We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa Review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Ouray
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Spa Review”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My husband and I paid $365 for the Couples Romance Ritual spa package.

PROS: The front desk staff and my masseuse and my husband's masseur were all very polite and professional. The facilities were very clean and pleasing to the eye.

CONS: The hot tub had way too much chlorine in it. While I was in it my eyes were burning and tearing up and our skin was becoming itchy. So, before we had our massages, we took showers to wash off the chlorine. Our masseuses had a perplexed look on their faces and asked us why we took a shower before our massages. We told them about the chlorine issue and they told us that a woman earlier that day took a shower also because of the abundance of chlorine and itchy skin. They determined that the hot tub was most likely shocked that morning and that whoever did it used way too much chemicals. So, then we each had our massage in separate rooms and, thankfully, I didn't have itchy skin at all during the massage. However, my husband said he had to stop the massage every few minutes to deal with itchy skin and therefore it was not a pleasant, relaxing time for him at all. His masseur told him he should tell the front desk about his experience. We told the front desk girl about our experience and about the woman earlier who reacted poorly to the chlorine and she seemed very concerned and took our name and number and told us she'd have the owner or whoever is in charge call us. It's been four days now and no one from the hotel has called us. I think that if one pays $365 for a relaxing afternoon at the spa, they should get a relaxing afternoon at the spa. And if they don't, because of an error of the hotel/spa, then they should get compensated for it. I won't be going back to this spa. Spending that much money to be itchy during a suppose-to-be relaxing massage is a rip-off. My advice: make sure you check out the hot tub chemical level before paying. And if you don't react poorly to an overdose of chemicals, then go for it and have a relaxing massage. :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    39
    12
    5
    9
See reviews for
18
230
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Ana, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

This is a beautifully restored hotel, with excellent service. Perfect location. Very comfortable room with antiques and modern convenience. I was here for a family wedding and enjoyed my stay very much.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank beckyatlarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The Beaumont is a gorgeous historic property right on main street, it has only 12 rooms so it feels very private and exclusive. We visited mid week so we felt like we had the entire hotel to ourselves. The staff is incredibly nice, the hotel is non-smoking so it smells great, the rooms are very very clean and beautiful, and they provide incredibly scented luxury bath products. We loved it and will definitely return!

Room Tip: The 'cascade falls' suite on the top floor is beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LukeDuke V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio City, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Everything about this hotel is historic. Nice, well furnished suites, comfortable, clean, and quiet. Restaurant is in the hotel and serves excellent meals. First class staff. Hotel is located downtown with plenty to see. Street parking was no problem. Scenic drives in any direction. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AL-43915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed at the Beaumont for our 10th Anniversary. It's like taking a walk back in time. Beautiful restoration, comfortable beds, 5 Star Service. If you've never been to Ouray, it's one of the most beautiful places on the planet. Food at the Beaumont Grill was delicious and the rooms were so beautifully decorated. We'll be back for sure! Love this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My husband and I got a couples massage and it was fabulous! The Beaumont is a beautiful hotel with an amazing spa. The staff was professional and courteous. My masseur really listened to me and what my needs were. I would recommend this spa to anyone looking for 5 star treatment in the beautiful San Juan mountains:)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRM525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

First off, I want to say that this is visually the most beautiful hotel I have ever stayed at. However, my stay was quite bad.
1. There were small stains on two of the pillows and the comforter.
2. The thermostat wasn't working. The first night we couldn't sleep well since it kept getting hotter and hotter no matter at what temp. we kept the thermostat.

That said my issue is not with these problems but with how the staff dealt with them. When I told them of these problems the next morning. They promised they would be taken care of, but they did.... nothing.
When we came back the next night after a long day on the road, we found that not only where the pillows changed, but even the bed was not made. The thermostat was not fixed and we had another night of temperatures between 86 and 68 F. Again, no sleep.

I told the front desk again and got a million apologies, not really helpful.

My point is this. We paid over 300 bucks for two nights of no sleep in a room that Oprah Winfrey slept in. If we stayed at the comfort inn across the street, we might not have a pretty room and a good story but might have had two full nights of sleep.

Seriously, when a hotel had only 12 rooms ( and a million rules to preserve antiquity) how hard is it to respond to a guests complaints ?

Overall, as the title says, pretty hotel but terrible stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank witch351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
156 reviews
0.2 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.1 mi away
Ouray Inn
Ouray Inn
#7 of 15 in Ouray
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ouray Victorian Inn
Ouray Victorian Inn
#4 of 15 in Ouray
475 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#12 of 15 in Ouray
231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Matterhorn Motel
Matterhorn Motel
#10 of 15 in Ouray
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaumont Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaumont Hotel & Spa

Property: Beaumont Hotel & Spa
Address: 505 Main Street, #1265, Ouray, CO 81427
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beaumont Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1886 at the height of the “Gold Boom,” this lovely old hotel is still known as the 'Flagship of the San Juans." Graciously appointed with sumptuous amenities, the boutique hotel has welcomed such famous guests as U.S. Presidents Theodore Roosevelt and Herbert Hoover, King Leopold of Belgium, Chipeta (widow of Ute Chief Ouray), French actress Sarah Bernhardt, American actress Angie Dickenson and (most recently) media megastar, Oprah Winfrey. Recent restorations modernized the entire structure to meet the needs and cares of today's traveler while preserving the property's historical grandeur.The historic Beaumont Hotel & Spa is the only luxury hotel in Ouray, Colorado. The setting is unique, the experience unforgettable. Guests are treated to modern amenities, including wireless high-speed internet, and outstanding personalized service paired with timeless old world ambience. Elegant, authentic decor, exquisite antiques, and custom-made furnishings combined with on-site dining, shopping, a luxurious spa and concierge services make this award-winning boutique hotel a delightful destination.Twelve elegantly furnished luxury rooms and suites, each uniquely furnished and decorated with reproductions and restorations of original hotel antiques. The hotel provides an elevator and reserved (heated) off-street parking for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beaumont Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing