We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings about the Beaumont”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Ouray
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings about the Beaumont”
Reviewed 6 August 2008

The Beaumont, a nineteenth-century building, has been recently renovated and refurbished in its original style. It looks authentic and, on the whole, attractive. However, in their search for authenticity, the owners did not pay much attention to comfort. The chairs in the bedroom were too hard and stiff to relax and there was not enough light to read by. The hotel claims to have a "gourmet" restaurant," but the food falls short. It is reminiscent of a 1970s "continental" eatery. The hotel is also understaffed. For example, there was no one to help with the luggage. In addition to being poor, service was sometimes overfamiliar.

  • Liked — Its closeness to the mountains.
  • Disliked — It did not live up to our expectations.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BostonVirginie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    39
    12
    5
    8
See reviews for
18
229
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southern Californhia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2008

Beautiful restoration. Tastefully decorated. Once you entered the hotel, you will feel like time-slipped into the turn on the century. Did not have time to try the spa, but had a lunch and two dinners at Bistro - a casual dining in the courtyard. Everything we had was delicious and reasonable. I would pay extra $20 -30 a day to stay here than other hotels in Ouray!

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LBCHappyCampers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2008

This was our favorite hotel on our 8 day whirlwind tour of Colorado. We only stayed one night and wished we had more time to stay at the hotel and the wonderful town of Ouray.

As other reviewers have said, walking into this place is like walking back in time. The hotel is immaculately restored to its original grandeur and each room is furnished with antiques. The bathrooms in each room are really nice and spacious and provide shampoo, soap, and lotion samples from the spa in the hotel. We regret that we didn't have time to take advantage of the spa because it looked really nice. The Tundra restaurant was not open the night we were there, which was a bit disappointing. Satellite TV with a DVD player is provided in each room, along with bottled water.

I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Ouray, because the Beaumont looked to be the nicest and most historic. The rates are not bad either, especially if you get the AAA discount. I would not recommend this hotel if you have pets or children traveling with you. Otherwise, I would highly recommend it to anyone else. We would like to go back on a future vacation when we have more time to stay.

  • Liked — Historic atmosphere
  • Disliked — Restaurant not open mid-week
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hoppersh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, NM
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2008

While I did not stay at the Beaumont I did tour the hotel and eat at the Tundra Restaurant. I had a wonderful experience with a superb wine and a wonderful desert. Everything was top quality.
While the dining room was not very busy, I can highly recomend the food and service over the highly touted, packed and noisy Bon Ton Restaurant near by. The Beaumont restoration has been superbly done and the whole experience recalled the grand hotels of the past.

  • Liked — atmosphere
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Anasazidogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ada, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2007

My husband and I did not have reservations so we actually just walked in to the lobby of this lovely hotel and walked over to the desk and asked if we could see a room before deciding to stay the night. The manager/clerk was very courteous and hospitable and took us around and showed us several rooms that were all very lovely so we definitely stayed and completely enjoyed our time at The Beaumont! It is a very classy hotel and worth the stay! Many of the places in Ouray are starting to run down but this place is very nice!

  • Liked — Classy, Clean and Elegant!
  • Disliked — No King Size Bed.
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank OKDianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston, texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2007

We stayed at the Beaumont Hotel for our anniversary and thoroughly enjoyed the wonderful accomodations. We had a Junior Suite that was very spacious that had four windows with a great view of the San Juan mountain range in Ouray. All hotel staff was so friendly and helpful to us during our two nights in the hotel and it was so nice to see the beautiful antiques all around us as if we had stepped back in time. We also enjoyed the breakfast in the morning, bistro for lunch and had a very special dinner in the Tundra restaurant in the hotel.

  • Liked — Beautiful victorian hotel - the atmosphere
  • Disliked — Can't think of a thing
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank yake2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coconino County, AZ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2006

After watching this beautiful old historic hotel sit empty for years and years and slowly crumble into a state of disrepair, it's a wonderful thing to see what the new owners, the King's, have done. They've brought it back to it's world class glory and it's once again the landmark building in the charming town of Ouray. Don't miss dinner at the Tundra - outstanding food and service. We had the tower room, a two story suite overlooking Main St. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED IN EVERY WAY!

  • Liked — Service, Ambience, History, Restaurant
  • Disliked — We liked everything about it.
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for Hadji's table at the Tundra - terrific service.
  • Stayed September 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank 2_From_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
151 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
882 reviews
0.2 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ouray Inn
Ouray Inn
#8 of 15 in Ouray
113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ouray Victorian Inn
Ouray Victorian Inn
#4 of 15 in Ouray
472 reviews
0.1 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#7 of 15 in Ouray
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaumont Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaumont Hotel & Spa

Property: Beaumont Hotel & Spa
Address: 505 Main Street, #1265, Ouray, CO 81427
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beaumont Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1886 at the height of the “Gold Boom,” this lovely old hotel is still known as the 'Flagship of the San Juans." Graciously appointed with sumptuous amenities, the boutique hotel has welcomed such famous guests as U.S. Presidents Theodore Roosevelt and Herbert Hoover, King Leopold of Belgium, Chipeta (widow of Ute Chief Ouray), French actress Sarah Bernhardt, American actress Angie Dickenson and (most recently) media megastar, Oprah Winfrey. Recent restorations modernized the entire structure to meet the needs and cares of today's traveler while preserving the property's historical grandeur.The historic Beaumont Hotel & Spa is the only luxury hotel in Ouray, Colorado. The setting is unique, the experience unforgettable. Guests are treated to modern amenities, including wireless high-speed internet, and outstanding personalized service paired with timeless old world ambience. Elegant, authentic decor, exquisite antiques, and custom-made furnishings combined with on-site dining, shopping, a luxurious spa and concierge services make this award-winning boutique hotel a delightful destination.Twelve elegantly furnished luxury rooms and suites, each uniquely furnished and decorated with reproductions and restorations of original hotel antiques. The hotel provides an elevator and reserved (heated) off-street parking for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beaumont Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing