We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good homemade crust pizza”

The Saloon at the Historic Western Hotel
Price range: US$10 - US$25
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dallas, TX
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good homemade crust pizza”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Went here at end of jeep trip from this hotel. Service was great by one single lady:). Creme brûlée was great too. Eating outside was an added treat with great views!

Helpful?
1 Thank nicholsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    33
    9
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and food”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Our tour group, had breakfast and dinner at this establishment. We enjoyed our meals and the character of the building. The people who worked there were very nice and helpful. I'd go back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jennie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A meal in the past”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Western Hotel is a working hotel with a old time saloon and rooms decorated in 1890's styles. Our meal was in a room with a buffalo head and fancy wallpaper. The food was excellent. The margaritas lived up to their claim that they are the best in the west. But it is the atmosphere that makes the evening memorable.

We were there on a Sunday night and the place was unexpectedly busy. The staff was overwhelmed. They apologized. It took a while for our food to arrive, but since one of our diners was delayed and the company was excellent, we didn't mind. You should be in Ouray to relax and enjoy yourself in any case!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 3DQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome steak! Stick to specials and dessert.”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We ate dinner here recently while vacationing in Ouray. Three of us had the steak which was amazing, one had trout, and one had a chicken salad and another the chicken sandwich. Highly recommend it! The margaritas were also superb. The service was a little slow and they ran out of their specials right after they served us. But we had a large group of 6 people and they seated us right away. The atmosphere is great, too, and you feel like you have traveled back in time. We were sitting next to locals who said the specials and dessert are the best in town but to avoid the lasagne. We did as we were told and it was a wonderful meal!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CRQT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Pizza good atmosphere”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We had done a jeep tour with them earlier in the day and that was great!! So we stopped in for dinner, we got the Pizza which was pretty tasty. A thinner crust than I normally like but it was flavorful and priced right. We also tried the Peach Cobbler and I loved it! I have had cobbler in other places and never been a fan but I would go back for that alone. Also the service was great, if though they were slammed they made sure to get us our food promptly and see if we needed anything more.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Saloon at the Historic Western Hotel also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing