We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even Better With the New Owners, This Place Rocks!!! And its Haunted!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Ouray
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2011

First time we stayed here was about two years ago while the owner who restored it was still in charge. While the hotel was wonderful, the staff was pretty much invisible and you felt very alone. Not this time! The new owners are the most gracious hosts imaginable, attending to your every need. The hotel is spotless, immaculately maintained, and too beautiful for words. We stayed in the Dragonfly Room this time, it is so comfortable and luxurious. This time we didn't experience anything strange, but last time we stayed in the Skylight Suite and had a pretty spooky occurrence in the bathroom. Won't say what, but if you stay there and something happens lets compare notes!!!!

We had dinner in the Tundra Restaurant and can't say enough good about it. Their chef is a true artist. Everything was superb, including the service. The continental breakfast was just OK, but we're not big breakfast eaters. If the hotel was more fully occupied I am sure they would do better.

So in summary, if you want to stay in a beautiful, historic hotel that has been lovingly restored, and is very well run by enthusiastic new owners, this is the place in Ouray. It's worth the drive.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank co-bikeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 320 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2010

We stayed at the Beaumont 2 years ago. The Hotel remodel was absolutely beautiful, and the owners and staff were unbelievably kind. It was one of the best hotel experiences we ever had. This years stay brought new owners. The hotel is still beautiful and the new owners are great. The only thing that changed-the price of the room was less!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bassoon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2010

I visited here on October 13th and it was exactly as I had hoped it would be (you never can tell from Internet sites). The hotel itself is very historic and was beautifully renovated as advertised. The room I had was very comfortable and had everything you would need. The bathroom and large tub were great. The surrounding mountains and setting for this quaint town can't be beat for anyone interested in nature. I spent over an hour in the bookstore there on the ground floor of the building. If you like geology and mining books it cant be beat. From what I could see this is the nicest hotel in town. Having stayed at the Strater the night before in Durango I would venture to say the Beaumont is the nicest historic hotel in Southwest Colorado. The hotel was very clean and nothing looked to be out of place. It was eerily quiet though as there really arent that many rooms to be filled at this time. For me it was a great change of pace. I walked the town, read a book and didnt even turn on the TV. I did not see or hear any ghosts (reported to be that of a little girl).

I read a review that was posted here by a traveler that stayed about the same time I did and couldnt believe we stayed at the same place. Yes, the hotel was sold. It had just happened the week before I was there I beleive and that was the talk of all the shopkeepers and newspapers. I met one of the new owners who couldnt have been nicer and more helpful. While there wasnt much staff there (I was told it was off season, mid-week and the restaurant was closed) everyone I met was super friendly and attentive. So it was sold, get over it. The new owners live on the property and appeared to me to be even more vested in making the hotel a success and a comfortable place for guests than the previous owners who just dumped money into it.

On the down side, this location seems to be more of a destination in itself as it isn't easy to get to. The road, while very scenic, was under construction and was a little harrowing for a flatlander like myself to drive. I was a little disappointed with my choices for eating in the town in general. The restaurant at the hotel is only open on the weekend in October apparently. They did serve a good continental breakfast in the morning which was a little surprising as there were only around 8 guests the night before.

All in all, I think its a great historic small hotel, great staff and a pretty good value considering the location.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hydrorock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2010

The Beaumont Hotel is centrally located and the historical renovation is amazing. Upon arrival, we were shown to our room by the new owner and as it turns out, our room is the only room in the hotel that has the original 1880s wood flooring!! The restoration of this fine hotel was quite incredible and the folks that purchased the place in 1999 spared no expense, and with the building being abandoned for 30 years, this was no short task! Just a couple of examples that went into the restoration. During the restoration process, 17 layers of wallpaper in the lobby were removed to expose the original wallpaper. After some research, it was determined that the maker of the original wallpaper was still in business in California. The company was contracted to remake the original! Amazing!
Secondly, the master clock at the midpoint of the master staircase is beautiful. During the 30 years the building was boarded up, vandals essentially destroyed the clock. The restorers hired an investigator to look at restoring the clock. It was found that a clock maker in New York had made 8 similar clocks in the 1880s and this was clock number 8. Amazingly, they were able to find all the clock parts for clock number 4 on Ebay! So, the clock has the casing of clock number 8 and the workings of clock number 4!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2010

This is the second time we have stayed at The Beaumont Hotel. It is beyond compare in its fine attention to detail in this beautiful "America's Little Switzerland".
Such a grand place .........its been commended by the President!
Great restaurants steps away...........

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank summer1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

This historic hotel was recently sold and it is NOT the same!! Mold in the bathroom, turn down service stopped, air conditioning not working, we were told to use the overhead fan. Unfriendly check-in and check-out process with the new owner, who complains about other guests. The buffet breakfast included watered down scrambled eggs that were lukewarm, which is a food safety violation, and the bread and english muffins were stale and hard. What a shame the hotel was sold and the friendly staff is no longer working there. We used to stay often, however, we will NOT stay there again!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sunset780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenBeaumontHotelSpa, Owner at Beaumont Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2010

We have a beautiful hotel that has been restored to perfection. Attention was paid to every detail. The guest rooms are each completely different and opulently appointed with antiques, reproductions, rich fabrics and wallpapers and hand-made, custom window and bed coverings. Our guests are always pleased and amazed. We bend over backwards to make them comfortable and happy. We love our guests. We are friendly to everyone who walks through our door.

Unfortunately, sometimes we are forced to defend ourselves and may seem not as pleasant. The guest that wrote this review is upset because we would not give him a cash refund for the remainder of the gift certificate that he did not use. We did the right thing and honored the gift certificate that was sold by the previous owner long before we owned the property. We offered to upgrade the guest's room or add another night's stay or to allow the certificate's use in our lovely spa or later in our restaurant. They just wanted cash. Sorry. It is standard business practice to give another certificate as change and so we did. As for the other complaints, they are completely unfounded. We were having some cooling issues but they were resolved immediately once the issue was brought to our attention. Again, we offered this guest a different room when he mentioned a problem but he refused. He would not have been pleased no matter what we did.

Please take this review with a grain of salt and look at all of the other wonderful reviews that we have gotten lately - they are more accurate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2010

The Beaumont is a beautiful hotel that was built in the late 1880''s and has been magnificently restored. We stayed in a Jr Suite and it was very nice, roomy, and had beautiful Tiffany Stain Glassed Chandeliers (made the room a bit dark though). The service was good. The hotel has brand new owners (only purchased a few days prior to our arrival). I would recommend the Hotel!!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carync6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.8 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
936 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ouray Inn
Ouray Inn
#6 of 15 in Ouray
141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Matterhorn Motel
Matterhorn Motel
#10 of 15 in Ouray
160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#11 of 15 in Ouray
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaumont Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaumont Hotel & Spa

Address: 505 Main Street, #1265, Ouray, CO 81427
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Ouray
Price Range: £108 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beaumont Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1886 at the height of the “Gold Boom,” this lovely old hotel is still known as the 'Flagship of the San Juans." Graciously appointed with sumptuous amenities, the boutique hotel has welcomed such famous guests as U.S. Presidents Theodore Roosevelt and Herbert Hoover, King Leopold of Belgium, Chipeta (widow of Ute Chief Ouray), French actress Sarah Bernhardt, American actress Angie Dickenson and (most recently) media megastar, Oprah Winfrey. Recent restorations modernized the entire structure to meet the needs and cares of today's traveler while preserving the property's historical grandeur.The historic Beaumont Hotel & Spa is the only luxury hotel in Ouray, Colorado. The setting is unique, the experience unforgettable. Guests are treated to modern amenities, including wireless high-speed internet, and outstanding personalized service paired with timeless old world ambience. Elegant, authentic decor, exquisite antiques, and custom-made furnishings combined with on-site dining, shopping, a luxurious spa and concierge services make this award-winning boutique hotel a delightful destination.Twelve elegantly furnished luxury rooms and suites, each uniquely furnished and decorated with reproductions and restorations of original hotel antiques. The hotel provides an elevator and reserved (heated) off-street parking for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beaumont Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing