We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Won't be a secret very long!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Secret Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Secret Garden
Ranked #3 of 9 Ouray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Indiana
2 reviews
“Won't be a secret very long!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

My wife and I chose this B&B based on other traveler reviews and we were likewise not disappointed (we stayed for seven nights). Sara is an excellent host and caters to your every need--especially at breakfast. The location is perfect a flew blocks off downtown Ouray within easy walking distance of local shopping and dining. While I have no basis for comparision with other Ouray lodging we believe we made a very good decision to stay here and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to others. The property is very well maintained and beautiful and of course is located in the Little Switzerland of America with numerous outdoor activities (hiking, biking, jeep tours, mine tours, etc.). Makes a great base for exploration of nearby towns such as Ridgway and Telluride. We hope to return and believe you will find this a very nice B&B if staying in Ouray. Our best wishes to Sara!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelersfromIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    10
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
24
60
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clinton Township, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2011

My sister and I stayed at Secret Garden while on a 'road trip' and it was fabulous. The room and bathroom were very spacious, beds comfortable, and the decor elegant, with a variety of soaps and lotions that were an extra touch. Sara offers gracious hospitality and cares about her guests. We wanted an early breakfast so we could get on the road and that was no problem. We treasure the conversation shared and Sara's caring spirit.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suevf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastian, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

My husband and I had never stayed in a Bed and Breakfast before and what a treat! Sara, the owner, was so kind and helpful, and her place is beautiful, quaint, and welcoming. We instantly felt at home. And the breakfast the next morning.... oh my! It was made with love by Sara and it was absolutely delicious. Visiting the town of Ouray, Colorado is a must, and the next time we're there, we'll be staying at this B&B again.

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank racmlp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Tx
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

My husband and I spent a few days here on our honeymoon, Ouray is an amazing place and the Secret Garden was the perfect place to stay. The pictures don't lie, it is beautiful! The breakfasts were amazing and Sara, the innkeeper was very accomodating. We highly reccomend it and would definately return!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Whit60Dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

My friend & I had the loveliest of stays at this Bed & Breakfast. It was my first opportunity to stay at a Bed & Breakfast, and Mrs. Sharpe truly made it the best! She was quite kind, made us feel completely at home, treated us like a friend yet at the same time gave us the privacy we needed. It really was amazing. :) I'd love to go back. It is situated in a cute little mountain town and was a beautiful breath of fresh air - especially when we woke up the next morning all cozy in our bed to see the snow falling outside. I highly recommend you staying here; you won't regret it!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maid2praiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

My fiance and I stayed at the secret garden to see if it was the place we wanted to host our reception for our wedding. When we arrived the first thing Sara did was give me a huge hug and from that second forward we were blown away by her hospitality! The house was so cozy and inviting. The rooms were all wonderful, each with its own sort of theme. I also couldn't have asked for a better view of the mountains from the house, especially while enjoying the hot tub that sits on her wrap-around deck. Sara herself was friendly, professional, a wonderful cook, and new her stuff when it came to wedding details. She's helped make the whole process a lot less stressful! It was also neat to find out how well she works with the other wedding vendors in the area. We are excited to get to know her better during the process of planning our wedding and can't wait until the day!
Thank you Sara,
R&R

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rebekahg05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olathe, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

The room and bathroom was very clean and very lovely and 'homey' feeling, the bed cozy and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious, host was very friendly and made me feel right at home. I love how much it feels like a home away from home. I would recommend the Secret Garden to anyone. :) For sure coming back!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brittany_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.7 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
0.2 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.2 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#7 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
#8 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ouray Victorian Inn
Ouray Victorian Inn
#5 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ouray Chalet Inn
Ouray Chalet Inn
#3 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Garden

Property: Secret Garden
Address: 101 6 Ave., PO Box 862, Ouray, CO 81427-0862
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Secret Garden 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sounds of songbirds and gurgling brooks greet you in the morning at Secret Garden, even though we are only two blocks from charming Main Street. Enjoy your custom breakfast, prepared by an experienced caterer, in your room, the dining room, or in our lushly-planted gardens. Relax in our hot tub under the stars. Reserve our entire property for your wedding, reunion, corporate meeting, or any other special event. Sorry, no pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Secret Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing