommend the dinner option as the food here is wonderful. The rooms are spotless and beds comfortable - very quiet too as not near a main road - would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliDShrewsbury_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We spent a week at la Pisa in May. It's in a sleepy village with spectacular views from the lovely terrace and garden, and our room was comfortable and spotlessly clean - but what sets it apart are the hosts.
John and Gwen are friendly and welcoming, and their extensive local knowledge helped us to make the most of our visit to this beautiful area. John's food was absolutely superb - a different menu each day, every dish was delicious and beautifully presented and Gwen's efficient and unpretentious service made dinner a highlight of the day. We also appreciated the tasty packed lunches John prepared for our mountain walks.
We intend to return to the spectacular Picos de Europa as there are so many lovely walks and when we do we'll certainly stay at la Pisa again. It was one of the most relaxing places we've stayed in for a long time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We spent 5 days at La Pisa in May 2012 and had a marvellous stay. John and Gwen were lovely hosts and John's cooking was the icing on the cake. The area is stunning and John and Gwen were very helpful with suggestions for what to do and where to go locally. We hope to be able to visit again on another trip to the Picos. The village is so peaceful and a great base for walking and exploring the countryside.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JL256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We found La Pisa via a biker friendly accommodation website before checking out the fabulous reviews on Tripadvisor. Booking the accommodation was easy, helped by John's & Gwen's daughter in UK. Finding La Pisa in the beautiful Picos de Europa mountains was easy too. Just follow the signs off the CA-870, after passing through Cambarco en-route to Aniezo. The place is set in a small village of beautiful, quaint and interesting properties, which includes a small church, a typically Spanish cemetery, fast flowing streams and an interesting water wheel contraption. The welcome given was fantastic; warm and friendly and made all the better by a log fire, warm comfortable rooms and beds, and a well stocked bar. The food was first class; varied and well presented, prepared by John, who's culinary skills are clearly Masterchef level, even a Michelin star as another reviewer has suggested. The wine selection was good too, and we tried several. Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts, be they directions and travel advice, to hot drinks, beer, spirits & snacks. Wet clothes could be hung in the store to dry out. And when we became trapped by the sudden heavy snow fall staying an extra night or two was no trouble at all. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning. We highly recommend La Pisa to anyone travelling through the area by motorbike, bicycle or car. Stay at least two nights if you can and visit Fuente De and take a ride in the cable car to the top as it's worth it. And to John & Gwen, Thank You just doesn't say enough. Daryl & Catherine.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dazhobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

We spent a week staying at La Pisa in August. John and Gwen made us very welcme and had lots of useful advice and suggestions for walks and places to visit in the area. The hotel is clean and comfortable and the food cooked by John is excellent. It really does live up to all the recommendations we had heard. We would strongly recommend La Pisa to anyone with a love of the outdoors and wants a base to explore this amazing area of unspoilt beauty.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

La Pisa is a wonderful secret place to stay. Set in a tiny village at the end of a valley you are surrounded by the spectacular hills of the picos. The hotel is cosy, clean and welcoming, more of a guesthouse than a hotel really. But what sets it apart is the amazing catering. John should have a michellin star. We stayed for a week and loved every minute.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AliMorriss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aniezo
13.8 mi away
Parador de Fuente De
Parador de Fuente De
#1 of 2 in Fuente De
740 reviews
12.9 mi away
Hotel Casona La Hondonada
Hotel Casona La Hondonada
#2 of 3 in Cabuerniga
406 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Posada La Casa de Frama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Pisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pisa

Address: Barrio Iglesia | Aniezo, 39571 Aniezo, Spain
Region: Spain > Cantabria > Aniezo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Aniezo
Price Range: £66 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Pisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pisa Spain/Aniezo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing