We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding Reception” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Secret Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Secret Garden
Ranked #3 of 9 Ouray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Wedding Reception”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

How can you miss, with the San Juan mountains surrounding a darling B&B, beautiful grounds, delicious meals (breakfast and wedding reception), great service and a warm hostess (Sara Sharpe)? Only 3 rooms, but they are darling for the bride to get ready for the ceremony and a few family members. There are other places to stay close by in Ouray - for other family members and friends. We did jeep rides, hikes, climbs, cruised the darling shops.

Highly recommend Sara's breakfasts: cornmeal pancakes light as air (she shared the recipe with me later); egg stratas, light an fluffy muffins.

Reception: best beef tenderloin for a crowd ever, and delicious chicken. Delicious wedding desserts, like the chocolate mouse wedding cake.

Thank you, Sara, for all you did to make our stay a wonderful memory to treasure.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jjoh_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    10
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
24
60
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wheat Ridge, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

My husband and I visited Ouray and were amazed with the b&b we found. We had a wonderful time and felt right at home. The garden is amazing with spectacular views. We loved walking into a very nice clean house. After hiking Mt. Sneffles soaking in the hot tub was the best. We had scintillating conversations with Sara while enjoying a delicious breakfast. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank almanuvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Alamos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

We are a family of four (4 and 2 yrs old boys) and we had the greatest time at the secret garden! Our room was lovely, the food was great, the hostess is very gracious, the garden is breathtaking (and spacious enough for our boys to run around after breakfast :)). We would definitely recommend it to a family and even more to couples (soooo romantic!)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mietta3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

I can't say enough about the welcoming appeal of this property. There are multiple gardens surrounding a clean and quaint home, and indeed, from the moment we arrived, (late!) the proprietor and heart of Secret Garden, Sara Sharpe, was there to meet and welcome us to her home.
The meals were wonderful, and any special needs were promptly and happily answered.
While very close to the heart of town (an easy walk), the property has the feel of being tucked away in it's own private space ,trees everywhere, and the most beautiful river just steps away. Making your way into the town of Ouray is a must, with great restaurants,pubs, and of course shopping!
We would without hesitation recommend this gorgeous and well-run Secret treasure to any CO traveler!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saralacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

My wife and I chose this B&B based on other traveler reviews and we were likewise not disappointed (we stayed for seven nights). Sara is an excellent host and caters to your every need--especially at breakfast. The location is perfect a flew blocks off downtown Ouray within easy walking distance of local shopping and dining. While I have no basis for comparision with other Ouray lodging we believe we made a very good decision to stay here and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to others. The property is very well maintained and beautiful and of course is located in the Little Switzerland of America with numerous outdoor activities (hiking, biking, jeep tours, mine tours, etc.). Makes a great base for exploration of nearby towns such as Ridgway and Telluride. We hope to return and believe you will find this a very nice B&B if staying in Ouray. Our best wishes to Sara!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelersfromIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton Township, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2011

My sister and I stayed at Secret Garden while on a 'road trip' and it was fabulous. The room and bathroom were very spacious, beds comfortable, and the decor elegant, with a variety of soaps and lotions that were an extra touch. Sara offers gracious hospitality and cares about her guests. We wanted an early breakfast so we could get on the road and that was no problem. We treasure the conversation shared and Sara's caring spirit.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suevf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastian, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

My husband and I had never stayed in a Bed and Breakfast before and what a treat! Sara, the owner, was so kind and helpful, and her place is beautiful, quaint, and welcoming. We instantly felt at home. And the breakfast the next morning.... oh my! It was made with love by Sara and it was absolutely delicious. Visiting the town of Ouray, Colorado is a must, and the next time we're there, we'll be staying at this B&B again.

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank racmlp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.7 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
0.2 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.2 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#7 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
#8 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ouray Victorian Inn
Ouray Victorian Inn
#5 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.1 mi away
China Clipper Inn
China Clipper Inn
#1 of 9 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Garden

Property: Secret Garden
Address: 101 6 Ave., PO Box 862, Ouray, CO 81427-0862
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Secret Garden 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sounds of songbirds and gurgling brooks greet you in the morning at Secret Garden, even though we are only two blocks from charming Main Street. Enjoy your custom breakfast, prepared by an experienced caterer, in your room, the dining room, or in our lushly-planted gardens. Relax in our hot tub under the stars. Reserve our entire property for your wedding, reunion, corporate meeting, or any other special event. Sorry, no pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, HRS, Ebookers and TravelUp so you can book your Secret Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing