We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beaumont Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Ouray
Certificate of Excellence
Durango, Colorado
1 review
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

We have stayed at the Beaumont many times and it is always a wonderful experience. The hotel has been beautifully restored. It has a very relaxing and peaceful ambiance. The town of Ouray is a beautiful historic western town. When you stay at the Beamont and look out at the town, you feel like you have went back in time!

Room Tip: All 12 rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    38
    12
    4
    7
See reviews for
17
226
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
140 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

We slept there one night in September and that's just a pity we didn't stay longer, both for the hotel and the area (can anybody tell me why is this hotel classified as B & B). The style of the hotel and the rooms are great, the rooms and bathroom are big and well furnished. WiFi is free, but you have to pay for the bottle of water (what a strange idea, in our three weeks trip in Wyoming and Colorado, I think that's the only place were there wasn't a complimentary bottle of water). Ok, if this is the main complaint, that shows that everything else was great. We also had a dinner at the hotel's restaurant, and that was great.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OneAdvisedTravaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niwot, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

When planning this wedding, I had no idea it would turn out so incredibly. No photographs cannot capture completely the grandeur of the Beaumont Hotel. Then there are the San Juan Mountains surrounding the hotel and the cute, historic town of Ouray.

As guests, we stayed in the Beaumont's perfectly restored rooms. Book early as there are only 12 rooms! Each is unique, glamorous and five star. Every detail has been fussed over. Careful attention has been paid to keep the hotel's historic nature, yet all is thoroughly modern. I am well travelled and this is my favorite hotel.

We were treated like dignitaries, but still let our hair down and celebrated with our favorite people, wine and the best prime rib we've ever had.

Day after the wedding day, a group of us went 4-wheeling in rented jeeps keeping the fun going.

You won't regret booking your wedding in the Beaumont. Jennifer and Chad will help you every step of the way. The wedding party just has to show up!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djzisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

The Beaumont Hotel has been beautifully renovated and the decor is excellent. Our room was spacious and very clean. However, we did find the staff to be slightly impersonal and the breakfast, I'm afraid, is definitely below par, really not worth bothering with.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patriot12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

We had the most personal guide at a hotel that we had ever experienced. A gentleman by the name of Bryan Hall took considerable time and shared the history of this fabulous hotel. Would highly recommend this location for your stay in one of the most beautiful towns in America.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the mountains. However all twelve rooms are great. Think about a wedding at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stacyacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane99206
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

I stayed at the Beaumont from 22-24 August 2012 in Room #303 (with the spiral). I absolutely loved it. I have stayed at the Beaumont many times over the years since 2004 and regardless of the room that I've stayed in, it's been a delight. Service is impeccable. I will continue to stay here for years to come. Ouray is an incredible destination with many options: hiking, biking,
jeeping, etc. The only thing that I miss is the great restaurant that Dan and Mary King had; but I understand just why it went "gone with the wind" and just why the Leavers chose the venues that they did. I will always love the supreme treatment at the Beaumont, and I can't believe that I visited Ouray in the late 1970s-early 1980s and didn't see the pink Beaumont! Se la vie!!

Room Tip: Don't miss a room on the third floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpokaneWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holladay, Utah
Level Contributor
91 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

My husband and I spent 2 wonderful evenings at the Beaumont hotel & spa in Ouray, Colorado. We had finished our business and were desiring a quick and luxurious break over the labor day weekend. Immediately the Beaumont captured our hearts with it's gorgeous antiques and charming staff. The building itself is impressive and lovingly restored. Our room on the 2nd floor was beautiful. High-end sheets, towels and bath products all add to the "special" and luxe feeling.
Upon checking in there was a mix-up regarding our reservation. Initially we had only 1 night at the hotel. Though disappointed, we understood that these things occasionally happen. We were treated with the utmost regard and employee Dennis made certain we would have a room at another hotel. Eventually a cancellation allowed us to remain in our room and we were able to enjoy 2 full nights. Due to any inconvenience, Dennis offered us the enjoyment of the private spa hot tub. The spa is stylish & super clean with magnifiscent views of the San Juan mountains. We were very impressed with the attention and desire to "make the situation right". BTW - Dennis is an absolutely exceptional employee of the hotel. As small business owners we were pleased to see his hard working yet always friendly attitude.
Beaumont hotel breakfasts are included and continental. They have excellent coffee and fresh juice. A selection of bread, fruits and yogurt round out the perfect start to the day.
Initially we were not looking forward to traveling on such a busy weekend. I seriously doubted that we would be having much pleasure on our business trip. I'm happy to report that the Beaumont absolutely "made" our trip worthwhile and very relaxing. When possible, we prefer to stay in higher-end bed & breakfast establishments when traveling.... and the Beaumont easily has become one of our favorites.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnetteUtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenBeaumontHotelSpa, Owner at Beaumont Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 October 2012
Thank you so much for your positive review. Thanks also for appreciating the effort our staff puts forth to make sure that our guests are completely happy. We enjoyed you two and hope to see you again soon! Please like us on facebook to receive special offers and news about the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ouray
0.2 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.8 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ouray Victorian Inn
Ouray Victorian Inn
#5 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#7 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.1 mi away
Matterhorn Motel
Matterhorn Motel
#10 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Hotel Telluride
The Hotel Telluride
#1 of 10 in Telluride
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaumont Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaumont Hotel & Spa

Property: Beaumont Hotel & Spa
Address: 505 Main Street, Ouray, CO 81427
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beaumont Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1886 at the height of the “Gold Boom,” this lovely old hotel is still known as the 'Flagship of the San Juans." Graciously appointed with sumptuous amenities, the boutique hotel has welcomed such famous guests as U.S. Presidents Theodore Roosevelt and Herbert Hoover, King Leopold of Belgium, Chipeta (widow of Ute Chief Ouray), French actress Sarah Bernhardt, American actress Angie Dickenson and (most recently) media megastar, Oprah Winfrey. Recent restorations modernized the entire structure to meet the needs and cares of today's traveler while preserving the property's historical grandeur.The historic Beaumont Hotel & Spa is the only luxury hotel in Ouray, Colorado. The setting is unique, the experience unforgettable. Guests are treated to modern amenities, including wireless high-speed internet, and outstanding personalized service paired with timeless old world ambience. Elegant, authentic decor, exquisite antiques, and custom-made furnishings combined with on-site dining, shopping, a luxurious spa and concierge services make this award-winning boutique hotel a delightful destination.Twelve elegantly furnished luxury rooms and suites, each uniquely furnished and decorated with reproductions and restorations of original hotel antiques. The hotel provides an elevator and reserved (heated) off-street parking for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Beaumont Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing