We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully located!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ouray Victorian Inn
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Ouray
Certificate of Excellence
holstein iowa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautifully located!!!!”
Reviewed 10 July 2010

We have NO complaints..... the owners were pleasant, and always around to answer our questions..... the scenery was the BEST..... the breakfast was easy and good enough...
the family suite was great,,, we had a room to the back, and the river noise was wonderful, and our 19 year old son, LOVED the king size bed, in the front room, with his own flat sreen tv.....plus the day bed was good for us to watch tv before going to bed. i loved the bathroom set up, with the roomy counter top on each side of the sink... plenty to keep you busy in this town...we used the hot tubs one night, that was awesome to sit back and look at the mountains, while relaxing,,, the owner came out, and asked how the water temp. was cause he had just changed the water that day,, so i thought that was nice of him... wonderful experience ....

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rayandsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    113
    25
    9
    7
See reviews for
141
187
28
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Temple, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2010

Ouray, Colorado is a beautiful city surrounded by mountains. We love coming to this place and riding jeeps on top of the surrounding mountains. The Victorian Inn is a great place to stay. We used the breakfast room in the evening to play games. The owner came in and visited with us. She and her husband have been spending a lot of time updating the inn after purchasing it. They have removed all the mismatched wallpaper and painted all the rooms. The linens are all new and are a very good quality. They felt like a luxury hotel. We loved listening to the river at night. It cools down every evening and we had a great night's sleep. The hosts were very accomodating to any special need we had. One morning it was raining and she made recommendations of alternate activities. As the owner of a small business, I was pleased that we were able to stay at this friendly hotel with lots of personal attention.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TXFlowerLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2010

We almost always chose to stay in a chain hotel on our 4-5 weeks of vacation a year. In researching prices of hotel stays in Ouray, we used Trip Advisor and decided to stay at this Inn. What a wonderful experience! The innkeepers care not only about your stay at their Inn but your total experience in Ouray! They not only provide a warm and friendly atmosphere from the moment of check-in, but wonderful suggestions on where to eat and what to do while you are in town. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable! We were fortunate to have a stream behind our room, and enjoyed hearing it in our room. The owners live on the property so it was not surprising to see them out visiting with guests and checking on their needs during the evening. We took advantage of the wonderful weather to sit outside our room and relax. There was a wonderful family staying next door, and we sat out and visited, along with other people happening by. Everyone staying at the Inn was friendly, and we all enjoyed the peace and quiet atmosphere of the Inn in companionable silence. We will definitely return to Ouray and stay at this Inn!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank usedphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2010

We selected this hotel based on reviews from this site and we were disappointed. Bottom line, we would not stay at the Ouray Victorian Inn again. It was suggested that this hotel was recently renovated but it still needs a lot of work. Paint was sparse in many locations. The deck at the rear of our family suite was in very poor condition. The decor in the sleeping rooms were very outdated and the bathtub was very slow to drain. The continental breakfast was decent but they opened a bit late (7:30am) and they ran out of milk by 8am the last day we stayed with them. The wireless internet coverage was spotty at best while the signal strength was much stronger from the hotel across the street. All-in-all, this was not a horrible hotel but it really needs some additional TLC. Regarding value, we stayed in the larger family suite (additional cost) and they still wanted to charge us an extra $10 each for our two teenagers per night. We stayed in five different hotels in Colorado during our recent visit and this was our least favorite of the bunch.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Augie005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OVIJan, Owner at Ouray Victorian Inn, responded to this review, 6 July 2010
We are sorry that this guest felt let down. When this family checked in, we apologized that the decks off the family suites had not been painted and they had no problems with that at the time. We are in the process of painting the entire hotel and had not yet been able to get to the decks due to a week of rainy weather immediately prior to their arrival. The balconies however were clean and primed so there was nothing to prevent them from being fully used.

The suite that they selected is a two-room family suite that is capable of sleeping up to 6 family members. However, as is clearly stated in two places on our website where this guest booked the room, all rates are double occupancy. Up to two children under 12 may stay free. Otherwise, there is a $10.00 per night charge for additional people in a room to cover the cost of breakfast, additional linens, and additional cleaning. We are sorry that this guest did not take time to read our pricing structure. As it was, we only charged him for 1 extra person as a goodwill gesture.

We also regret that this guest did not report any problems such as the slow draining tub at the time. We respond to such issues immediately. As they did not mention it, we had no way of knowing it was a problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2010

We started out on a quick vacation by heading west from Colorado Springs. Spent a few nights in Durango, and then went north to Ouray, which we heard was billed as Switzerland of America and the best-kept secret vacation spot in the state. After traveling the Million-Dollar Highway (wow, with views straight down and no guard rails to spoil the scenery), we drove through town to check out most of the lodging options. There are a lot of places to stay there, but we tried the Ouray Victorian Inn at 50 3rd Avenue, and had a wonderful time. Our hosts were Jan and Brian Lisk, accompanied by Roscoe and Stripes who provide friendly and thorough 4-legged security for the premises.

The Inn is quite nice—very quiet, with large well-appointed rooms. We took a suite which had an extra bedroom in the back (for when I start snoring), and the front room was equipped with a King and a very useful day-bed which was great for napping, lounging and watching HDTV. The Uncompaghre River was ‘up’, and it flowed right under the rear balcony, providing lots of happy white noise all through the night. Our host and hostess gave us many tips on what to do and see in the area. Box Canyon Falls is a short walk/hike from the Inn, and most of the restaurants and shops in the ‘historic district’ are also within easy walking distance. Views from the Inn consist of nothing but beautiful mountains rising in all directions, with several visible waterfalls at this time of year.

The room came with a fridge, and there are two spas/hot-tubs in front of the buildings. The Inn is surrounded by beautiful grounds which are very well tended, with fresh paint and lots of flowers and nice gardens. The Ouray Victorian Inn was a great value and the best choice we could have made. They provide a complimentary free Breakfast with choices of breads, juices and cereals, and they also have some unique cook-your-own-eggs machines which let you fix them the way you want. You can also scramble them in the microwave if you wish. Very nice touch…

This was our first visit to Ouray, but we’ll be back, and will stay at the Ouray Victorian Inn when we return. Recommend it highly.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ledfordfp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheyenne, Wyoming
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2010

We have made several vacation trips to Ouray over that past several years. This was our first stay at the Victorian Inn. Our group included 12 couples on a motorcycle tour of southwest Colorado. We all felt most comfortable and welcome. We will return to the Victorian.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rwagnerfoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2010

The Victorian Inn is a great place to stay. You can park in front of your room and it is close to the shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hadair4956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.9 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
893 reviews
0.0 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#12 of 15 in Ouray
231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ouray Inn
Ouray Inn
#7 of 15 in Ouray
119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Matterhorn Motel
Matterhorn Motel
#10 of 15 in Ouray
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ouray Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ouray Victorian Inn

Property: Ouray Victorian Inn
Address: 50 Third Ave, Ouray, CO 81427
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ouray
#7 Family Hotel in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ouray Victorian Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ouray Victorian Inn is a small family run hotel, where you will be welcomed as guests and treated like family. Our size and style lets us provide each guest with personal attention and the level of service that they desire. In the summer Jeepers, Hikers, Bikers, and Photographers choose the Victorian Inn for its central location and spectacular views. In the winter, Ice Climbers from all over the world call the Inn home because we are the closest hotel to the Ouray Ice Park. We invite you to join us for what ever reason draws you to beautiful Ouray, known as the Switzerland of America. Our lovely river side hotel offers clean, well-appointed rooms, family suites and meeting facilities, with spectacular views of southwest Colorado’s San Juan Mountains.While at the Victorian Inn hotel, enjoy a hot hotel breakfast each morning; relax in our comfortable chairs, soak in our outdoor spas while taking in our amazing views, and watch the children enjoy our play equipment. Let the sounds of the river lull you to sleep. The Ouray Victorian Inn has designated dog-friendly rooms and is 100% non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ouray Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ouray Victorian Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing