We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Way Overrated”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Timber Ridge Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Timber Ridge Lodge
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Ouray
Certificate of Excellence
BALTIMORE
Level Contributor
82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Way Overrated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Let me begin by saying that my rating is based on price. The basic room was admitted fine. But for the money, it fell short. My litany of woes: No blankets on the beds, just sheets and bed spreads (and it is not that warm here at night), no AC (but it can be warm during the day), lousy internet, no kleenex in the room, no daily maid service, and no one in office before noon.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WALTER S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    34
    4
    6
    3
See reviews for
36
67
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Clinton, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

A stay in a hotel is different for everyone and every family. Our family needs a place to come back to and feel comfortable enough to unwind and relax. Timber Ridge has all the basics covered with amazing staff.

The Room:
Our room was a dual queen bed, with a small but accommodating dresser, night stand, flat panel 32" TV, Microwave, Coffee Maker, Mini Fridge, a small table and comfy chair. The room had clearly been recently updated or extremely well maintained. The bathroom is modest, but just outside the door was plenty of room and light for my two daughters and wife to prep for the day.

Location:
Just 0.25 miles from the Hot Springs and about 1 mile from Main Street. The location is far enough from the noise of the town at night, but close enough to make a walk into town very feasible. Evenings are quiet and peaceful.

Staff:
From the moment we arrived we could tell the Owner was committed to making this a comfortable stay. He's very approachable, down-to-earth and eager to make recommendations about the area or provide assistance as needed.

Room Tip: We were on the southern most portion of the hotel and it was quiet all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We decided fairly last minute to travel to Ouray from Denver for the 4th of July and were able to find one of the last rooms in town at the Timber Ridge Lodge by calling just days before. We were not entirely sure what we were getting in to having never been there, but we were very pleasantly surprised! The owner, Mike, was very helpful and so welcoming. Our room was excellent. Very clean; equipped with a kitchenette and everything you would need to be comfortable for multiple days. Mike gave us all the information we needed to have a wonderful 4th in Ouray. We will definitely stay again in the future.
If you are looking for a great place to travel for the 4th, Ouray is wonderful. It is full of fun small town activities with so much to do. Very glad we made the trip.

Room Tip: The queen kitchenette room is detached from the rest of the building and its own separate cabin like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bonnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We were a bit hesitant at first, but this turned out to be the best accommodations we had on our whole trip. From the time we arrived the owners and staff made us feel wonderful. No request was too much, and they went out of their way for us several times during our stay. No matter how you look at it, the accommodations were a terrific value for the money. Many of the rooms are recently updated (ours was), and it was immaculate. The beds were comfortable, we had clean, fresh linens, there was a great little refrigerator in the room for my beer, and the parking was adequate and nearby. We had just left the Marriott Denver Tech Center where our room had no workable WiFi and the Marriott could not fix it - but no problem at Timber Ridge Lodge. I got cold in the Marriott, but there was no extra blanket in the room and the night clerk said she had no one to bring it to our room. I got cold one morning at Timber Ridge Lodge, and found a nice extra blanket in the drawer. The owners recommended we try Cavello's Restaurant and the food was so good we had to go back again before we left.. The menu was amazing and the food was just extraordinary - far better than anything we found near the Marriott in Denver. Go figure!! When I go back to Ouray, I will definitely stay at the Timber Ridge Lodge!

Room Tip: No AC. It was comfortable the whole time we were there with exception of one very warm afternoon. Do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve61861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Our experience at this hotel was excellent. This is a family run hotel who make you feel so welcome on your arrival. The bonus for us was they had a BBQ and a fire pit. The tools were provided for the BBQ as were the logs, paper and lighter for the fire pit. We stayed two seperate nights and used both these facilities on the two nights. We would recommend this hotel to everyone. It is a diamond find.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mackems2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stopped by the timber ridge lodge on Memorial Day Weekend hoping to find a decent place to stay. The owner was extremely nice and friendly. He mentioned that he recently purchased the property and redid the rooms. Our room was clean and fresh. It had a fridge and microwave available. The beds were clean and comfortable. The shower was immaculate and had great water pressure. The new wood sink was beautiful and there were plenty of towels. The price was extremely reasonable for being in Ouray over Memorial Day weekend. The owner even stopped by with a bottle of champagne to say thank you for our service. It was an extremely pleasant stay and I will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kami F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Ouray is such a nice town with good shopping and restaurants. Be sure and see the Cascade Falls.

Mike personally escorted us to our newly-remodeled rooms, and they were nice! Very good value. I would definitely stay there next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouray hotels
1.0 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.1 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
1.0 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#7 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Matterhorn Motel
Matterhorn Motel
#9 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#11 of 15 in Ouray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timber Ridge Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timber Ridge Lodge

Property: Timber Ridge Lodge
Address: 1550 Main Street, PO Box 285, Ouray, CO 81427
Region: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Timber Ridge Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AIR-CONDITIONING INSTALLED IN AUGUST 2015!!! Known as the "Best Value in Ouray", all of our spacious rooms have just been freshly redecorated. Highlights include: extremely comfortable beds with upgraded linens, adjustable or oversized shower heads, and a warm & comfortable decor. All room types now feature * Mini-fridges * Microwaves * 32" Flat Panel TVs * Coffee-makers * Private Bathrooms * Free Wi-Fi. We offer an extensive guest library in the lobby with several books & games to enjoy during your stay. Conveniently located a half-mile from the Downtown Ouray shops & restaurants, and just a 15-minute walk to the Hot Springs Pool via the nearby Riverwalk path. On-site picnic area with gas grills and a new gas fire pit for night time fun (seasonal). Relax in paradise or enjoy an active, fun-filled vacation in the beautiful mountains of Ouray! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Timber Ridge Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing