We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice and Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ouray Victorian Inn
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Ouray
Certificate of Excellence
Georgetown, Texas
1 review
“Very Nice and Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2010

We travel to Ouray several times during the ice climbing season and decided to stay at the Vic after hearing that it had been updated by the new owners. We were not disappointed in any way. The management was very friendly and our room, along with the sun room, was very clean and comfortable. Our room had a small frig and coffee plate and was spacious. The hotel is on a quite side street and is in easy walking distance to both downtown and the ice park. We will definitely stay there again on future trips.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonChur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    112
    25
    8
    7
See reviews for
136
182
27
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Broomfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2010

We went to ice climb for the Christmas holiday but the ice was in poor condition so we only stayed one of the four nights we had booked. The inn has been completely updated, the rooms were clean and spacious; Jan, the owner was warm and friendly; the Sunroom has been completely remodeled and there were a lot of choices for breakfast . There are new flat screen TV's, bedding and towels. The room is equipped with a small refrigerator and small coffee pot. The bed was extremely comfortable and there was more than adequate space for your gear. The Ice Park is within easy walking distance. We plan on staying there on every trip we take during ice climbing season and we were really disappointed we didn't get to spend Christmas 2010 at the Vic.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icechickwithpic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2010

We stayed here many years ago and it was great. Review was good, so we were excited about staying again. The room was clean enough but the office was dirty with dog/cat hair everywhere. So much so that we didn't stay for breakfast. Will not stay again or recommend.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank santafetwinbeech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OVIJan, Owner at Ouray Victorian Inn, responded to this review, 10 November 2010
We are sorry that this guest's stay was less than expected. It is our goal to meet or exceed every expectations. However, as we indicated to this guest when they walked in looking for a room that, while we were happy to give them a room for the night, we were actually closed for the season. Moreover, we were in the middle of two major construction projects: installing air conditioning in the throughout the property and reroofing the entire structure. Therefore, we simply were not cleaning the office as we normally do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carbondale, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2010

Off the beaten path, but just blocks away from the heart of downtown. The Inn has all your pet friendly needs. First access to trail head to hike Box Canyon.
The Inn was closed, due to off season, however they were more than accomadating to simply open a room for us and my friends 18 yr old dog CHAZ. which will probably be one of her last trips It was BIg Deal and the Victorian came through.

THanks,
Gray Todman

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2010

I booked the Ouray Victorian Inn based on their website, TripAdvisor reviews, and the great price. I'm so happy I did - what a phenomenal property. Great location, stunning views, warm & welcoming hosts Jan & Brian, very comfortable and large rooms, and fantastic value.

We stayed in a 2 room family suite on the second level. The main (front) room was huge, with a queen bed, day bed, table and chairs, plenty of storage, and a new flat screen TV. The back room had a queen bed and dresser, and a door that opened to a private balcony with 2 chairs overlooking the Uncompahgre River. The two rooms connected through the washroom area with a large mirror & sink accompanied by well-selected complimentary toiletries, and a separate room for the toilet and bathtub. It must be mentioned that the shower had amazing pressure - great for relieving aching muscles.

The furnishings are older, which perfectly suits the Victorian style of the property and the solitude of Ouray. Trendy Euro-chic would be out of place in Ouray. The beds were very comfortable, with good linens. And, most important, the entire suite was absolutely spotlessly clean.

The property also offers 2 outdoor hot tubs surrounded by a large deck with patio tables and chairs. There is also an ample children's play area with quite a bit of playground equipment.

My friend took the main room, and I lucked out and got the back bedroom. With the windows open to the chilly fresh night air, and the gurgling waters of the Uncompaghre River below, I had my best night's sleep in months.

In the morning we enjoyed the short walk up the hill to Box Canyon before breakfast. A great way to work up an appetite for the array of food Jan provided. Excellent choice of various breads & muffins, yoghurts, fresh fruit, juices, and cook-your-own eggs - a great alternative to the typical precooked, runny, sneezed-upon scrambled eggs found in most "chain" hotels. My soft boiled egg turned out better than I make at home. Ready in just 8 minutes - enough time to relax and enjoy my first cup of wonderful coffee. The instructions are posted above the egg-cooker, and are simple to follow (add water, turn on). Ignore what that previous obtuse whiner posted about having to cook their own eggs - they're evidently illiterate, or more likely an ignoramus who doesn't deserve the hospitality of the Ouray Victorian Inn nor the beauty of Ouray itself.

I stay in hotels around the world about 25 nights per year - from budget motels to ultra-luxury exclusive 5+ star hotels - from Denver to Dubai ... and the Ouray Victorian Inn has now won a place in my top 10 of the hundreds of hotels I've enjoyed. I wish we were able to stay longer than just one night. I'll definitely return!

Thanks again Jan & Brian, and please give Rascal a scritch behind the ears and a belly rub for me.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheEasyGoingGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Ouray Victorian Inn. It was charming, extremely well maintained, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very good - I would call it continental plus. In addition, the rates were very reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cubanal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pueblo, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2010

Spotless, comfortable room. Great staff (owners). Couldn't have been more pleased.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timberline4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.0 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.9 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
#8 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#7 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ouray Inn
Ouray Inn
#10 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ouray Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ouray Victorian Inn

Property: Ouray Victorian Inn
Address: 50 Third Ave, Ouray, CO 81427
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ouray
#7 Family Hotel in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ouray Victorian Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ouray Victorian Inn is a small family run hotel, where you will be welcomed as guests and treated like family. Our size and style lets us provide each guest with personal attention and the level of service that they desire. In the summer Jeepers, Hikers, Bikers, and Photographers choose the Victorian Inn for its central location and spectacular views. In the winter, Ice Climbers from all over the world call the Inn home because we are the closest hotel to the Ouray Ice Park. We invite you to join us for what ever reason draws you to beautiful Ouray, known as the Switzerland of America. Our lovely river side hotel offers clean, well-appointed rooms, family suites and meeting facilities, with spectacular views of southwest Colorado’s San Juan Mountains.While at the Victorian Inn hotel, enjoy a hot hotel breakfast each morning; relax in our comfortable chairs, soak in our outdoor spas while taking in our amazing views, and watch the children enjoy our play equipment. Let the sounds of the river lull you to sleep. The Ouray Victorian Inn has designated dog-friendly rooms and is 100% non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ouray Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ouray Victorian Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing