We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best historic hotels of the rockies.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beaumont Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Ouray
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
“One of the best historic hotels of the rockies.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

I'm a historic hotel buff. Particularly historic hotels in small historic and scenic towns. Well it really doesn't get much more scenic than the tiny historic town of Ouray. And the Beaumont hotel was the icing on the cake with the perfect location on Main St. Our room was super clean and nice. We stayed in a suite on the third floor and it was quite spacious. The nice man at working the front desk was kind enough to tell my roommate and I about the history of the hotel which we found very fascinating. I can't remember his name but he was from Texas (as are we) and was one of the nicest hotel employees i've ever encountered, he made us feel very at home so a special thank you to him. You know how you have certain special memories through out your life that can always make you feel good when you ponder them and last a life time? Ouray and The Beaumont hotel have been added to that list for me.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Winston_976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    38
    12
    4
    7
See reviews for
17
226
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

We love Ouray! The Beaumont is restored in fine detail with rich fabrics and lace to ceiling crown molding. It is beautiful and well cared for. Morgan and Bryan can't do enough to make you feel welcomed. They are exemplary in attitute and service. We did have some issue with the bed being too hard for us and the breakfast fare was lacking imagination. Their restaurant has an exceptional chef. We enjoyed our meal there. Thanks Tracy and Bruce for the best service we ever had!

Room Tip: Mountain view is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori1558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

This hotel is one of the finest restorations we've discovered within the mining town regions of the Colorado Rockies. It has European charm and is beautifully furnished. Ouray is fairly remote, yet the hotel has many excellent amenities. Everything in our lovely room worked very well, including the bath, shower, air conditioning, etc. Views from the hotel are spectacular and the hotel was very quiet and peaceful despite being located on the main street in downtown Ouray. We loved the hotel staff and owners who were extremely helpful, courteous and very informative about the area. Another special aspect of our experience was the hotel restaurant. It is small, friendly and cozy with a wonderful chef. We bagged one other reservation we had in town to return to the Beaumont Grill for another extraordinary meal. We (and our friends) would return to this fine place in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

The hotel has been nicely restored. Having just come from another 4 star property that included a wonderful "cooked to order" breakfast and wonderful diner options and other room amenities that this lacked, however, we thought this was pricy for what we got. The AC was very noisey and the continental breakfast was unattended. We upgraded to a suite to have more room, but it still only had one chair.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diannecarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinney, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed at the Beaumont in July 2013. The Beaumont Hotel has been beautifully restored after setting for 30 years in decline, but has kept it's old world charm. The staff were more than kind and informative. They were there to meet our every need. Our room was quite, peaceful and we had a beautiful view of the Twin Peaks. I loved the victorian look and the comfort was of a 5 star hotel. We will be going back! A Special Thank You to the staff of the Beaumont Hotel!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TimandSue2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

We have stayed two times in the tower suite and loved it. It is such a beautiful place in a very quaint town. The staff is so helpful and it's so nice to see the owners all the time. They actually live at the hotel so they are very hands on. I left a new blouse I bought at the hotel when we checked out and they are sending it to me right away.
Dinner was wonderful and they have great outside dining. The staff is great as well!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

A stay at the Beaumont is like a visit to the elegant past, circa 1890, but with all the amenities of a five-star hotel of 2013. Guests are enveloped in peace and quiet in a place that provides all the qualities of a highly rated hotel but decidedly without the hustle and bustle of much larger establishments. The staff and the level of service are top-notch. We are repeat guests and plan to remain so. The scenery to be found in the surrounding mountains is simply breathtaking.

Room Tip: There are no "bad rooms". The hotel website is a good guide.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobandSally10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ouray
0.2 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.8 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ouray Victorian Inn
Ouray Victorian Inn
#5 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#7 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.1 mi away
Matterhorn Motel
Matterhorn Motel
#10 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Hotel Telluride
The Hotel Telluride
#1 of 10 in Telluride
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaumont Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaumont Hotel & Spa

Property: Beaumont Hotel & Spa
Address: 505 Main Street, Ouray, CO 81427
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beaumont Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1886 at the height of the “Gold Boom,” this lovely old hotel is still known as the 'Flagship of the San Juans." Graciously appointed with sumptuous amenities, the boutique hotel has welcomed such famous guests as U.S. Presidents Theodore Roosevelt and Herbert Hoover, King Leopold of Belgium, Chipeta (widow of Ute Chief Ouray), French actress Sarah Bernhardt, American actress Angie Dickenson and (most recently) media megastar, Oprah Winfrey. Recent restorations modernized the entire structure to meet the needs and cares of today's traveler while preserving the property's historical grandeur.The historic Beaumont Hotel & Spa is the only luxury hotel in Ouray, Colorado. The setting is unique, the experience unforgettable. Guests are treated to modern amenities, including wireless high-speed internet, and outstanding personalized service paired with timeless old world ambience. Elegant, authentic decor, exquisite antiques, and custom-made furnishings combined with on-site dining, shopping, a luxurious spa and concierge services make this award-winning boutique hotel a delightful destination.Twelve elegantly furnished luxury rooms and suites, each uniquely furnished and decorated with reproductions and restorations of original hotel antiques. The hotel provides an elevator and reserved (heated) off-street parking for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Beaumont Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing