We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find!!!”
Review of Matterhorn Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Matterhorn Motel
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Ouray
Certificate of Excellence
Katy, Texas
1 review
“Great find!!!”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My husband and I recently found ourselves in Ouray for a couple of nights, and happened upon this awesome place! Newly renovated rooms, the prices are really good, and the management bent over backwards for us. We were so pleasantly surprised! The beds are extremely comfortable, and the free breakfast at the restaurant down the street is a sweet bonus. I promise you, we will never stay anywhere else in Ouray!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    45
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
52
60
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed at the Matterhorn Motel in Ouray on a motorcycle trip through Telluride, Ouray, and the Million Dollar Highway. Right off Main St., it's a great location and a very sweet motel. Reservations recommended anywhere in Ouray at this time of year (Summer) — and June is a great time to visit as the snow melt is in full swing with the river running full and streams popping up everywhere along the mountainsides. There's a nice waterfall chugging out lots of water right now too, just above the main street, called Cascade Falls.

Our room was on the second floor which afforded a nice view of the mountains and nearby main drag in one direction, and the river down below in the other direction. Very clean, well appointed, a/c working well for the hot daytime temps and a nice feature is the flooring — clean, shiny, Pergo floors, rather than carpet. I'd recommend this to motels in general, as carpeting can get so dirty and gross in motels. The Pergo floors give a breezy, clean air to the place, and you KNOW the floor is clean.

The room had a nice entertainment center with doors on it, and down below the t.v. behind those cupboard doors is where you'll find the coffee maker tucked away. I couldn't find a hairdryer and thought that was a missing feature, but did stumble across it as we were leaving and doing a last check. It was in the middle drawer below the sink. Check all the drawers — not just top ones.

Bathroom was clean, good water pressure and plenty of hot water. The usual "Desert Essence" bath supplies that are everywhere in hotels and motels around the Southwest.

The front desk lady was very friendly and helpful, and there is wifi and it's free. (Take a lesson, hotels that don't offer that! It's a basic!)

Loved our stay! Big thumbs up.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marielle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My boyfriend and I are traveling around Colorado for the summer and we stumbled upon this little gem. I would highly recommend this place if you are passing through and want a nice, clean, quiet place to stay. The rooms have just been renovated and everything is very nice and new. It just went under new management so if you see any bad reviews, its probably from the previous ownership. The family that runs the place are very nice and helpful and willing to give a good deal. The outside may look a little run down, but thats not true for the inside. The beds are amazing and there are nice flat screens. Also, the soaps they give are organic and work great!! You'll love the Matterhorn!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Traveling by motorcycle & got caught by the snow. Quiet, cheap, and close to town. Rooms are old but serviceable. People were nice. TV old, bed ok, big parking lot. Could use an update but the price was right.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank easyeric601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick D, Public Relations Manager at Matterhorn Motel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Hi, I represent the Matterhorn Motel in Ouray, and I'm not sure when you stayed with us, but we were closed this winter, at least since January. The Matterhorn recently changed ownership in January and was being completely remodeled on the inside from then to May. Now every single room is completely modernized, equipped with air conditioning, has pillow-top mattresses, and large flat screen TVs, as well as other various amenities. Hopefully you'll be back in town sometime soon and can experience the brand new Matterhorn and all of the work that was put into the rooms!

Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.7 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
900 reviews
0.3 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge
Timber Ridge Lodge
#13 of 15 in Ouray
156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ouray Inn
Ouray Inn
#6 of 15 in Ouray
126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#12 of 15 in Ouray
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matterhorn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matterhorn Motel

Property: Matterhorn Motel
Address: 201 Sixth Ave, Ouray, CO 81427
Region: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ouray
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Matterhorn Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious motel set in the middle of the San Juan Mountains in the town of Ouray. We provide the most modern and comfortable rooms in the city of Ouray. Come and experience a sense of tranquility among beautiful scenes of nature in the cozy lodgings we offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Matterhorn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matterhorn Hotel Ouray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing