We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fantastic Historic Hotel in Colorado”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Ouray
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Historic Hotel in Colorado”
Reviewed 18 October 2011

The Beaumont Hotel is the best historic hotel we have ever stayed in. From our arrival until our departure, the staff was extremely helpful, pleasant, cheerful, and efficient. The hotel room we had was beautiful - historically furnished and with modern bathroom facilities. We had dinner in the Bistro and it was exceptionally good. The wait staff was more than willing to please. The continental breakfast we had was way above what we expected. The hotel itself is worth the trip to Colorado.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Butterfly Room and it was more than worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    39
    12
    5
    9
See reviews for
18
230
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Discovered the Beaumont Hotel on a fall color trip to Colorado. It was restored completely in 2004 and the facilities were great. Continental breakfast next morning was great too!. Room was appointed well and luxurious.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julywest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Only thing that would have made our stay better was if we could have stayed longer! So happy to have found you Beaumont! Was touring Colorado enjoying the fall foilage. Ended up in Ouray looking for lodging. The Beaumont had one room left....boy were we blessed! Such a beautiful place, however, it is the staff and owners that truly make your stay! If you want to feel like royalty for a day, this is the place to be. A special "thank you" to Dennis who went above and beyond to help us get our keys out of a locked trunk! And lastly, after you've enjoyed the restaurant at the Beaumont, be sure and catch breakfast at the Backstreet Bistro on Main Street before leaving Ouray!!!! Once you do, you'll know why!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b301pbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 447 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

First, I hope this hotel understands what kind of employee they have in Dennis. He is first class all the way. He desires nothing less than to enlighten those who stay here about the hotel and he will try to accommodate all your needs.

When we arrived, we asked if there were any rooms available besides ours and there were. After a wonderful tour of the hotel, we ended up opting for 2 different rooms than we originally selected. My mom stayed in the Dragonfly suite and it was gorgeous. I stayed in the Skylight suite and it was also gorgeous and huge. Apparently Oprah Winfrey stayed in the Dragonfly suite back in May. Mom thought most of the rooms were a little dark but Dennis explained that the ambience of most room was to try and reflect how those who stayed before us experienced the hotel. I did not think it was that dark.

Upon entering the Dragonfly suite, there is a long well lit entranceway with a huge closet. Inside the room, the ceiling has dragonflies with a butterfly border and two tiffany style chandeliers. The room has a couch and desk with two night stands and a TV stand which I think was on top of a dresser drawer.

The Dragonfly has a beautiful bath. The tub is separate from the shower and tile gleams white to show how clean they keep it. The amenities are top notch. The bathrobes are also luxurious and I would have purchased one if I did not already have a great robe. My mom said the bed was heavenly. This room overlooks the street but it is very quiet in Ouray into the late evening. She did have issues with the TV remote. Hers did not change channels as easily as mine and I could not fix it.

My suite, the Skylight, was HUGE and well lit. There was a small kitchen area with sink and refrigerator and cabinets. There is a skylight with natural and man-made lights (you can control these separate) over the kitchenette. Turn around and there is an oval table gracing the front two interior windows (yes, these face inside the hotel but have drapes). You also do not have numerous people floating by your room so no worries. Round the corner and there is a hallway with couch and two tables across from the TV. My remote gave me no trouble.

As you walk into the bedroom there is a large desk to the left and a huge skylight above. In the bedroom, there is a large armoire with TV and bed with 2 night stands. I slept very well. A window overlooks the street. The bathroom is the largest in the hotel. It had a claw foot tub and separate shower. The shower had good pressure and hot water. The amenities were excellent.

I will make one caveat. If it is a full moon out and you do not like natural light shinning by your bed, this would not be the room for you. Me, I loved the moonlight coming through. This room was home away from home for me.

One other thing, but I believe this will be fixed; I had a leak overhead from the attic door when I turned the heat on. I had to turn off the unit entirely for it to stop but the weather was nice outside and the insulation of the hotel is excellent so it was ok.

The breakfast was small with cereal and toast and yogurt. There were 2 pastry selections. A hard-boiled egg with slicer and fruit was available along with coffee, juice and milk. Given the small number of guests in the hotel this was appropriate and everything was excellent.
My mom and I had dinner at the hotel the night before, we had the trout and it was delicious along with everything else.

I would definitely stay here again and even if you are not staying here, I would at least eat in the restaurant if you are in Ouray (pronounced U-RAY).

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HazelEyesFromTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
University Park, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

After a day of traveling by motorcycle, a wonderful place to relax is in order. The Beaumont far surpassed that requirement! From the moment we walked through the door, we knew we had made the right choice. The decor was early 1900's but had been renovated in 2007, and was just beautiful. We chose the Dragonfly Suite and our son and his wife had the Dove Suite. They were both large, with all of the modern conveniences. The staff, especially Dennis, were on their toes and actually took you to each of our rooms to show us everything. Even how to turn on the TV! He encouraged us to enjoy the VooDoo Lounge in the hotel, which served great martinis. The location was right in the middle of town, so we could walk around and shop and dine. The included continental breakfast was typical, but sufficient. Overall, it was one of the highlights of our trip.
We will definitely plan to stop here again on our annual Fall Colors Motorcycle ride through the Silver Thread and Million Dollar Highway.

Room Tip: The Junior Suites are all nice and a good value. Dragonfly and Dove were the ones we chose. They ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellover060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We weren't fortunate enough to stay here, but it's on the main street of Ouray, which is quiet. Wide streets. Easily affordable. Gorgeously decorated rooms. Authentic. We snooped around. They have their own parking. We ate at their wonderful restaurant, which has a wine list to die for. Food was excellent & so was the dessert! Nice, friendly people. Operated by the owners. Beautiful atmosphere with lots of history. Best place in town.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bibthesquid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cortez, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Anyone looking into staying at the Beaumont Hotel & Spa in Ouray, CO, think again. The hotel was purchased by new owners in Oct. 2010 and they are not willing to honor the gift certificate given to us for a wedding gift because it is over 18 months old. Not only will they not honor the gift certificate, the owner Jennifer was very unfriendly and unwilling to take into consideration that we were unaware of the new ownership, basically we were told that we were out of luck and we should have checked their website for the policy...

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank monkey1766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenBeaumontHotelSpa, Owner at Beaumont Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 October 2011
We are sorry we were unable to explain, to your satisfaction, why we cannot honor a gift certificate purchased from a different merchant. We are holding training for our staff to find a better way to convey why we cannot accept gift certificates from a different business.

Since you have not visited our hotel, we would love for you to come by so we can introduce ourselves. Again, we apologize for any discomfort you experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.8 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
893 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
156 reviews
0.2 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ouray Inn
Ouray Inn
#7 of 15 in Ouray
119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ouray Victorian Inn
Ouray Victorian Inn
#4 of 15 in Ouray
475 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#12 of 15 in Ouray
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaumont Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaumont Hotel & Spa

Property: Beaumont Hotel & Spa
Address: 505 Main Street, #1265, Ouray, CO 81427
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beaumont Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1886 at the height of the “Gold Boom,” this lovely old hotel is still known as the 'Flagship of the San Juans." Graciously appointed with sumptuous amenities, the boutique hotel has welcomed such famous guests as U.S. Presidents Theodore Roosevelt and Herbert Hoover, King Leopold of Belgium, Chipeta (widow of Ute Chief Ouray), French actress Sarah Bernhardt, American actress Angie Dickenson and (most recently) media megastar, Oprah Winfrey. Recent restorations modernized the entire structure to meet the needs and cares of today's traveler while preserving the property's historical grandeur.The historic Beaumont Hotel & Spa is the only luxury hotel in Ouray, Colorado. The setting is unique, the experience unforgettable. Guests are treated to modern amenities, including wireless high-speed internet, and outstanding personalized service paired with timeless old world ambience. Elegant, authentic decor, exquisite antiques, and custom-made furnishings combined with on-site dining, shopping, a luxurious spa and concierge services make this award-winning boutique hotel a delightful destination.Twelve elegantly furnished luxury rooms and suites, each uniquely furnished and decorated with reproductions and restorations of original hotel antiques. The hotel provides an elevator and reserved (heated) off-street parking for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beaumont Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing